COVID-19 Electronic Lab Reporting

As of June 25, 2020 all in-state and out-of-state laboratories who are processing and testing samples from Nevada residents are required under severe penalties to report all COVID-19 test results to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health within 24 hours from analysis through an established reporting method.

Click here to review the most recent Nevada technical bulletin about lab reporting requirements.

In order to perform testing in Nevada, your laboratory must have an active State of Nevada laboratory license and Federal CLIA certificate and be in compliance with the laboratory regulations in Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 652. Contact Brad Waples at bwaples@health.nv.gov if you have any questions.

To begin the Electronic Lab Reporting (ELR) process through Inductive Health (Nevada’s contracted lab software vendor) fill out this Initial Intake Form as a first step in onboarding your facility as a trading partner with our health department. Once the Initial Intake Form is filled out, an Inductive Health team member will review and follow up with you within a few days. The form must be filled out in its entirety before proceeding with the ELR onboarding process. Nevada is not currently enrolling antigen only test results 


Interim reporting directly to Nevada’s Department of Health prior to being authorized for ELR: If you have already started testing and have not reported and/or have lab data that has not been transmitted by ELR, you must submit all positive and negative lab test results within 24 hours of analysis via email to COVIDepi@health.nv.gov until the ELR onboarding process is complete. You should use this Excel Reporting Template. Please note: The process for ELR and the interim reporting are different and managed by different entities. If you have trouble sending emails or have any questions regarding this interim process, please contact (nmurray@health.nv.gov).

Nevada is not currently onboarding laboratories or facilities that exclusively perform antigen testing for ELR . To report antigen only testing, use the Excel reporting process detailed above until further notice.

If you have any questions, contact DPBHEPI@health.nv.gov.

Death Definition

Nevada Department of Health and Human Services has finalized the COVID-19 death definitions to be implemented across the state. The use of standardized death criteria ensures consistency and accuracy in data reporting in Nevada. This definition is current as of October 19, 2020, but is subject to change as new information about COVID-19 becomes available. This definition is to be used specifically for Public Health Surveillance and should not inform clinical decisions.


The instances in the memo linked below describe when a death should be considered a confirmed or probable death of an individual who had COVID-19, regardless if COVID-19 contributed to that death or not.* The laboratory criteria used to classify cases must align with the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) case definitions, found here.