COVID-19 and TEMPORARY OFFICE CLOSURE for Public Access
Pandemic is NOT over.
The number of cases continues to be in flux.
For your protection
and ours, the Carson City service window is CLOSED to the public and the building
The public will NOT be admitted inside the building without an appointment.
In an effort
to stop and prevent the spread of COVID-19 among state workers, their families,
and the general public, the State of Nevada’s Office of Vital Records will
temporarily suspend its public-facing operations and transition all essential
functions to online services.
However, we are available via mail, email and telephone and respond to messages within two business days.
PLEASE NOTE: Call volume at this time is very
high. If you get a busy signal, please leave a message. We
check message a
minimum of once an hour and WILL return calls within two business days
The Office continues to process
The Office of Vital Records is committed to serving our clients during this difficult time; however, please note that response times on non-essential items may be delayed. We appreciate your patience.
If you run into any difficulties or
have any concerns, please call or email the following:
Important Notice of Fraud:
The Department of Health has received increased number of calls about third-party vendors selling birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates. These companies charge customers high fees to “process” or “help apply” for certificates issued from the Department of Health. If you have ordered through one of these third-party companies and would like to file a consumer complaint, please call the State of Nevada Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection at (702) 486-3132 or toll free at (888) 434-9989. For more information please visit their website at the Bureau of Consumer Protection.
Fee Change Effective 11-5-2019
The Office of Vital Records has increased its fees effective on October 30, 2019.
The new fees are:
Birth Certificates: $25.00 each
- Adoptions $45.00 each
- Corrections $45.00 each
- Paternities $45.00 each
Death Certificates: Due to new legislation to support mental health initiatives for first responders, prices vary according to county. The list of participating counties will continue to flux as counties apply for participation. Currently, the participating counties include Carson City County, Clark County, Douglas County, Lyon County, Mineral County and Washoe County.
- Participating Counties: $25.00 each
- Non-Participating Counties: $22.00 each
Any requests received on and or postmarked by November 4, 2019, will be charged at the old prices.
Who Can Order a Record
The Office of Vital Records requires proof of relationship to ensure the State Registrar is satisfied that applicants for a birth or death record have a direct and tangible interest in the recorded matter pursuant to Nevada law.
Order Online Though VitalCheck
The Office of Vital Records has partnered with VitalChek Network, Inc. for ordering Nevada vital records by visiting www.nevadabirthrecord.com, or by calling (877) 456-5410. To protect the certificate and the person of record, the
applicant must submit photo identification to the VitalChek company to avoid a
delay in processing the request. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service, and all major credit cards are accepted (American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®).
Order By Mail
If you are a qualified applicant, you can complete an application listed on the Vital Records Forms web page and mail it in with a check or money order for the appropriate fees. Certified copies of birth or death records are $25.00 each.
Office of Vital Records
4150 Technology Way, Suite 104
Carson City, Nevada 89706
Telephone: (775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156
There is a special application for individuals who are homeless who need to order a copy of their birth certificates. The application is available on the Vital Records Forms web page.
Amend a Record
Amendments or corrections are permitted for birth, death and fetal death records in certain circumstances.
Declaration of Paternity
The Office of Vital Records will accept a Declaration of Paternity if it is witnessed by an employee from the Office of Vital Records or another approved agency. The mother and the person wishing to acknowledge paternity must be present in person, either together or separate, for the witnessing agency. If either parent is unable to be present in person, a court order establishing paternity will be required.
Approved agencies include:
- State of Nevada, Office of Vital Records
- Southern Nevada Health District - Vital Records