COVID-19 Vaccine Information


COVID-19 Vaccine Information

The Nevada State Immunization Program (NSIP) is working with Nevada’s local health departments, hospitals, and clinics to distribute COVID-19 vaccines once available. NSIP is currently identifying facilities that have the capacity to properly stock, administer, and maintain COVID-19 vaccine and meet additional federal and state requirements.  

At this time, COVID-19 vaccines will become accessible in phases as allocation increases.

  • Phase 1: Potentially limited supply of COVID-19 vaccine doses available. Focus initial efforts on reaching healthcare personnel, people at increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19, people aged 65 years and older, and other essential workers who keep Nevada’s infrastructure operating.
  • Phase 2: Large number of vaccine doses available. Focus will be on ensuring access to vaccine for members of Phase 1 critical populations who were not yet vaccinated as well as for the general population. 
  • Phase 3: Enough doses for entire population will be available. Focus will be on ensuring equitable vaccination access across Nevada’s population.  

    COVID-19 Vaccine Ancillary Supplies

    COVID-19 vaccine shipments will include ancillary supplies:

    • Needles (various sizes for the population served)
    • Syringes
    • Alcohol prep pads
    • Surgical masks and face shields
    • COVID-19 vaccination record cards for vaccine recipients
    • Vaccine needles and length guide
    • Diluent and mixing supplies (based on vaccine product)

    Sharps containers, Band-Aids, and gloves will not be included.

      COVID-19 Vaccination Provider Requirements

      Providers must be a licensed Nevada physician, complete all required training, and comply with federal and state requirements. APRN (advance practice nurses) and Pas (physician assistants) can also sign up. These requirements include:

      1. Administering COVID-9 Vaccine in accordance with all requirements and recommendation of CDC and CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). 
      2. Within 24 hours of administering a dose of COVID-19 Vaccine and adjuvant (if applicable, the provider must record the vaccine recipient’s record and report required information.
      3. Not selling or seeking reimbursement for COVID-19 vaccine and any adjuvant, syringes, needles, or other constituent products and ancillary supplies provided by the federal government.  
      4. Administer COVID-19 vaccine regardless of the vaccine recipient’s ability to pay COVID-19 vaccine administration fees or coverage status.  
      5. Providing an approved Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) fact sheet or vaccine information statement (VIS), as required, to each vaccine recipient, the adult caregiver accompanying the recipient, or other legal representative. 
      6. Conducting COVID-19 vaccination services in compliance with CDC’s Guidance for Immunization Services During the COVID-19 Pandemic for safe delivery of vaccines.  
      7. Complying with CDC requirements for COVID-19 vaccine management. This includes storage and handling, temperature monitoring (at all times), complying with NSIP’s guidance for dealing with temperature excursions, monitor COVID-19 vaccine expiration dates, and preserve all records related to COVID-19 vaccine management for a minimum of 3 years, or longer if required by state, local or territorial law. 
      8.  Reporting the number of doses of COVID-19 vaccine and adjuvants that were unused, spoiled, expired, or wasted. 
      9. Complying with all federal instructions and timelines regarding disposal of unused COVID-19 vaccine and adjuvant. 
      10. Reporting adverse events to the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS).  
      11. Providing a completed COVID-19 vaccination record to every recipient, adult caregiver accompanying the recipient, and legal representative. 
      12. Complying with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's requirements, including EUA-related requirements, if applicable. Providers must also administer COVID-19 vaccine in compliance with all applicable state and territorial vaccine laws. 

       

        COVID-19 Vaccine Storage and Temperature Monitoring

        In order to be approved by The Nevada State Immunization Program (NSIP) to receive and administer pandemic vaccines, each facility/branch will be required to:

        Have a stand-alone refrigerator and a stand-alone freezer with digital data loggers.

        Monitor the temperatures of the vaccines twice daily using a data logger that meets NSIP requirements. 

        Download and submit the data logger data to NSIP for the first five days upon enrollment. Once temperatures are deemed acceptable data downloads will occur once per month. Retain the data logger reports and paper temp logs for 3 years. The facility must submit data logger reports to NSIP upon request. 

        If the vaccines are exposed to out of range temperatures, do not administer the vaccine!  Download the data logger and send the temperature log to NSIP. 

        Review the submission and consult the vaccine manufacturer to determine the viability of the vaccines. NSIP staff must be notified by submitting a Vaccine Incident Report and corresponding data logger data.

        The data logger must be equipped with a temperature probe or sensor in a buffered material (usually glycol). The probe must be kept in the middle of the unit with the vaccines to ensure that the temperature of the air around the vaccines is being recorded.

        The data logger must have an active temperature display on the outside of the unit that can be easily read without opening the storage unit's door. 

        It must have continuous temperature monitoring and recording capabilities and include the capacity to routinely download data. 

        The data logger must have a current certificate of calibration which includes: model/device number serial number, date of calibration (report or issue date) and confirmation that the instrument passed testing.

        Hospitals that have monitored storage units do not need data loggers installed as long as the system that monitors the temperatures can download and print out monthly temperature reports to be sent to NSI 

          Required COVID-19 Training

          Providers and staff overseeing, or handling COVID-19 vaccines must complete all required trainings before approval by The Nevada State Immunization Program (NSIP) to receive and administer the COVID-19 vaccine. The trainings include:

          • NV WEBIZ Vaccine Inventory Management
          • NV WEBIZ Reconciliation

            Recommended CDC COVID-19 Training

            Key Resources

            Provider Enrollment Interest

            If you are interested in stocking and administering the COVID-19 vaccine and meet the requirements below:

            • You are enrolled in NV WEBIZ.
            • You have a stand-alone freezer and a stand-alone refrigerator with digital temperature monitoring devices for vaccine storage.

            Please fill out this survey https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/9VLNBGB.

              COVID-19 Vaccine Interest Form

              If you are interested in receiving the COVID-19 vaccine for either yourself or your workforce, please complete the form linked below:

              Nevada COVID 19 Vaccine Interest Form (nv.gov)

              Once the form is submitted the collected information will be shared with he appropriate county jurisdiction.

                Questions

                If you have any questions regarding COVID-19 provider enrollment, email DPBHCOVID19VAX@health.nv.gov  or call 775-684-5900. For questions and scheduling assistance, please call the Nevada's COVID-19 call center at 1(800) 401-0946. The call center operates 7 days a week, from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm.