The Electronic Death/Birth Registry System (EDRS/EBRS) will be unavailable to allow for necessary System Maintenance and Upgrades
This is a planned and coordinated interruption of service to minimize user inconvenience and increase system user friendliness.
Fee Changes Effective November 5, 2019
The Office of Vital Records has increased its fees effective on October 30, 2019.
The new fees are:
Birth Certificates: $25.00 each
- Adoptions $45.00 each
- Corrections $45.00 each
- Paternities $45.00 each
Death Certificates: Due to new legislation to support mental health initiatives for first responders, prices vary according to county. The list of participating counties will continue to flux as counties apply for participation. Currently, the participating counties include: Carson City County, Clark County, Douglas County, Lyon County, Mineral County and Washoe County.
- Participating Counties $25.00 each
- Non-Participating Counties $22.00 each
Any requests received on and or postmarked by November 4, 2019, will be charged at the old prices.
2019 Proposed Regulation Changes
Birth / Death Certificates
The Office of Vital Records is the legal custodian of birth and death certificates filed in the State of Nevada from July 1, 1911 to the present. For events prior to 1911, records are usually held in the county Recorder’s office where the event occurred. A list of the county Recorder’s offices can be found on our application for a marriage or divorce verification record under "forms". Birth and death records are confidential in the State of Nevada and may only be released to a qualified applicant. A qualified applicant is generally defined as the registrant, or a direct family member by blood or marriage, his or her guardian, or his or her legal representative.
To Order Online Through VitalChek
The Office of Vital Records does not accept online orders. However, for your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you this service; VitalChek Network, Inc. VitalChek can be reached for ordering Nevada Vital records only by clicking the link below, its website, www.nevadabirthrecord.com, or by calling 877.456.5410. To protect the certificate and the person of record, the
applicant must submit photo identification to the VitalChek company to avoid a
delay in processing the request. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.
Birth and Death Certificate - Corrections
For Questions on How to Amend or Correct Information on a Birth or Death Record.
- Please call 775-684-4242 and ask for an amendment clerk.
Sex (Gender) and Name Change Informational Packet and Forms
NEW HOMELESS APPLICATION REQUIRED
Requirements for Certificates and Verifications
Effective March 28, 2016, the Office of Vital Records began requiring proof of relationship to ensure the State Registrar is satisfied that the applicant has a direct and tangible interest in the recorded matter pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 440.650. The Office of Vital Records is dedicated to ensuring the security and confidentiality of all birth and death records as required by state law. The Office of Vital Records has created the link below to provide the applicant more information regarding who can receive a certified copy of a certificate. A verification of a record is available to an applicant providing sufficient information to search for the record along with proper identification.
If the proof required is a Nevada birth certificate, the Office of Vital Records can verify the information upon request from the applicant. The proper verification fee(s) will apply.
DECLARATION OF PATERNITY - REQUIREMENTS
A majority of Declaration of Paternities are hospital based. A hospital based paternity is witnessed by hospital staff immediately after birth and there is no cost to the parents. Besides hospital based paternities, effective May 2, 2016, the Office of Vital Records will only accept a Declaration of Paternity, if it is witnessed by an employee from the Office of Vital Records or another approved agency. Below is a list of the approved agencies and their locations. The mother and the person wishing to acknowledge paternity must be present in person, either together or separate, for the witnessing agency to ensure that both parents acknowledging paternity are the persons being notified orally and in writing of the rights, responsibilities and legal consequences of, and the alternatives to, signing the Declaration of Paternity. If either parent is unable to be present in person, a court order establishing paternity will be required.
State of Nevada, Office of Vital Records
4150 Technology Way, Suite 104
Carson City, NV 89706
Southern Nevada Health District, Vital Records
280 S. Decatur Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89107
To Order By Mail:
Office of Vital Records
4150 Technology Way, Suite 104
Carson City, Nevada 89706
If you are a qualified applicant, you can complete an application listed under "forms" and mail it in with a check or money order for the appropriate fees. Certified copies of birth or death records are $20.00 each.
For All Other Questions
- Please call the Office of Vital Records at 775-684-4242, or e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org