Dietitian Provisional License
Online Licensing Sytem
All new and existing dietitians must use the Nevada Online Licensing System to become a licensed dietitian in the state.
A provisional license allows a person time to complete all licensure requirements during the period of the provisional license.
If you meet the educational requirement as outlined below but do not meet the age, examination or training and experience requirements you may apply for a provisional license.
- Must have a bachelor’s degree or higher in human nutrition, nutrition education, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food systems management.
- Note: If your degree was obtained in a foreign country, the applicant must include with his or her application a written statement or other proof from the Council for Higher Education Accreditation that the degree is equivalent to a degree issued by a college or university accredited by a regional accreditation body in the United States that is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and the United States Department of Education.
- May engage in the practice of dietetics only under the supervision of a licensed dietitian. “Under the supervision of a licensed dietitian” means the performance of a task or activity under the direction of a licensed dietitian where the licensed dietitian ensures the accomplishment of the task or activity, including initial direction and periodic inspection of the actual accomplishment of the task or activity.
Important Provisional Licensure Application Notes
- Provisional license application fee is $100
- Allow up to 30 days for processing provisional license applications.
- Provisional license is valid for 1 year from license issuance date.
- You will have one opportunity to renew your provisional license for not more than 6 months if you submit evidence satisfactory to the Bureau as to why you failed to obtain a license to engage in the practice of dietetics during the time you held the provisional license.
- If you apply as a non-registered dietitian, you will not be able to call yourself or hold yourself out as a dietitian, licensed dietitian, or registered dietitian in accordance with NRS 439.537. Failure to comply with NRS 439.537 is a misdemeanor offense. Your license will reflect that you cannot call yourself or hold yourself out as a dietitian, licensed dietitian or registered dietitian.
- Read and understand the laws (statutes) and regulations (Nevada Administrative Code) related to the practice of dietetics in Nevada.