
Nevada’s laws that criminalize HIV are 
outdated, ineffective and discriminatory.
These laws treat HIV differently from every other communicable disease — it’s the 
only one listed in Nevada’s penal code and the only one for which activities that may 
risk transmission carry a felony charge for the first offense. Not only do these laws 
fail to prevent the spread of HIV, but they make it harder to end the epidemic by 
discouraging testing, treatment and disclosure.

HIV
1st offense:  
Class B felony, two years 
imprisonment and/or up to  
$10,000 fine *

Chlamydia
COVID-19
Ebola
Gonorrhea
Hansen’s Disease (leprosy)

Hepatitis A, B, C, D, E
Measles 
Meningitis MRSA
Plague
Rabies
SARS
Smallpox
Syphilis
Tuberculosis
Typhoid Fever

1st offense:  
Warning from health authority

2nd offense:  
Misdemeanor, up to 6 months in jail, 
up to $1,000 fine ^

It’s time for Nevada to modernize our HIV criminal laws, 
treat HIV like every other communicable disease and use 
proven prevention methods to end the epidemic.
* NRS 201.205
^ NRS 441A.180


