
According to Nevada Revised Statutes 
76.020, a “business” is defined as:

Any person who performs a service or 
engages in a trade for profit.

Any entity organized pursuant to this 
title, including, without limitations, those 
entities required to file with the Secretary 
of State, whether or not the entity 
performs a service or engages in a 
business for profit.

If you receive a 1099 form for any work 
performed in Nevada, or if you are an 
owner of a business, you need a State 
Business License.

Who Needs a
State Business License?

Red Rock Canyon, Las Vegas, NVPahrump, NV

Nevada’s First Stop for
Business Registration

Carson City
202 N. Carson St.

Carson City, NV 89701

Phone: 775-684-5708

Fax: 775-684-5725

Email: sosmail@sos.nv.gov

www.nvsilverflume.gov

Las Vegas
555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 5200

Las Vegas, NV 89101

Phone: 702-486-2880

Fax: 775-486-2888

Email: soslvmail@sos.nv.gov

www.nvsilverflume.gov

You can register, pay and download 
licenses online. SilverFlume simplifies the 
steps to start and renew your business 
with an online business checklist to guide 
you through streamlined governmental 
registrations, such as the State Business 
License, Sales & Use Tax Permit and 
other requirements. We also have free 
resources for business counseling, 
step-by-step start-up guides, business 
funding and more!

www.nvsilverflume.gov
Get started at:

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW AS A
BUSINESS OWNER

AND/OR
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR
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SilverFlume, Nevada’s Business Portal
Receive your license immediately when
you apply online at: 

www.nvsilverflume.gov
Carson City, in person, by mail or fax:
202 N. Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701
Fax: 775-684-5725

Las Vegas, in person, by mail or fax:
555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 5200
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Fax: 775-486-2888

Three Ways to Apply for a
State Business License

Yes, you must maintain a Nevada State 
Business License as well as a county 
and/or city business license.

The “New Business Checklist” will provide 
a list of requirements customized to your 
business at:

nvsilverflume.gov/checklist

Do I Still Need
a State Business License
if I Have a County or City

Business License?

Some individuals may claim an 
exemption to the State Business License 
requirement. Exemptions are listed in 
Nevada Revised Statutes 76.020(2) and 
Nevada Administrative Code 76.

Do I Qualify
for an Exemption?

You need to secure a valid Nevada State 
Business License or Exemption prior to 
conducting any business activity. This 
requirement is for business owners and 
independent contractors. Once received, 
your business license, or exemption, must be 
renewed annually.

The business license fee is $200 to $500 
for initial filings and annual renewals.

Any person or entity conducting business in 
Nevada without an active State Business 
License may incur penalties and fines from 
$1,000 to $10,000 in addition to the 
business license fee.

If you are aware of an entity operating 
without a State Business License, you may 
file a complaint at:

www.nvsos.gov/complaint

When Should I Apply for a
State Business License?

Fallon, NVLamoille Canyon, Elko County, NVEureka, NV


