2021 Child Care and Accommodation Facility Immunization Reporting FAQs

Who does the report include? What ages do the report cover?

• Please submit reports using immunization information from any child that has attended the child care facility in the past year (January 1st - December 31st). This reporting requirement is applied to children of any age that attend the child care or accommodation facility.

What does "up-to-date" mean?

 A child is considered "up-to-date" if they have received all their age-appropriate vaccinations upon admittance for the year. In Nevada, children entering child care must be current on immunizations protecting them from: Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Polio, Haemophilus Influenzae type b, Streptococcus Pneumoniae, Hepatitis B, Hepatitis A, Measles, Mumps, Rubella, and Varicella (Chickenpox).

What does "conditionally admitted" mean?

Per NRS 432A.230 and NRS 432A.235:

- (1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3 and unless excused because of religious belief or medical condition, a child may not be admitted to any child care or accommodation facility within this State, including a facility licensed by a county or city, unless the parents or guardian of the child submit to the operator of the facility a certificate stating that the child has been immunized and has received proper boosters for that immunization or is complying with the schedules established by regulation pursuant to NRS 439.550 for the following diseases:
 - (a) Diphtheria;
 - (b) Tetanus;
 - (c) Pertussis if the child is under 6 years of age;
 - (d) Poliomyelitis;
 - (e) Rubella;
 - (f) Rubeola; and
 - (g) Such other diseases as the local board of health or the State Board of Health may determine.
- (3) A child whose parent or guardian has not established a permanent residence in the county in which a child care or accommodation facility is located and whose history of immunization cannot be immediately confirmed by a physician in this State or a local health officer, may enter the child care facility conditionally if the parent or guardian:
 - (a) Agrees to submit within 15 days a certificate from a physician or local health officer that the child has received or is receiving the required immunizations; and
 - (b) Submits proof that the parent or guardian has not established a permanent residence in the county in which the facility is located.
- (4) If a certificate from the physician or local health officer showing that the child has received or is receiving the required immunizations is not submitted to the operator of the child care facility within 15 days after the child was conditionally admitted, the child must be excluded

from the facility.

To calculate the conditional enrollment rate, please include any child in series and any child that is new to the county.

The facility is both a child care and school. How is this reported?

• Please report twice, once for the school and once for the child care.

Our child care has multiple campuses. How is this reported?

- Please report each campus separately.
- For example, if the child care has 10 campuses, please report for all 10 facilities.

Our facility hosts multiple types of child care, e.g., daycare, after-school, etc. How is this reported?

Please report the child care information together if the programs are on the same campus.

Where is the law on child care immunization requirements?

 Child care immunization requirements are listed in the following Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Code:

Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS)	Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)
NRS 432A.230	NAC 432A.500
NRS 432A.235	NAC 432A.501
NRS 432A.240	NAC 432A.502
NRS 432A.250	NAC 432A.503
NRS 432A.260	NAC 432A.504
NRS 432A.270	NAC 432A.505
NRS 432A.280	NAC 432A.510
NRS 432A.260 NRS 432A.270	NAC 432A.504 NAC 432A.505

➤ Which immunizations are required for child care?

vinion minumentations are regained for sima care.	
Vaccine	Protects Against
DTaP/DT	Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis
IPV	Polio
Hib	Haemophilus Influenzae type b
PCV13 (Prevnar®)	Streptococcus Pneumoniae
HBV	Hepatitis B
HAV	Hepatitis A
MMR	Measles, Mumps, Rubella
VZV (Varicella)	Chickenpox

• Please also see the <u>Technical Bulletin</u> regarding child care immunizations.

What if children <u>have immunization exemptions?</u>

- It is in the best interest of the children that the facility makes its best efforts to protect them
 from vaccine-preventable disease. Please note that while medical and religious exemptions are
 accepted in Nevada, personal belief exemptions are not.
 - Medical and religious exemptions must be submitted on a standardized Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health form (please see the <u>Immunization Exemption</u> <u>Requirement Technical Bulletin</u>).
- Do not include children with religious and medical exemptions in the up-to-date immunization rate. Only children who are fully vaccinated per Nevada requirements should be counted as upto-date.
 - Children who have had varicella disease, regardless of how many doses of varicella vaccine, are considered up-to-date, but must provide proof of immunity (please see the Varicella Technical Bulletin).

What tools can help verify if children are up-to-date?

- All immunizations administered in the State of Nevada should be recorded in Nevada WebIZ at https://webiz.nv.gov. Those who have access to Nevada WebIZ will be able to use its recommendation tool to assess which immunizations are needed.
- Nevada WebIZ also has a Public Access Portal for parents/guardians to review their child's immunization records: https://izrecord.nv.gov.
- Please contact the NV WebIZ Helpdesk for assistance at (775) 684-5954 or izit@health.nv.gov.

Who can get access to WebIZ login information?

- Policy states that all new users who will add or modify data in Nevada WebIZ <u>must</u> attend a training session before given a username and password to log in.
- For individuals who only need access to view data (such as a child care facility, or those that
 report data via HL7 electronic interface), a special User Confidentiality Agreement is available
 from the Helpdesk. For more information, visit their website at
 https://dpbh.nv.gov/Programs/WebIZ/WebIZ Home/.

> Is this reporting the same as the audit from the Health District?

• No, this reporting is required by the State of Nevada per <u>NRS 432A.230</u> and is a different process than the audit done by some Health Districts. However, information from the audit may be helpful to assess immunization rates for State reporting.

Is a child still considered up-to-date if they were up-to-date during their last attendance, but haven't attended the facility or provided new immunization records in several months?

• Yes, the child would be considered up-to-date for reporting purposes if they were up-to-date when they were admitted to the facility.

➤ <u>Is a child considered up-to-date if they are current on a series, but have not completed it? For example, they were behind on MMR, have now received Dose 1, but is not yet due for Dose 2.</u>

• No, this child is not considered up-to-date. Per NRS 432A.230, the child can be admitted into the child care facility, but should be tracked and reminded to get the next dose(s) in

their series. By law, if the child does not get the required dose(s), then the child care facility is no longer allowed to admit the child.

> As more of the children at the facility become up-to-date, can immunization reporting be updated?

• Yes, it is highly encouraged to please update these numbers so the data will better reflect the facility's immunization successes.