**UPDATED TEMP FOOD PERMIT DEADLINE NOTICE**
Effective August 1, 2016 all Temporary Food applications submitted to the Environmental Health Section are required to be submitted through the online system at least 5 business days prior to the event start date. Please be aware that permits submitted after the 5 business day deadline will not be approved.
A Temporary Food Establishment Application shall be submitted by applicants that are sampling, selling, serving or giving away food that requires temperature control and processing to the public.
Temporary Food Establishments at Special Events covers all aspects of special events which operates at a fixed location for a temporary period of time, not to exceed 2 weeks. Some examples include: swap meets, flea markets, craft fairs, farmers markets, trade shows, conventions, consumer shows, community or association picnics, fairs, carnivals, fundraisers or similar transitory gatherings.
Event Coordinator Application
DPBH-EHS also permits large events that exceed 10,000 attendees (daily), such as Burning Man and Night in the County and smaller events with only a few vendors. The Environmental Health Section works closely with event promoters throughout the event planning process to ensure that food vendor operations are accommodated and that all garbage and wastewater is disposed of in a sanitary manner. Event Coordinators must complete an application for each event. See the Forms Section for the application.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit Requirements
A health permit shall be obtained from the DPBH-EH to operate a temporary food establishment or act as a potable water hauler. Vendors will not be allowed to operate without a valid DPBH-EHS temporary event permit.
- Applications must be submitted a MINIMUM of 5 business days before the start of the event.
Permit fees paid will not be refunded for failure to obtain final approval or voluntary withdrawal.
Temporary Food Establishments at Burning Man
If you plan to serve food or share food including certain beverages at Burning Man you need a temporary event permit from the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (NDPBH), Environmental Health Section. Our goal is to keep people from getting sick on the playa. We work closely with the Burning Man organization and Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Law Enforcement staff and will request their assistance in closing food operations that have not obtained a valid permit or may cause a public health risk.
Potable Water Hauling at Burning Man
Any person who is hauling, delivering, vending, providing, or selling potable water to any individual or organized camp other than their own private or individual camp at Burning Man must be permitted by either the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (NDPBH) or the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP).
Potable Water Exemptions at Burning Man
This policy does not apply to RV providers which provide a fully stocked RV for individual use.
*NEW* ON-LINE APPLICATION PROCESS
The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health now has an on-line application system for Temporary Food at Special Events. See the link below to access the new system.
PLEASE NOTE: For optimal use of the Online Licensing System, we recommend using Internet Explorer 9-11, Safari 5.0 and Firefox 26-40. Please do NOT use Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge.
This system may not be compatible with phones and tablets, for best results use a desktop or laptop computer.