## Nevada State Health Division Technical Bulletin



Topic:	School Requirements for	Bureau/Program: Bureau of Child, Family and					
	Hepatitis B and Tdap	Community Wellness/Immunization Program					
Bulletin #: BCFCW-IZ 01-12							
Date:	February 21, 2012						
To:	Immunization Providers	Contact: Erin Seward, (775) 684-3209					

## Hepatitis B and Tdap Requirements for School Entry

The purpose of this bulletin is to clarify Hepatitis B and Tdap immunization schedules and requirements for school entry. Please note that valid doses are mandatory for school entry.

Per Nevada state law, all children must be up-to-date per Advisory Committee for Immunization Practices (ACIP) for the following vaccines in order to be enrolled into Kindergarten and 7<sup>th</sup> grade (or for children of any age new to the school district):

- Hepatitis A (2 doses)
- Hepatitis B (3 doses)
- Varicella (2 doses)
- Polio (3 doses additional dose required if no doses were on/after 4<sup>th</sup> birthday)
- Measles, Mumps, Rubella (2 doses)
- Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)
   (4 doses additional dose required if no doses were on/after 4<sup>th</sup> birthday)
- Tdap (1 dose before entry into 7<sup>th</sup> grade)

**<u>4 Day Grace Period</u>**: A four day grace period is recognized for all vaccines. This means that a child can be vaccinated up to 4 days before a minimum interval or age has been reached.

## **Hepatitis B Vaccine**

- Administer monovalent Hepatitis B vaccine to all newborns before hospital discharge.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> dose should be administered at age 1 or 2 months. Monovalent Hepatitis B vaccine should be used for doses administered before age 6 weeks.
- Administration of 4 doses of Hepatitis B vaccine to infants is permissible when a combination vaccine containing Hepatitis B is administered after the birth dose.
- When Pediarix has been used, a child will need a 4<sup>th</sup> dose of Hepatitis B vaccine. Example a child receives Hepatitis B birth dose, Pediarix at 2 months, and Pediarix at 4 months. This child now has 3 doses of Hepatitis B, but the 3<sup>rd</sup> dose of Hepatitis B is invalid because it was administered at age 4 months. Therefore, the 4<sup>th</sup> dose of Hepatitis B should be administered between 6 months to 18 months.
- Infants who did not receive a birth dose should receive 3 doses of Hepatitis B vaccine on a schedule of 0, 1, and 6 months. Catch-Up Immunization Schedule is acceptable.
- The final (3rd or 4th) dose in the Hepatitis B series should be administered at a minimum of 8 weeks after the 2<sup>nd</sup> dose, AND at least 16 weeks after the 1<sup>st</sup> dose, AND for infants no earlier than age 24 weeks.

ACIP Schedule	Birth	1 month	2 months	6 months	12 months	15 months	18 months
<b>Hepatitis B</b> Dose		Dose 2		Dose 3			

## **Tdap Vaccine**

Children entering the 7<sup>th</sup> grade must receive a Pertussis booster - Tdap. Per ACIP, Tdap can be administered for individuals seven years of age and older who are Pertussis deficient. Those who are not Pertussis deficient can be vaccinated at 10 years old with Boostrix and 11 years old with Adacel. Tdap can be administered regardless of the interval since the last tetanus and diphtheria toxoid—containing vaccine.

ACIP immunization schedules can be found at: www.cdc.gov/vaccines/recs/schedules/default.htm

Approved by:

Tracey D. Green, MD State Health Officer

Richard Whitley, MS
Administrator

Erin Seward, MPH
Immunization Program Manager

Evin Deward