Call 1-800-225-3414 for COVID-19 Concerns
For concerns about COVID-19 in a skilled nursing facility, call 1-800-225-3414. This phone line will be answered as staff are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday; if no answer, leave a message and calls will be returned within 24 to 48 hours. Outside of these hours or on Saturday and Sunday, callers should leave a message and calls will be returned with 24 to 48 hours.
COVID Visitation Information
Skilled nursing facilities are advised to refer to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Nursing Home Visitation guidance web page. Refer back to this page regularly to see updates.
Subscribe to Informational emails
A dedicated email listserv has been set up to provide interested individuals (staff, patients, families, advocates, the general public) access to information about skilled nursing facilities from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services. This information includes guidance on regulations, medical or epidemiological issues, patient/resident care, infection control, state and federal inspection requirements and more. While information can be technical in nature, every effort is made to make it understandable to anyone. Use the links below to subscribe or unsubscribe.
Find a licensed skilled nursing facility
State Laws and Regulations
“Facility for skilled nursing” means an establishment which provides continuous skilled nursing and related care as prescribed by a physician to a patient in the facility who is not in an acute episode of illness and whose primary need is the availability of such care on a continuous basis. “Facility for skilled nursing” does not include a facility which meets the requirements of a general or any other special hospital.
Nevada-licensed skilled nursing facilities now must submit facility-reported incidents using the online form provided by the Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance. With the exception of any unplanned downtime or system issues, facility-reported incidents will no longer be accepted via other methods (email, fax, etc.). Facility-reported incidents submitted by any other method will be returned with instructions to use the online form.
All facilities are required to report incidents of abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation or abandonment of older persons or vulnerable persons. Skilled nursing facilities also have other incident-reporting requirements, which are summarized at the start of the form linked below.
Licensing and Applications
To apply for a license to operate a facility for skilled nursing, you must complete the following:
To apply for CMS certification as a facility for skilled nursing, you must provide the following:
Infection prevention and control
The Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance (HCQC) infection prevention and control team is available for consultations and risk assessment; onsite technical support; outbreak support; and questions about infection prevention and control issues. The team has also complied general resources and facility type-specific resources, as linked below. Regarding any of the services listed above, send an email to email@example.com.
Training & Education Opportunities
HCQC compiles an ongoing list of training and education opportunities for Nevada health facilities of all types, and adds these resources to the Training & Education web page.
"Hand in Hand: A Training Series for Nursing Homes" — This training focuses on caring for residents with dementia and on preventing abuse. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), supported by a team of training developers and subject matter experts, created this training to address the need for nurse aides’ in-service training on these important topics. Federal law requires that nurse aides complete in-service training on dementia management and resident abuse prevention. Additionally, facilities must provide dementia management and resident abuse prevention training to all facility staff, (direct and indirect care and auxiliary functions) contractors, and volunteers. For help with registration and all other technical issues, contact the ISTW Helpdesk at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Apply for Civil Money Penalty Funds to Improve Patient Care
Monetary penalties collected from skilled nursing facilities for violations of federal regulations are partially reinvested by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to support activities that benefit nursing facility residents, and that protect or improve their quality of care or quality of life. A facility or organization can apply for these funds by completing the application at the CMS Civil Money Penalty Reinvestment Resource web page (found in the "CMP Reinvestment Application Resources (Application Template and Resource Guide)" ZIP file) and submitting it to HCQC; the website also contains information about approved CMP projects from around the United States. For details about recent CMP projects in Nevada and surrounding states, click here.