Environmental Health Logo

Certificates of Free Sale


General Information

A Certificate of Free Sale is defined as a certificate completed and issued by the Division of Public and Behavioral Services attesting that a specific food, drug, cosmetic product regulated by the State of Nevada is manufactured, distributed and offered for sale in this State is in conformance with all applicable food, drug, or cosmetic laws.

    The Certificate of Free Sale attests to the results of the most recently conducted sanitary inspection of the manufacturer or distributor of the product. Certificates of Free Sale for processed food products, dietary supplements, vitamins, baby formula, etc. can be obtained through the Environmental Health Section.

      Certificates of Free Sale are required by many foreign countries in order to receive food, cosmetic or drug imports. The certificates certify that a company is in substantial compliance with the State and federal standards and are equivalent to products marketed domestically in the United States.

        Applicants submit a signed statement verifying the food products listed on the application are freely marketed in Nevada.

          A copy of the label of the product(s) requesting to be exported must be attached to the application. For labels not already approved by the State of Nevada or the FDA, labels must be reviewed and approved by the Environmental Health Section before a Certificate of Free Sale will be issued. A label review fee of $83.00 will be applied to each new label and significant changes to labels.

            *NEW* ON-LINE APPLICATION PROCESS

            As of January 7, 2016 the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health has an on-line application and payment system for Certificates of Free Sale. See the link below to access the new system.

            NEW *Notary Information*

            Certificates will no longer by notarized by Environmental Health Staff. Certificates are issued with space for the applicant to notarize their signature are available at the applicants’ request.

              Please Note:

              • Allow a minimum of 5 working days for your application to be processed.
              • There is a $41.00 fee for each certificate. Each certificate is limited to 5 items.
              • An additional fee will be charged for replacement or voided certificates.
              • Fees paid will not be refunded for failure to obtain final approval or voluntary withdrawal.

              *NEW* ON-LINE APPLICATION PROCESS

              The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health now has an on-line application system. See the link below to access the new system.

              PLEASE NOTE: For optimal use of the Online Licensing System, we recommend using Internet Explorer 9-11, Safari 5.0 and Firefox 26-40. Please do NOT use Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge.

                This system may not be compatible with phones and tablets, for best results use a desktop or laptop computer.

                   

                   

                    Contact Us

                    Environmental Health Section
                    727 Fairview Drive, STE. D
                    Carson City. NV 89701
                    Phone: (775) 687-7533
                    Fax: (775) 687-7551

                    General Information

                    Regulatory Partners

                    Resources

                    Last Updated: 6/19/2016