Medical Marijuana Patient Cardholder Registry - FAQs

Please click on the questions to expand the answers.

Getting Started

Can the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program refer me to a physician?

 

No. The MM Program does not serve as a referral source. Any Doctor of Medicine (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO) who is currently licensed and in good standing in Nevada can recommend a patient for the program.

 

I would like to apply for a medical marijuana card in Nevada. If I am approved, can I shop in dispensaries and also grow my own plants?


Nevada law (SB 447) currently allows patients to home cultivate if they fall into one or more of the following categories:
• The dispensaries in your county closed or are unable to supply the quantity or strain of marijuana that you need
• You and, if you have one, your caregiver are “unable reasonably to travel” to a dispensary due to illness or lack of transportation
• No dispensary was operating within 25 miles of the patient’s home when they first applied for their card

Where do I get the seeds or plants to start growing medical marijuana?

 

The Nevada MM Program is not a resource for the growing process and does not have information to give to patients. It is recommended that you talk to an attorney to learn about your rights and protections.

 

Who can use medical marijuana?

 

 According to NRS 453A, only persons with a qualifying debilitating medical condition, with a valid Nevada Medical Marijuana Registry card are exempted from criminal laws of the state for engaging in the medical use of marijuana as justified to mitigate the symptoms or effects of the person's debilitating medical condition.

 

Why can't I go to a pharmacy to fill a presription for medical marijuana?

 

 Pharmacies can only dispense medications “prescribed” by licensed medical practitioners. The federal government classifies marijuana as a Schedule I drug, which means licensed medical practitioners do not prescribe it. Instead, they recommend it.

 

Online Registering

What is the Online Cardholder Registry?

The Online Cardholder Registry allows Nevadans to apply for a Nevada medical marijuana card from computers with internet access. Online applying requires scanning and printing capabilities. The Online Registry allows new applicants to register and create a profile, scan and upload their driver’s license and download and print the medical marijuana card application. When the application is all filled out, applicants can submit them and pay online. The Online Registry is found at https://mmportal.nv.gov/Account/Login. New patients click on “Register as a Cardholder.”
It is necessary to print and fill out the application. Patients are still required to have their physician sign the Physician Statement; they must still sign the Acknowledgment and Waiver pages of the application in the presence of a Notary Public.
When the application is completely filled out, applicants can scan and upload/submit it, rather than mailing it in for approval. Within approximately 24 hours, the letter of approval will be available to print.
The letter of approval may be used immediately and for 60 days from its date of issuance in dispensaries for making purchases. This allows ample time for patients to receive their medical marijuana card in the mail, which should occur within a month of the approval.
Patients no longer need to visit the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for card processing. Cards will be prepared and mailed to patients automatically. Do not go to the DMV for your card.

  

How do I register and create my profile using the website?

Go to https://mmportal.nv.gov/Account/Login and follow the instructions. Here are some pointers for getting started:
a. Scan the back of your driver’s license or State ID card to a JPG, PNG, or TIF file in grayscale or color at 300 DPI or greater and save the file to your desktop. If necessary, refer to your scanner owner’s manual for details on how to scan a document. Instead of scanning, you can take a digital picture of the back of your ID, and save that file to your desktop. Information from the barcode on your ID is used to create your profile.
b. Using the Select button, browse to the desktop, select the file, and click open. The file will appear.
c. Enter your email address and create a password. Click on the Register button and the system creates your profile using the information from the barcode of your Driver’s License or State ID card.

 

After I create my profile, how do I apply for a medical marijuana card?

At https://mmportal.nv.gov/Account/Login, click on Register as a Cardholder. Follow the instructions that are provided. A high-quality image of the back of your driver’s license is critically important. When upload is unsuccessful, it is usually because the driver’s license or State ID did not scan properly.

 

How do I create my application?

After you log in to your account, enter your SSN where indicated and click Create Application. If your mailing address is different from your physical address, enter that information as well as your mobile or home phone number.

 

How do I download or print the application?

You can download the application by clicking on Download Application. You can then save it to your computer or open and print it right then.

 

Do I have to download and print the application? Can I fill it out online?

It is necessary to print and fill out the application. Patients are still required to have their physician sign the Physician Statement; and must still sign the Acknowledgment and Waiver pages of the application in the presence of a Notary Public.

 

What is my account number?

Your account number is the 10 digit number on your driver’s license or State ID card -- whichever one you used.

 

What if I don't have an email address?

You can register online even if you don't have an email account.

 

What if I want to have a Caregiver?

Add your caregiver to your account once you have registered. Just click on the CareGiver? Button and the upload prompts will display. Then follow the same process for uploading the caregiver’s driver’s license or ID card. When that information is uploaded, recreate the application using the caregiver’s information. 

 

What are the rules for creating a password?

You can use anything as long as it is at least 12 characters long.

 

What do I do if the upload process fails?

The upload process is dependent on a quality bar code scan from the back of the driver’s license. When upload is unsuccessful, it is usually because the driver’s license or State ID did not scan properly. You must scan the surface of the card directly from the back of the card; do NOT scan a copy. Also, be sure to scan at 300 DPI or greater in grayscale or color. If you follow these instructions precisely, you should not have any problems. Some phones have cameras that produce sufficient images; some do not.

 

What does it cost to register?

There is no charge for registering on the Cardholder Registry site. However, when you send in your application, you must remit $100 to cover the $25 application request fee and the $75 application processing fee with your application.

 

Can I register with my IPhone or IPad?

Since this process involves printing, no.

 

I don't have a scanner. Now what do I do?

Instead of scanning, you can take a digital picture of the back of your ID, and save that file to your desktop. Some phones have cameras that produce sufficient images; some do not.

 

Can I still apply the old way?

At present, applicants can still request an application packet using the form on the Patient Registry homepage,
http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/MM-Patient-Cardholder-Registry/MM_Patient_Cardholder_Registry_-_Home/

Print the form, follow the instructions, and send it in with $25.

 

How much time will registering online save me?

Patients using the online process can have an application packet in their hand in a matter of minutes. Patients uploading complete applications can have an approval letter in their hand within 24 hours. Even though the Registry responds to packet requests and approves applications more rapidly than ever before, the mail is unpredictable at times.

 

Getting and Using a Medical Marijuana Card

In certain circumstances, can the application fee be waived? Can I make payments? Does insurance cover it? How about using a credit card?

The answer to all these questions is “no”. The fee must be paid in full with each new ($100) or renewal ($75) application.

 

What should I do if my card is lost or stolen?

To replace a card, email an image of the front and back of your driver's license to mmregistry@health.nv.gov, explain what happened, and request a new approval letter.

Can someone else sign and date my application (like a proxy) if I am physically unable to do so?

 

 Yes, as long as the individual signing your application identifies him or herself as your proxy next to his or her signature on your application, or provides documentation showing guardianship or power of attorney.

 

Do I have to tell the Medical Marijuana Program if I change my mailing address or remove a designated primary caregiver?

 

The answer to both questions is "yes". You are required to tell the MM Program in writing of any such changes within 30 days of the change. The MM Program does not accept changes of information over the telephone. We only accept written changes about the patient's address or designated primary caregiver from the registered patient. You may send your changes to the MM Program by mail, in person, or fax. The Program will send you written confirmation that the change request was received. Your changes will be made in our computer database and will be put in your file. You will be protected from civil and criminal penalties for these changes. If you change your caregiver, you will be asked to return the old caregiver card within 7 days.

 

 

Can a patient withdraw from the program?

 

Yes. To withdraw from the Program, a patient must submit a written statement that he or she wishes to do so. The Program will request that all cards be returned and the file will be closed. The patient’s card and all cards associated will be voided. It is the responsibility of the patient to notify his or her caregiver, if applicable, that his or her card is no longer valid. It is the patient’s responsibility to collect all cards associated with his or her patient card and return them to the department. If the Department is notified by the patient that he or she would like to withdraw from the program, the Department shall notify the primary caregiver by mail at the address of record informing the caregiver that his or her card is no longer valid and must be returned to the Department within 7 calendar days. All cards must be returned to the Department within seven (7) calendar days of the date that the Department was notified of withdrawal. The patient may reapply as a new patient at any time. In order to reapply, a patient must submit the required documentation and pay the application fee as outlined in NAC 453A.

 

Is my Nevada medical marijuana card recognized by other states? Can I possess my medical marijuana while traveling out of state?

 

 At this time, there are no reciprocal agreements with other states to honor Nevada medical marijuana patient cards. This includes states that have medical marijuana programs of their own, such as Oregon and California.
Because medical marijuana programs vary by state, you may want to contact the state(s) you travel to for information on their laws.

 

Legal Matters

Can the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program give me legal advice?

 

 No. If you have questions concerning compliance with the Medical Use of Marijuana laws in Nevada, you should consult an attorney.

Do I have to tell my landlord if I am approved in the MM program? Can my landlord evict me if I am a patient in the program and my grow site is my rental housing? Can I live in subsidized housing and be a patient in the MM program?

 

 It is up to you to decide whether or not to tell your landlord that you are a patient in the Medical Marijuana Registry. Nothing in NRS 453A specifically addresses whether or not you can be evicted because you are a patient in the MM Program, even if you only possess the amount of medical marijuana allowed by law. Nevada medical marijuana laws do not specifically address whether or not a person in the medical marijuana program can live in subsidized housing. If you have questions about these important issues, the we recommend that you talk to an attorney to learn about your rights and protections.

 

What do I tell my employer if I am subjected to a drug test?

 

 The Nevada Medical Marijuana Act states that employers are not required to accommodate employees who use medical marijuana. You may wish to consult an attorney about whether or not to tell your employer that you are a patient in the MM Program. A patient may contact the Nevada MM Program in writing to ask it to release information about the patient’s registration to an employer.


Last Updated: 12/5/2016