Burning Man: Food, Water, Septic


Select Topic

Food Establishments (Temporary Event Permits)

If you plan to serve food or share food, including certain beverages, at Burning Man, you will need a temporary event permit from the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH); Environmental Health Section (EHS). Our goal is to keep people from getting sick on the playa. We work closely with the Burning Man Project (BMP), the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), and Law Enforcement staff, cooperatively to protect public health.

    Who must obtain a permit?

    • Any person or camp wishing to share or serve food will require a permit.
    • Any theme camp or private camp that is serving meals up to 125 or more.

    What is the permit fee?

    • Permit Fee: $50.00 (per location)

    When will I recieve my permit?

    The Environmental Health Section has 10 working days to review your application.

    • When you are approved, a Tentative Approval will be emailed to you.
    • When you arrive at the event, and before food service begins, visit the Playa Info area at Center Camp to pick up the physical copy of your permit.

    How do I apply for a Burning Man Food Establishment Permit?

    Applications may be obtained by applying online or by mail. Applying by mail is more complicated and time consuming, but highly preferred for international applicants. We can guide you through the process if you need help- contact us using the details below. however, if you still have problems applying online, you can download the application and apply by mail.  The deadline for submitting applications will be August 12, 2022.

    When and where do I pick up the permit?

    • Permits Must be picked up before food service begins, in Center Camp at Playa Info
    • Dates and Times:
      • Saturday, 08/27/2022
      • Sunday, 08/28/2022
      • Monday, 08/29/2022
      • Tuesday, 08/30/2022
      • Wednesday, 08/31/2022

    International Participants

    International participants who would like to serve food products at BM2022 should contact the office via EHS Customer Service (ehscustomerservice@health.nv.gov) or by phone, and ask for a paper application. It is not recommended to attempt to apply online, as significant delays in service have resulted in multiple charges to accounts in recent years.

      Apply by mail

      DPBH, Environmental Health Section
      ATTN: Burning Man 2022
      500 Damonte Ranch Parkway, #657
      Reno, Nevada 89521
      Phone: 775-684-5280
      email: ehscustomerservice@health.nv.gov

        POTABLE WATER HAULERS

        Any person who is hauling, delivering, vending, providing, or selling potable water to any individual or organized camp other than their own private or individual camp at Burning Man must be permitted by either the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) or the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP).

        • Annual Permit Holders
          • If your firm holds a current annual potable water hauler permit with the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection for a public water system, with an annual inspection, no additional permit will be required for participation in the Burning Man event.
          • You Must submit a copy of your current NDEP permit at least 30 days before the event begins.
        • Temporary Permits for Burning Man 2022
          • Potable water haulers who do not possess an annual permit from NDEP must obtain a permit for each potable water hauling vehicle from DPBH.
          • To apply, fill out the Potable Water Hauler permit online.
          • Potable water haulers Must also contact Burning Man's Outside Site Services (OSS) department for further requirements.
          • The fee is $50.00 (per vehicle or tank)
        • Potable Water Vendor Requirements
          • Obtain potable water only from pre-approved public water systems. No private well sources and no springs shall be considered approved public water sources.
          • Use only food/water-grade, safe, clean, and properly sanitized equipment and water tanks. Water hauling tanks must only be used for the distribution of potable water and must never have contained, hauled or carried any materials other than water or food. Tanks that have previously hauled milk are not allowed.
          • Haulers must have the ability and knowledge to safely fill water tanks at the approved public water system.
          • Label or placard all trucks and potable water tanks as follows:
          • (a) The name and address of the person or other entity responsible for performing the water hauling must appear on both sides of the tank, or on both of the doors of the vehicle, in letters completely legible at all times from a distance of 50 feet.
          • (b) The words "domestic water," "drinking water," or "potable water" must appear on both sides of the tank in letters that are completely legible at all times.
          • Cleaning and Disinfection Procedures
          • (a) Clean tank with not less than 50 PPM of Chlorine
          • (b) Agitate tank contact time for tank and hoses minimum of 30 minutes
          • (c) Properly dispose of spent chlorine solution
          • (d) Do not use solutions containing perfumes and dyes
          • (e) Use test strips to determine sanitizer concentration
          • (f) Maintain required logs of fill times and source.
          • Delivery Tank Chlorine Residuals
          • (a) Maintain the residual chlorine level in the water tank at 1-4 ppm or 1-4 mg/l.
          • (b) Maintain required log of delivery locations

        SEWAGE

        Privately owned RVs are not required to obtain a permit for disposal.

        • Annual Permit Holders
          • Contact the main office in Carson City to ensure your current permit is active
          • Any additional trucks not currently permitted must be invoiced separately from the annual permit.
        • Temporary Permits for Burning Man 2022
          • If your firm is not an annual permit holder, you Must obtain a temporary permit for the event.

        Nevada Health Response - COVID-19

        To inform Nevadans and visitors, the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) and the Governor's Office have created this website to better share information and resources as it pertains to the current status of the coronavirus (COVID-19) and its impact within the state of Nevada.

        Contact US

          General Information

          Partners

          Resources