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NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION 

Notice of Hearing for the Amendment of Regulations of the Board of Health 

LCB File No. R037-22 related to Certification of Programs for the Treatment of Persons who Solicit Prostitution 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the State Board of Health will hold a public hearing to consider amendments to 

Chapter 439 of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC). This public hearing is to be held in conjunction with the 

State Board of Health meeting on December 2, 2022, at 9:00 AM at the following virtual and physical 

locations.    

Virtual Meeting Locations:  

• Click here to join the meeting; or 

• Call in (audio only): 775-321-6111 (Phone Conference ID: 153 453 179#) 

Physical Meeting Locations: 

• Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) 

Red Rock Trail Rooms A and B 

280 S. Decatur Boulevard 

Las Vegas, Nevada 89107 

 

• Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) 

Hearing Room No. 303, 3rd Floor 

4150 Technology Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89706 

  

1.  The need for and the purpose of the proposed regulation or amendment. 

The proposed changes revise Chapter 439 of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) (LCB File No. R037-22) 

and are being proposed in accordance with the following authority:  §§ 1-14 and 16-40, NRS 4.373, 5.055 and 

439.200; § 15, NRS 4.373, 5.055, 439.150 and 439.200.  These changes are needed as statutes have provisions 

for a justice of the peace or municipal judge to order customers of prostitutes convicted of a misdemeanor 

that constitutes solicitation for prostitution to participate in a program for the treatment of persons who 

solicit prostitution which is certified by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health.  As no such certification 

currently exits, the proposed regulations establish certification of these programs.  

 

 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_M2UwZmYwOGQtOWFhYy00ZGI1LTk2OTEtZWIyMDE0MDc2NDc1%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22e4a340e6-b89e-4e68-8eaa-1544d2703980%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22455656b7-d121-4709-ba81-3f70d51b1100%22%7d
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The proposed changes to NAC 439 (LCB File No. R037-22) include the following: 

NRS 4.373 (3) allows the justice of the peace to suspend the sentence for not more than 2 years upon the 

condition that the person actively participates in a program for the treatment of persons who solicit 

prostitution which is certified by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health.   NRS 439.200 gives the State 

Board of Health authority to adopt, amend and enforce reasonable regulations consistent with law to protect 

and promote the public health generally.  NRS 439.150 authorizes the State Board of Health to set reasonable 

fees for the licensing, registering, certifying, inspecting or granting permits for any facility, establishment or 

service regulated by the Division.  These proposed regulations establish the certification and regulation 

requirements for programs of treatment for persons who solicit prostitution.    

 

The proposed regulations establish the certification and regulatory requirements for a program for the 

treatment of persons who solicit prostitution including: 

• Certification and renewal requirements 

• Criteria for attendance of counseling sessions via distance media 

• Required curriculum and instructional material requirements  

• Program structure  

• Certification and associated fees.  Renewal fees are based on a two-year renewal cycle. 

• Requires programs to offer a payment sliding scale 

• Requirements for the completion and termination of a course 

• Program record retention schedule 

• Confidentiality requirements 

• Offender agreement requirements 

• Provisions relating to formal training and continuing education 

• Program facilitator requirements  

• Program director requirements 

• Disciplinary action and appeal rights 

Inspection and complaint investigation requirements 

 

2. A statement explaining how to obtain the approved or revised text of the proposed regulation. 

Any persons interested in obtaining a copy of the approved or revised text of the proposed regulations may e-
mail, call, or mail in a request to Leticia Metherell, RN, CPM, HPM III at the Division of Public and Behavioral 
Health at:  

  
Division of Public and Behavioral Health  

Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance  
727 Fairview Drive, Suite E  

Carson City, NV 89701  
Leticia Metherell  

Phone:  775-684-1045  
Email: lmetherell@health.nv.gov  

 

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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3.  The estimated economic effect of the regulation on the business which it is to regulate and on the public. 

Anticipated effects of Chapter 439 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R037-22) on the 

businesses which it regulates:  

 

A. Adverse effects: The associated certification fees may cause a negative financial impact.  

 

B. Beneficial: This new certification type will open a new business opportunity to those interested in operating 

a program of treatment for persons who solicit prostitution. Indirect beneficial effects include a new business 

opportunity that may lead to new or additional income for an individual operating this new business type.     

 

C. Immediate:  There would be an immediate certification cost to any small business wanting to operate a 

program of treatment for persons who solicit prostitution which accepts clients in which a justice of the peace 

orders an individual to actively participate in a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution 

pursuant to  NRS 4.373, or a municipal judge who issues such an order pursuant to NRS 5.055. 

 

D. Long-term:  Long-term financial beneficial effects are an additional business opportunity for small businesses 

that are interested in operating a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution, and any 

associated revenue.  The long-term financial adverse effects include pay all applicable certification fees, 

including on-going renewal fees every two years.  

 

Anticipated effects on the public:  

A.  Adverse:  There are no anticipated adverse financial effects on the public, except for individuals which are 

ordered to attend a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution.  In this case, the cost would 

be dependent on the fees charged to attend a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution, 

and any associated travel costs.  

 

B.  Beneficial:  There are no anticipated direct beneficial financial effects on the public.   

 

C.  Immediate: There are no known immediate beneficial or adverse financial effects on the public, except 

perhaps an immediate adverse financial effect on members of the public who are ordered to attend a program 

for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution, as indicated in the above Adverse section.  

  

D.  Long-term:  There are no known long-term financial beneficial or adverse financial effects on the public.  

 

4.  The methods used by the agency in determining the impact on a small business. 

The methods used by the agency in determining the impact of the proposed changes to Chapter 439 of the 

Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R037-22) on a small business are as follows:  
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Notice was sent to all certified domestic violence treatment program providers, certified at the time of the 

notice distribution, and individuals for which contact information was provided that may have an interest in 

programs for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution by January 24, 2020, requesting that all 

interested individuals complete the small business impact questionnaire.  An email notice with a link to the 

small business impact questionnaire and proposed regulations was provided to those with an email address. 

The proposed regulations were also posted on DPBH’s website. The questions on the questionnaire were: 

  

1) How many employees are currently employed by your business?  

2) Will a specific regulation have an adverse economic effect upon your business?  

3) Will the regulation(s) have any beneficial effect upon your business?  

4) Do you anticipate any indirect adverse effects upon your business?  

5) Do you anticipate any indirect beneficial effects upon your business?  

 

This data was then collected and analyzed to help determine the impact on a small business.   Because there 

are no currently certified programs for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution, the questionnaire was 

sent to certified domestic violence treatment program providers, as there are similarities between the two 

programs, there may be certified domestic violence treatment program providers who would have an interest 

in also providing a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution.  

A public workshop was also held on July 20, 2022, to gain further information on the proposed regulations on 

business, including small businesses.  There was one person that testified in support of the proposed 

regulations, and no one testified in opposition of the proposed regulations.   

 

An analysis of industry input collected was conducted by a health program manager.  The analysis involved 

analyzing feedback obtained from the small business impact questionnaire, the public workshop, and review of 

statutes to determine how the Division could implement a comprehensive program of treatment for persons 

who solicit prostitution while at the same time not being overly burdensome. 

 

5. The estimated cost for the Division of Public and Behavioral Health for enforcement of the proposed 

changes to Chapter 439 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R037-22) are as follows:  

 

The estimated cost to the agency for the enforcement of the proposed regulations is the amount of fees 

collected pursuant to Section 15 of the proposed regulations. This will depend on the number and type of 

applications received, for example, if one initial application is received the $897 would cover two years of 

licensing and regulating this facility, with an additional $449 every two years to maintain these services, for a 

total cost of $1,346 to regulate and license one program over a four-year period.   

6.  A description of and citation to any regulations of other state or local governmental agencies which the 

proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining why the duplication or overlapping is 

necessary. If the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates a federal regulation, the notice must include the 

name of the regulating federal agency. 
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The proposed regulations do not overlap or duplicate any other Nevada state regulations or federal 

regulations. 

 

7.  If the regulation includes provisions which are more stringent than a federal regulation that regulates the 

same activity, a summary of such provisions. 

 

The proposed regulations do not provide provisions that are more than a federal regulation that regulates the 

same activity.   

 

8.  Whether the proposed regulation establishes a new fee or increases an existing fee. 

 

The total annual amount DPBH expects to collect is unknown because it is based on the number and type of 

applications received.  For example, if no applications were received, DPBH would collect nothing.  If one 

initial application was received, DPBH would collect $897 but if 10 initial applications were received, it would 

receive $8,970.  It would also depend on the length of time each program remains certified, because the 

longer a program remains certified, the more fees DPBH would collect. DPBH will use the money to license and 

regulate these programs.  

 

Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of Board of Health may appear at the scheduled public 

hearing or may address their comments, data, views or arguments, in written form, to the Board’s Secretary, 

Lisa Sherych, to be received no later than November 17, 2022, at the following address:    

 

Secretary, State Board of Health  

Division of Public and Behavioral Health  

4150 Technology Way, Suite 300  

Carson City, NV 89706  

 

Written comments, testimony, or documentary evidence in excess of two typed pages will not be accepted at 

the time of the hearing.  The purpose of this requirement is to allow Board members adequate time to review 

the documents.  

  

Members of the public who are disabled and require special accommodations or assistance at the hearing are 

requested to notify Leticia Metherell, in writing, no later than five (5) working days before the hearing via 

email at: lmetherell@health.nv.gov or by mailing a request to:   

 

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Attention: Leticia Metherell 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701 

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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A copy of the notice and proposed regulations are on file for inspection and/or may be copied at the following 

locations during normal business hours:  

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health  

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701  

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4150 Technology Way, Suite 300 

Carson City, NV 89706 

Nevada State Library 

100 Stewart Street 

Carson City, NV 89701 

Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) 

Red Rock Trail Rooms A and B 

280 S. Decatur Boulevard 

Las Vegas, Nevada 89107 

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4220 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 100, Building A 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 

 

A copy of the regulations, public hearing notice, and small business impact statement can be found on-line by 

going to: 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/ 

 

A copy of the public hearing notice can also be found at Nevada Legislature’s web page:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/    

  

Copies may be obtained in person, by mail, or by calling the Division of Public and Behavioral Health at (775) 

684-1030 in Carson City or (702) 486-6515 in Las Vegas.   

 

Per NRS 233B.064(2), upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested 

person, either prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise statement of the principal 

reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein its reason for overruling the consideration urged 

against its adoption.  

  

  

 

 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/
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September 6, 2022 

MEMORANDUM 
 

 

 

 

 

TO:  Jon Pennell, DVM, Chair, State Board of Health 

FROM: Lisa Sherych, Secretary, State Board of Health 

RE: Consideration and adoption of proposed regulation amendment(s) to Nevada Administrative 

Code (NAC) 439, “Administration of Public Health”, LCB File No. R037-22.  

PURPOSE OF AMENDMENT 

The proposed changes revise Chapter 439 of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) (LCB File No. R037-22) 

and are being proposed in accordance with the following authority:  §§ 1-14 and 16-40, NRS 4.373, 5.055 and 

439.200; § 15, NRS 4.373, 5.055, 439.150 and 439.200.  These changes are needed as statutes exist which allow 

for a justice of the peace or municipal judge to order customers of prostitutes who have been convicted of a 

misdemeanor that constitutes solicitation for prostitution to participate in a program for the treatment of persons 

who solicit prostitution which is certified by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health.  As no such 

certification currently exits, the proposed regulations establish certification of these programs for treatment of 

persons who solicit prostitution.  

The authority for the proposed changes to NAC 439 (LCB File No. R037-22) include the following: 

NRS 4.373 (3) allows the justice of the peace to suspend the sentence for not more than 2 years upon the 

condition that the person actively participates in a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution 

which is certified by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health.    

NRS 439.200 gives the State Board of Health authority to adopt, amend and enforce reasonable regulations 

consistent with law to protect and promote the public health generally.   

NRS 439.150 authorizes the State Board of Health to set reasonable fees for the licensing, registering, 

certifying, inspecting or granting permits for any facility, establishment or service regulated by the Division.  

These proposed regulations establish the certification and regulatory requirements for programs of treatment for 

persons who solicit prostitution.    
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SUMMARY OF CHANGES TO NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (NAC) 439 

The proposed regulations establish the certification and regulatory requirements for a program for the treatment 

of persons who solicit prostitution including: 

• Certification and renewal requirements 

• Criteria for attendance of counseling sessions via distance media 

• Required curriculum and instructional material requirements  

• Program structure  

• Certification and associated fees.  Renewal fees are based on a two-year renewal cycle. 

• Requires programs to offer a payment sliding scale 

• Requirements for the completion and termination of a course 

• Program record retention schedule 

• Confidentiality requirements 

• Offender agreement requirements 

• Provisions relating to formal training and continuing education 

• Program facilitator requirements  

• Program director requirements 

• Disciplinary action and appeal rights 

• Inspection and complaint investigation requirements 

POSSIBLE OUTCOME IF PROPOSED AMENDMENT IS NOT APPROVED 

If the proposed amendments are not approved by the Board of Health, the Board will not be in compliance with 

the statutory requirement that the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (Division) certify programs for the 

treatment of persons who solicit prostitution.   

APPLICABILITY OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

The proposed regulations will apply statewide.   

PUBLIC COMMENT RECEIVED 

Pursuant to NRS 233B.0608 (2)(a), the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) has requested input 

from small businesses that may be affected by the proposed regulations.  As this is a new treatment program 

type there are currently no businesses certified as a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution 

who would be directly impacted by these proposed regulations; therefore, the proposed regulations were sent to 

certified domestic violence treatment program providers as this may be a business type that would be interested 

in opening such a business.  In addition, the request for input from small businesses was provided to additional 

individuals in which contact information was provided to the Division who may have an interest in this type of 

business.  

Notice was sent to all certified domestic violence treatment program providers, certified at the time of the notice 

distribution, and individuals for which contact information was provided that may have an interest in programs 

for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution by January 24, 2020, requesting that all interested 

individuals complete the small business impact questionnaire.  An email notice with a link to the small business 
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impact questionnaire and proposed regulations was provided to those with an email address. The proposed 

regulations were also posted on DPBH’s website. The questions on the questionnaire were: 

1) How many employees are currently employed by your business? 

2) Will a specific regulation have an adverse economic effect upon your business? 

3) Will the regulation(s) have any beneficial effect upon your business? 

4) Do you anticipate any indirect adverse effects upon your business? 

5) Do you anticipate any indirect beneficial effects upon your business? 

 

Summary of Response 

Summary of Comments Received  

(1 response was received out of 32 small business impact questionnaires distributed) 

  

Will a specific 

regulation have 

an adverse 

economic effect 

upon your 

business? 

Will the regulation 

(s) have any 

beneficial effect 

upon your 

business? 

Do you 

anticipate any 

indirect adverse 

effects upon 

your business? 

Do you anticipate any indirect 

beneficial effects upon your 

business? 

Yes- 1 Yes - 1  Yes - 1 Yes - 1 

Comments: None 

   

  

Comments: None Comments: 

None 

 Comments: None  

 

 

A public workshop was also held on July 20, 2022, to gain further information on the proposed regulations on 

business, including small businesses.  There was one person that testified in support of the proposed regulations, 

and no one testified in opposition of the proposed regulations.   

STAFF RECOMMENDATION 

Staff recommends the State Board of Health adopt the proposed regulation amendments to Nevada 

Administrative Code (NAC) 439, “Administration of Public Health”, LCB File No. R037-22.  

PRESENTER 

Leticia Metherell, RN, Health Program Manager III 

Enclosures  
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PROPOSED REGULATION OF  

THE STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

LCB File No. R037-22 

May 6, 2022 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§ 1-14 and 16-40, NRS 4.373, 5.055 and 439.200; § 15, NRS 4.373, 5.055, 
439.150 and 439.200. 

 

A REGULATION relating to prostitution; prescribing the requirements for the certification of a 
program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution; requiring a person or 
governmental entity that operates such a program to obtain the approval of the Division 
of Public and Behavioral Health of the Department of Health and Human Services 
before a program operates a new location and to notify the Division of certain changes; 
requiring the Division to maintain a list of certified programs; prescribing certain fees; 
prescribing certain requirements governing the content and operation of a program; 
prescribing the qualifications and duties of certain staff of a program; prescribing the 
requirements for the approval of a program facilitator and formal training and 
continuing education for program facilitators; requiring the Division to maintain a list 
of approved courses of formal training and continuing education for program 
facilitators that comply with current evidence-based standards; prescribing grounds for 
disciplinary action against a program or program facilitator and procedures for 
imposing such disciplinary action; authorizing the Division to investigate or inspect a 
program under certain circumstances; authorizing any person to submit a complaint 
against a program or program facilitator; and providing other matters properly relating 
thereto. 

 

Legislative Counsel’s Digest: 
 Existing law authorizes a justice of the peace or municipal judge to suspend the sentence 
of a person who is convicted of a misdemeanor that constitutes the solicitation of prostitution for 
not more than 2 years upon a condition that the person actively participate in a program for the 
treatment of persons who solicit prostitution which is certified by the Division of Public and 
Behavioral Health of the Department of Health and Human Services. (NRS 4.373, 5.055) This 
regulation enacts provisions governing the certification and regulation of such programs. 
 Sections 3-8 of this regulation define terms relating to such programs. Section 9 of this 
regulation prescribes the requirements to apply for the certification of a program. Section 10 of 
this regulation requires a person or governmental entity that operates a certified program to apply 
for and obtain the approval of the Division before operating an additional location. Section 11 of 
this regulation authorizes the person or governmental entity that operates a program that is 



 

--2-- 
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R037-22 

licensed, certified or similarly credentialed in another state or nationally recognized to apply for 
licensure by endorsement. Section 12 of this regulation requires a person or governmental entity 
that operates a program to notify the Division of any change to the information submitted as part 
of an application for certification or an application to open an additional location. Section 13 of 
this regulation prescribes the requirements for the renewal of a certificate. Section 14 of this 
regulation requires the Division to maintain and post publicly on the Internet a list of certified 
programs. If a certificate expires or is suspended or revoked, section 14 requires: (1) the 
Division to remove the program from that list; (2) the person or entity that operates the program 
to notify each justice of the peace or municipal judge who has referred offenders to the program 
that the program is no longer certified; and (3) the person or governmental entity that operates 
the program to notify each offender referred to the program of certain duties relating to 
transferring to a different program. Section 15 of this regulation prescribes the application fees 
for the issuance or renewal of a certificate and the opening of an additional location. 
 Section 16 of this regulation prescribes requirements concerning the fee that a program 
charges an offender to participate in the program and accommodations for participants who 
cannot pay that fee. Section 17 of this regulation prescribes the required subject matter of the 
curriculum and instructional materials used by a program. Section 17 also requires the person or 
governmental entity that operates a program to obtain the approval of the Division before 
revising or adopting new curriculum and instructional materials. Section 18 of this regulation 
requires: (1) the person or governmental entity that operates a program to ensure that a program 
facilitator monitors each participant in the program; and (2) a program facilitator to conduct an 
initial evaluation of each participant that he or she monitors. Section 19 of this regulation 
requires a program to be for a duration of 10 weeks and prescribes requirements governing 
certain group counseling provided by a program and the evaluation of a program. Section 20 of 
this regulation requires a person or governmental entity that operates a program to allow a 
participant to attend counseling sessions or other meetings through distance media under certain 
circumstances.  
 Section 23 of this regulation requires a participant in a program to enter into an 
agreement that sets forth the responsibilities of the participant and the program facilitator who 
monitors the participant. Section 21 of this regulation requires a person or governmental entity 
that operates a program to issue: (1) a certificate of completion to a participant who successfully 
completes the program and complies with the agreement; (2) a discharge to a participant who is 
unable to complete the program for certain reasons; and (3) a termination of the treatment of a 
participant in the program if the participant violates the agreement. Section 22 of this regulation 
prescribes requirements governing the confidentiality of records of participants in a program and 
communications by such participants. Section 24 of this regulation authorizes the Division to 
require a program to: (1) use methods and measures prescribed by the Division to evaluate the 
effectiveness of the program; and (2) submit to the Division any information necessary to 
monitor the effectiveness of the program. 
 Section 25 of this regulation prescribes the qualifications and duties of the director of a 
program. Section 26 of this regulation requires a program to have at least two program 
facilitators who are approved by the Division and who meet certain other requirements at all 
times. If a program ceases to employ or retain at least two program facilitators, section 12 
requires the person or governmental entity that operates the program to submit to the Division a 
plan of actions that the person or governmental entity intends to take to employ or retain 
additional program facilitators. 
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 Section 27 of this regulation prescribes the requirements to apply for approval to serve as 
a program facilitator, which include receiving certain formal training. Section 27 additionally 
requires such approval to be renewed biennially. Section 28 of this regulation prescribes the 
requirements to renew such approval, which include receiving certain continuing education. 
Section 29 of this regulation prescribes the authorized topics for a course of formal training or 
continuing education for program facilitators. Section 30 of this regulation prescribes the 
requirements to apply for the approval of the Division to offer a course of formal training or 
continuing education. Section 30 additionally requires the Division to maintain a list of approved 
courses of formal training or continuing education that comply with current evidence-based 
standards. Finally, section 30 authorizes a program facilitator to apply to the Division to receive 
credit for a course of formal training or continuing education that has not been approved.  
 Section 31 of this regulation prescribes the grounds for disciplinary action against a 
program facilitator and the types of disciplinary action that the Division may impose against a 
program facilitator. Section 32 of this regulation authorizes the Division to investigate a program 
facilitator to determine if any of those grounds for disciplinary action exist. Section 33 of this 
regulation prescribes the grounds for imposing disciplinary action against a program and the 
types of disciplinary action that the Division may impose against a program. Sections 32 and 33 
of this regulation authorize the Division to collect from a program facilitator or program the cost 
associated with any disciplinary action imposed against the program facilitator or program, as 
applicable. 
 Existing regulations set forth the administrative process for appealing a decision of the 
Division. (NAC 439.300-439.395) Section 34 of this regulation authorizes any person aggrieved 
by a decision of the Division concerning the imposition of disciplinary action or the denial of 
approval of a course of formal training or continuing education to appeal to the Division using 
that process. 
 If the Division intends to suspend the certificate of a program or the approval of a 
program facilitator, section 35 of this regulation requires the Division to notify the program or 
program facilitator, as applicable, of the conditions that must be satisfied to prevent the 
suspension and the date by which those conditions must be satisfied. Section 35 also prescribes 
the required contents of a written warning issued by the Division to a program or program 
facilitator. Section 36 of this regulation provides that notice from the Division will be deemed 
sufficient if sent to the last address or the electronic mail address provided by the person to 
whom the notice is to be delivered.  
 Section 37 of this regulation authorizes the Division to conduct an on-site inspection of a 
program at any time to determine whether the program is in compliance with the provisions of 
this regulation. Section 38 of this regulation authorizes any person to submit a complaint if the 
person believes that a program or a program facilitator has violated any of those provisions. 
Section 38 requires the Division to investigate each complaint it receives, other than complaints 
regarding the cost of services, and compile a report of such an investigation. Section 39 of this 
regulation requires a program that is located outside this State to reimburse the Division for 
travel costs associated with inspecting or investigating the program or investigating a program 
facilitator employed or retained by the program. Section 39 also requires a program to submit a 
plan of correction for each violation identified in the report of an inspection or investigation. 
Section 39 provides that a plan of correction is confidential until it is approved by the Division. 
Section 40 of this regulation prescribes the conditions for the release of the report of the 
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inspection or investigation of a program. Section 40 provides that proceedings and investigations 
resulting from the submission of a complaint are otherwise confidential. 

  

 
 Section 1.  Chapter 439 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set 

forth as sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation. 

 Sec. 2.  As used in sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation, unless the context 

otherwise requires, the words and terms defined in sections 3 to 8, inclusive, of this regulation 

have the meanings ascribed to them in those sections. 

 Sec. 3.  “Distance media” means video, computer, television or any other means that 

allows a person to communicate with another person from a remote location. 

 Sec. 4.  “Division” means the Division of Public and Behavioral Health of the 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

 Sec. 5.  “Offender” means a person who has been ordered pursuant to NRS 4.373 or 

5.055 to actively participate in a program. 

 Sec. 6.  “Participant” means a person who participates in a program, regardless of 

whether the person is an offender. 

 Sec. 7.  “Program” means a program for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution 

that is certified by the Division pursuant to section 9 or 11 of this regulation. 

 Sec. 8.  “Program facilitator” means a person approved by the Division pursuant to 

section 27 of this regulation to perform the duties set forth in sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this 

regulation. 

 Sec. 9.  1.  Except as otherwise provided in section 11 of this regulation, to obtain the 

certification of a program, the person or governmental entity that operates the program must 

apply to the Division in the form prescribed by the Division and pay the fee required by section 
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15 of this regulation. The application must be signed by the director of the program or his or 

her designee and must include, without limitation: 

 (a) The name, address, telephone number and electronic mail address of the program. 

 (b) The name and address of the person or governmental entity that operates the program 

or, if the program is operated by a corporation, the name of each: 

  (1) Officer or director of the corporation; and 

  (2) Person who owns 10 percent or more of the shares of the corporation. 

 (c) The name of the director of the program and proof that the director meets the 

qualifications prescribed by section 25 of this regulation. 

 (d) The name of each program facilitator employed or retained by the program as an 

independent contractor and proof that each program facilitator has been approved by the 

Division pursuant to section 27 of this regulation. 

 (e) A copy of the curriculum and instructional materials developed pursuant to section 17 

of this regulation for use in the program or proof that the program has permission to use the 

curriculum and instructional materials currently being used by another program which has 

previously been approved by the Division. Such proof: 

  (1) May include, without limitation, a copy of a license, contract or written permission 

authorizing such use; and 

  (2) Must demonstrate that the program operated by the person or governmental entity 

has permission to use the curriculum and instructional materials for the entire period during 

which the program is certified. 



 

--6-- 
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R037-22 

 (f) The business identification number assigned by the Secretary of State pursuant to NRS 

225.082 or evidence that the program is exempt from the requirement to obtain a state 

business license. 

 (g) Proof that the program holds any business license required by the county or city in 

which the program is located. 

 (h) A statement signed by the director of the program or his or her designee attesting that 

the program meets the requirements of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation. 

 (i) Any other information requested by the Division. 

 2.  Not later than 60 days after receiving an application, the Division shall approve or 

deny the application. If the Division determines that an applicant meets the requirements 

prescribed by sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation, the Division must approve the 

application and issue a certificate to the program.  

 3.  If an application to renew a certificate is not received by the Division pursuant to 

section 13 of this regulation on or before the date 2 years after the date on which the 

certificate was issued, the certificate expires 30 days after that date. 

 Sec. 10.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program may apply to the 

Division in the form prescribed by the Division for permission to operate an additional 

location. The application must be accompanied by the fee required by section 15 of this 

regulation and must include, without limitation: 

 (a) The name and certification number of the program; 

 (b) The name of the director of the program; 

 (c) The name of each program facilitator employed or retained by the program; 



 

 (d) An attestation that the program will use the same curriculum and instructional 

materials as used at its existing location;  

 (e) The address of the additional location at which the program proposes to operate; and 

 (f) Any other information requested by the Division. 

 2.  Not later than 60 days after receiving an application to operate an additional location, 

the Division shall approve or deny the application. If the Division determines that the 

applicant will meet the requirements prescribed by sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this 

regulation when operating an additional location, the Division must approve the application. 

 Sec. 11.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program may apply to the 

Division for certification by endorsement if the program is: 

 (a) Licensed, certified or similarly credentialed by a regulatory authority of another state, 

the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands or any territory or 

insular possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States for the treatment of persons 

who solicit prostitution; or 

 (b) Nationally recognized for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution, as 

determined by the Division. 

 2.  An application submitted pursuant to this section must be in the form prescribed by the 

Division and accompanied by the fee required by section 15 of this regulation. If the applicant 

is licensed, certified or similarly credentialed by a regulatory authority in another jurisdiction, 

the application must include, without limitation, proof of such license, certificate or similar 

credential. 

 3.  Not later than 60 days after receiving an application pursuant to this section, the 

Division shall approve or deny the application. If the Division determines that an applicant 
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meets the requirements prescribed by subsection 1, the Division must approve the application 

and issue a certificate by endorsement to the program.  

 4.  A certificate by endorsement expires 2 years and 30 days after the date on which it was 

issued. To renew a certificate by endorsement, the person or governmental entity that operates 

the program must, not later than 2 years after the date on which the certificate was issued, 

apply to the Division in the form prescribed by the Division and pay the fee required by section 

15 of this regulation. The application must include, without limitation, proof that the license, 

certificate or similar credential issued to the applicant by a regulatory body in another 

jurisdiction remains valid. 

 Sec. 12.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall notify the 

Division in the form prescribed by the Division not more than 30 days after any information 

submitted pursuant to section 9, 10 or 11 of this regulation changes. Such changes may 

include, without limitation: 

 (a)  Different ownership of the program; 

 (b) A new name for the program; 

 (c) Relocation of the program; 

 (d) The discontinuance of the program; 

 (e) A different director of the program; 

 (f) A new telephone number or electronic mail address for the program; or 

 (g) Any other change to the information provided about the program. 

 2.  Not later than 10 days after a program no longer has at least two program facilitators 

as required by section 26 of this regulation, the person or governmental entity that operates 
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the program must submit to the Division a written plan of action to employ or retain sufficient 

additional program facilitators to comply with that requirement. 

 Sec. 13.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program may renew a 

certification issued pursuant to section 9 of this regulation by applying to the Division in the 

form prescribed by the Division and paying the fee required by section 15 of this regulation. 

The application must be signed by the director of the program or his or her designee and must 

include, without limitation: 

 (a) An attestation that the program employs a director who meets the requirements set 

forth in section 25 of this regulation; 

 (b) An attestation that the program employs or retains at least two program facilitators who 

meet the requirements set forth in section 26 of this regulation; and 

 (c) Any other information requested by the Division. 

 2.  If the Division determines that an application for renewal submitted pursuant to this 

section is incomplete, the Division must notify the applicant of the additional information 

necessary to complete the application. If the applicant does not provide the additional 

information to the Division within 90 days after receiving such notice, the certificate shall be 

deemed expired. 

 3.  The Division may inspect an applicant for the renewal of a certificate pursuant to 

section 37 of this regulation to determine if the applicant is in compliance with sections 2 to 

40, inclusive, of this regulation. 

 4.  The Division shall renew a certificate upon determining that: 

 (a) The application for renewal is complete; and 

 (b) The applicant is in compliance with sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation. 



 

 5.  If a certificate expires, the person or governmental entity that operates the program 

may reapply for initial certification pursuant to section 9 of this regulation at any time.  

 Sec. 14.  1.  The Division shall: 

 (a) Maintain a list of programs currently certified pursuant to sections 9 and 11 of this 

regulation; and 

 (b) Make the list publicly available by posting the list on an Internet website maintained by 

the Division. 

 2.  If a certificate expires or is suspended or revoked pursuant to section 33 of this 

regulation: 

 (a) The Division must remove the program from the list of programs maintained pursuant 

to subsection 1; and 

 (b) The person or governmental entity that operates the program shall notify: 

  (1) Each justice of the peace or municipal judge who has referred offenders to the 

program of the expiration, suspension or revocation; and 

  (2) Each offender who has been referred to the program that the offender is required to 

request that the justice of the peace or municipal judge, as applicable, overseeing his or her 

case: 

   (I) Reassign the offender to another program; and  

   (II) Determine the number of treatment sessions that the offender completed, if any, 

that the justice of the peace or municipal judge will credit toward the completion of the 

program by the offender. 

 Sec. 15.  The Division shall charge and collect the following fees: 
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 1.  For an initial application for a certificate, other than a certificate by 

endorsement..........................................................................................................................$897 

 2.  For the renewal of a certificate, other than a certificate by endorsement...............449 

 3.  For an initial application for a certificate by endorsement.....................................224 

 4.  For the renewal of a certificate by endorsement......................................................112 

 5.  For an application to operate at an additional location..........................................245 

 Sec. 16.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall ensure that the 

program: 

 1.  Establishes a sliding scale to be used in charging offenders for participation in the 

program that is based upon the ability of the offender to pay for the program.  

 2.  Does not exclude an offender from participating in the program solely because of the 

inability of the offender to pay for the program. 

 Sec. 17.  1.  The curriculum and instructional materials used by a program must be 

developed in accordance with evidence-based practices and must include, without limitation, 

instruction concerning: 

 (a) Male and female gender socialization; 

 (b) The continuum of sexual violence; 

 (c) Pimping and trafficking; 

 (d) Domestic violence; 

 (e) Power and violence, including, without limitation, acknowledgement that prostitution is 

a form of gender-based violence and is not a victimless crime; 

 (f) Vulnerability; 

 (g) Mutuality in relationships; 



 

 (h) Building and maintaining the will to change behavior; 

 (i) The cycle of violent or abusive behavior; 

 (j) Beliefs of persons who solicit prostitution and myths relating to inequality among 

genders; 

 (k) Accountability for engaging in gender-based violence; 

 (l) Pornography and the negative impacts of pornography; 

 (m) Sexual objectification; 

 (n) Personal and cultural attitudes toward the opposite gender; 

 (o) Cultural and societal motivation for gender-based violence, including, without 

limitation, values and beliefs related to gender-based violence; 

 (p) Skills for improving personal relationships; 

 (q) The ability to share power and decision-making equally in a personal relationship; 

 (r) Using a model for personal relationships that: 

  (1) Is based on nonviolence and equality; and 

  (2) Incorporates the concepts of accountability for a person’s own behavior, 

negotiation, fairness and equality concerning economic issues; 

 (s) Toxic and healthy masculinity; and 

 (t) Identifying signs of a relapse in negative behavior and methods of preventing relapse. 

 2.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program may develop curriculum and 

instructional materials or use curriculum and instructional materials currently being used by 

another program. If the person or governmental entity uses curriculum and instructional 

materials currently being used by another program, the person or governmental entity must 

obtain permission to use the curriculum and instructional materials through a licensing 
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agreement, contract or written approval that is valid for the period during which the program 

operated by the person or governmental entity is certified. 

 3.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program must obtain the approval of 

the Division before revising the curriculum and instructional materials or adopting a new 

curriculum and new instructional materials. 

 Sec. 18.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall ensure that a 

program facilitator monitors each participant in the program. The program facilitator shall: 

 1.  Evaluate the participant before the participant participates in any of the group 

counseling sessions required by section 19 of this regulation. The evaluation must include, 

without limitation: 

 (a) A history of the participant engaging in violence, abuse or neglect, including, without 

limitation, solicitation of prostitution, domestic violence, elder abuse, child abuse, sexual 

abuse or any other violence; 

 (b) Observations concerning the mental condition of the participant, if determined 

appropriate by the program facilitator; 

 (c) The medical and psychological history of the participant, including, without limitation, 

any violence, abuse or neglect experienced by the participant as a child, the impact of the 

violence, abuse or neglect, as applicable, on the participant and his or her family and any 

other history determined to be relevant by the program facilitator; 

 (d) A description of any substance use disorder experienced by the participant and the 

effect of that substance use disorder on the participant and his or her family; and 

 (e) Any social or cultural history of the participant that is relevant to his or her solicitation 

of prostitution. 



 

 2.  Prepare a written report of the evaluation and place the report in the file of the 

participant. 

 3.  Measure the progress of the participant in the program, including, without limitation, 

attendance and participation in counseling sessions, completion of assignments and changes 

in behavior and attitude. 

 4.  Periodically assess the needs of the participant and make adjustments in accordance 

with those needs. 

 Sec. 19.  1.  A program must be for a duration of 10 weeks and, except as otherwise 

provided in subsection 6, must require a participant in the program to: 

 (a) Attend one orientation session and participate in the evaluation conducted pursuant to 

section 18 of this regulation;  

 (b) Attend at least eight group counseling sessions each week with a combined total of at 

least 20 hours each week; and 

 (c) During the final week of the program, complete: 

  (1) A written evaluation of the content and presentation of the program; and 

  (2) A self-evaluation or reflection on the program, including, without limitation, a 

description of the knowledge acquired and an evaluation of the performance of the program 

facilitators who facilitated the group sessions in which the participant participated. 

 2.  A group counseling session must be conducted by at least 2 program facilitators and 

must not include more than 16 participants. 

 3.  In addition to the sessions required by subsection 1, a program must include weekly 

follow-up sessions that a participant may choose to attend for ongoing support. 
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 4.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall not allow a participant 

who has unexcused absences from more than two of the group counseling sessions required 

by paragraph (b) of subsection 1 to complete the program. A program facilitator may require a 

participant who has not more than two unexcused absences from group counseling sessions to 

make up those absences by attending the equivalent number of follow-up sessions conducted 

pursuant to subsection 3. 

 5.  The program facilitator who monitors a participant pursuant to section 18 of this 

regulation may, based on the evaluation conducted pursuant to subsection 1 of section 18 of 

this regulation, require the participant to attend individual counseling sessions and determine 

the frequency and duration of such counseling sessions.  

 6.  If a program facilitator determines that a group counseling session is not suitable for a 

participant because of a physical or mental disability or other physical or mental limitation of 

the participant, the program facilitator must refer the participant to an appropriate provider of 

health care or other services. Before making such a determination, the program facilitator 

must attempt to provide a reasonable modification to accommodate the disability or limitation 

of the participant unless the necessary modification would fundamentally alter the program or 

create an undue financial or administrative burden. If an offender receives such a referral, 

the director of the program must notify the justice of the peace or municipal judge overseeing 

the case and advise the participant to notify the justice of the peace or municipal judge of the 

referral. 

 7.  If a participant is under 18 years of age and a program facilitator determines that an 

adult group counseling session is not suitable for the participant, the participant must be 
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allowed to participate in a separate group counseling session that is only for participants who 

are under 18 years of age. 

 8.  The director of a program or his or her designee shall maintain a record of the number 

of participants in each group counseling session conducted during the current calendar year 

and each of the 2 immediately preceding calendar years. 

 9.  As used in this section, “provider of health care or other services” means: 

 (a) A physician or physician assistant who is licensed pursuant to chapter 630 or 633 of 

NRS; 

 (b) An advanced practice registered nurse who has specialized training in psychiatry; or 

 (c) A psychologist, clinical professional counselor or clinical social worker. 

 Sec. 20.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall ensure that a 

participant is allowed to attend a live, interactive counseling session or other meeting through 

distance media if: 

 (a) A program facilitator has authorized the participant to attend the session or meeting 

through distance media; 

 (b) The program has established a means to verify the identity of the person attending a 

counseling session or meeting through distance media as the participant; 

 (c) The distance media used allows the program facilitator overseeing the counseling 

session or meeting to: 

  (1) See the participant through video means for the entire counseling session or 

meeting; and  

  (2) Hear the participant through audio means whenever necessary during the entire 

counseling session or meeting; and 



 

 (d) The program facilitator who oversees the counseling session or meeting verifies the 

identity of the participant using the means described in paragraph (b). 

 2.  A program facilitator who oversees a counseling session or other meeting held through 

distance media shall ensure that: 

 (a) Only persons invited to participate in the session or meeting, including, without 

limitation, the program facilitator and each participant, are present during the session or 

meeting; and 

 (b) Each person who participates in the session or meeting does so from a location at 

which confidentiality may be maintained. Such locations may include, without limitation, a 

room with a closed door. 

 Sec. 21.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall ensure that 

the program: 

 (a) Issues a certificate of completion to a participant who: 

  (1) Successfully completes the program; and 

  (2) Complies with the provisions of the agreement set forth in section 23 of this 

regulation. 

 (b) Issues a discharge to a participant who is unable to complete the program because he 

or she moved from the area of service of the program or was referred to another program. 

 (c) Terminates the treatment of a participant who violates any of the provisions of the 

agreement set forth in section 23 of this regulation. 

 2.  If the program issues a discharge to an offender or terminates the treatment of an 

offender pursuant to subsection 1, the person or governmental entity that operates the 

program shall notify: 
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 (a) The justice of the peace or municipal judge overseeing the case of the discharge or 

termination and provide to the justice of the peace or municipal judge, as applicable, a written 

summary concerning the behavior of the offender in the program and the number of 

counseling sessions the offender successfully completed, if any; and 

 (b) The offender that he or she is required to make a request to the justice of the peace or 

municipal judge overseeing his or her case to be reassigned to another program. 

 3.  If, at the time that a discharge or termination of an offender is considered, the person 

or governmental entity that operates the program in which the offender participated 

determines that the offender has exhibited signs of violent behavior and has resisted 

treatment, the program facilitator that monitored the offender must: 

 (a) Provide to the justice of the peace or municipal judge overseeing the case and, if 

determined necessary by the program facilitator, the parole and probation officer of the 

offender and the prosecuting attorney, a statement of the progress of the offender and a 

recommendation whether the offender should continue to receive treatment; and 

 (b) Request that the justice of the peace or municipal judge overseeing the case require the 

offender to continue his or her participation in the program or refer the offender to another 

program. 

 4.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall: 

 (a) Ensure that any documentation of actions taken pursuant to this section is placed in 

the file of the participant; and 

 (b) Retain all records relating to a participant for at least 7 years after the last date of 

treatment of that participant. 

 Sec. 22.  1.  A person or governmental entity that operates a program shall ensure that: 



 

 (a) A program facilitator or any other staff member of the program does not disclose a 

confidential record, any information contained in such a record or any confidential 

communications made by a participant during the course of treatment or acquired through the 

work of the program facilitator or staff member with the program except: 

  (1) Upon the written consent of the participant to whom the record, information or 

communications pertain; 

  (2) To the extent necessary to report the status of the treatment of an offender to the 

justice of the peace or municipal judge overseeing the case; 

  (3) To the extent necessary to comply with the provisions of section 21 of this 

regulation; 

  (4) Pursuant to an investigation or on-site inspection by the Division; 

  (5) To report evidence of child abuse or neglect pursuant to NRS 432B.220; 

  (6) To report evidence of abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation or abandonment of an 

older person or vulnerable person pursuant to NRS 200.5093; or 

  (7) As otherwise required by law. 

 (b) A program facilitator: 

  (1) Informs each participant of the provisions set forth in paragraph (a); and 

  (2) Before providing any treatment to the participant, obtains written consent from the 

participant providing that a confidential communication made by the participant and a 

confidential record relating to the participant or information contained in such a record may 

be disclosed for any of the purposes set forth in paragraph (a). 
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 2.  As used in this section, “confidential record” includes, without limitation, any record 

indicating the reason for the treatment of a participant or the course and scope of treatment 

provided by a program facilitator. 

 Sec. 23.  1.  When a participant is admitted to a program, the person or governmental 

entity that operates the program must require the participant to enter into an agreement that 

sets forth the responsibilities of the participant and the program facilitator who monitors the 

participant pursuant to section 18 of this regulation. The agreement must require: 

 (a) A participant who is an offender to submit to the program a copy of: 

  (1) The report prepared by a peace officer concerning the solicitation of prostitution by 

the offender; 

  (2) The order of the justice of the peace or municipal judge requiring the offender to 

participate in a program; 

  (3) Any report concerning probation prepared by the parole and probation officer of the 

offender; and 

  (4) If a psychological evaluation of the offender has been performed, the results of the 

psychological evaluation. 

 (b) Each participant to: 

  (1) Refrain from engaging in any form of violence, including, without limitation, 

physical, sexual and psychological violence; 

  (2) Accept responsibility for engaging in solicitation of prostitution, any related 

behavior and any other violent or negative behavior and for changing that behavior; 

  (3) Attend group counseling sessions as required by section 19 of this regulation; 

  (4) Refrain from using sexist or racist language during group counseling sessions; 
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  (5) Pay any fee charged for participating in the program; 

  (6) If the program facilitator indicates in the written report of the evaluation he or she 

prepared pursuant to section 18 of this regulation that the participant suffers from a substance 

use disorder, refrain from using any alcohol or drugs while participating in the program; 

  (7) Openly express feelings and emotions during the group counseling sessions; and 

  (8) Refrain from discussing the identity of or communications made by another 

participant during a group counseling session. 

 2.  An agreement entered into pursuant to subsection 1 must also include: 

 (a) The number of counseling sessions the participant is required to attend to complete the 

program and the number of absences from such counseling sessions that will be allowed, if 

any. 

 (b) Acknowledgment that, pursuant to section 21 of this regulation, the program has the 

right to terminate the treatment of the participant for violating any of the provisions of the 

agreement. 

 3.  An agreement entered into pursuant to this section must be signed by: 

 (a) The participant in the presence of a program facilitator; and 

 (b) The program facilitator who witnessed the signature of the participant pursuant to 

paragraph (a). 

 Sec. 24.  The Division may require a program to: 

 1.  Use methods and measures prescribed by the Division to evaluate the outcomes of 

participants in the program; and 

 2.  Submit to the Division at any time any data or other information necessary to measure 

the effectiveness of the program, including, without limitation, social security numbers of 
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offenders who participate in the program, information concerning outcomes for participants, 

dropout rates, reinstatement rates, treatment methods and input from staff and clients. 

 Sec. 25.  1.  The director of a program must be a program facilitator or a person who: 

 (a) Is at least 18 years of age; 

 (b) Has received a high school diploma or its equivalent; 

 (c) Understands the provisions of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation; 

 (d) Has demonstrated the ability to read, write, speak and understand the English 

language; 

 (e) Has at least 1 year of supervisory or administrative experience in a related field; and 

 (f) Attests that he or she has not been convicted of a felony involving: 

  (1) Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem; 

  (2) Assault or battery with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem; 

  (3) Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest, lewdness or indecent exposure, or 

any other sexually related crime that is punished as a felony; 

  (4) Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent 

conversion or misappropriation of property within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

  (5) Any other felony involving the use or threatened use of force or violence against the 

victim or the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon; or 

  (6) An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in this paragraph 

within the immediately preceding 7 years. 

 2.  For the purposes of this section, a plea or verdict of guilty or guilty but mentally ill or a 

plea of nolo contendere shall be deemed a conviction of an offense. 

 3.  The director of a program shall ensure that: 
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 (a) Each program facilitator who is employed or retained by the program as an 

independent contractor has been approved by the Division pursuant to section 27 of this 

regulation before he or she is allowed to facilitate program services; and 

 (b) The program complies with sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation, including, 

without limitation, by requiring the establishment of policies, procedures and schedules to 

ensure compliance with sections 19 and 20 of this regulation. 

 Sec. 26.  1.  A program must have at least two program facilitators at all times.  

 2.  To become a program facilitator, a person must: 

 (a) Refrain from engaging in violence; 

 (b) Not currently suffer from a substance use disorder or use any illegal drug; and 

 (c) Be approved by the Division pursuant to section 27 of this regulation. 

 3.  The duties of a program facilitator must include, without limitation: 

 (a) Providing treatment to patients of the program with professional skill and competence; 

and 

 (b) When required, making reports of the abuse or neglect of a child pursuant to NRS 

432B.220 and reports of the abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of an older person or 

vulnerable person pursuant to NRS 200.5093. 

 4.  A program facilitator shall not: 

 (a) Enter into a sexual relationship with a participant while the participant is receiving 

treatment from the program for which the program facilitator provides services and for 2 years 

after the termination of such treatment; 

 (b) Enter into a dual relationship with a participant while the participant is receiving 

treatment from the program; 
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 (c) Practice, condone, authorize, facilitate or approve of, in any form, discrimination in 

any matter relating to services provided as a program facilitator that is based on: 

  (1) Race, ethnicity, ancestry, national origin, color, sex, gender identity or expression, 

sexual orientation, age, religion, political belief, diagnosis or mental or physical disability; 

  (2) Social, economic, health or marital status; or 

  (3) Any other preference or physical characteristic, condition or status; or 

 (d) Influence or attempt to influence a participant in any manner that may reasonably be 

anticipated to cause the program administrator to obtain a benefit of an unprofessional nature 

from the participant while the participant is receiving treatment from the program and for 2 

years after the termination of such treatment. 

 5.  As used in this section, “dual relationship” means a relationship between a program 

facilitator and a participant to whom the program facilitator provides services that includes 

another professional, social or business relationship with the participant. 

 Sec. 27.  1.  To obtain the approval of the Division to serve as a program facilitator, a 

person must apply to the Division. The application must include, without limitation: 

 (a) The first, last and, if applicable, middle name of the applicant and any other name that 

has been used by the applicant; 

 (b) The date of birth of the applicant; 

 (c) The social security number of the applicant or, if the applicant does not have a social 

security number, the tax identification number of the applicant; 

 (d) The physical address of the applicant and the mailing address of the applicant, if 

different from the physical address; 

 (e) The telephone number of the applicant; 
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 (f) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a method by which the Division may 

communicate with the applicant other than his or her mailing address and telephone number, 

which may include, without limitation, an electronic mail address; 

 (g) A statement by the applicant acknowledging the mandatory reporting requirements 

concerning the abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation or abandonment of an older person or 

vulnerable person set forth in NRS 200.5093 and the abuse or neglect of a child set forth in 

NRS 432B.220; 

 (h) The name of the program with which the applicant seeks to serve as a program 

facilitator; 

 (i) Proof satisfactory to the Division that the applicant: 

  (1) Meets the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of subsection 2 of section 26 of 

this regulation; 

  (2) Has received a high school diploma or its equivalent or has graduated from a 

program that is currently certified; 

  (3) Has satisfactorily completed at least 60 hours of formal training approved by the 

Division pursuant to section 30 of this regulation or for which the Division has authorized 

credit pursuant to that section concerning at least five of the subjects described in section 29 of 

this regulation and has: 

   (I) Satisfactorily completed within the 2 years immediately preceding the date of the 

application at least 15 hours of formal training approved by the Division pursuant to section 

30 of this regulation or for which the Division has authorized credit pursuant to that section; 

or 



 

--26-- 
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R037-22 

   (II) Received at least 2 years of experience serving as a program facilitator within the 

5 years immediately preceding the date of the application in a program that is licensed, 

certified or similarly credentialed by a regulatory authority of any state, the District of 

Columbia, Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands or any territory or insular possession 

subject to the jurisdiction of the United States for the treatment of persons who solicit 

prostitution or is nationally recognized for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution, as 

determined by the Division;  

 (j) An attestation that the applicant has not been convicted of a felony involving: 

  (1) Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem; 

  (2) Assault or battery with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem; 

  (3) Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest, lewdness or indecent exposure, or 

any other sexually related crime that is punished as a felony; 

  (4) Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent 

conversion or misappropriation of property within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

  (5) Any other felony involving the use or threatened use of force or violence against the 

victim or the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon; or 

  (6) An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in this paragraph 

within the immediately preceding 7 years; and 

 (k) Any other information requested by the Division. 

 2.  For the purposes of this section, a plea or verdict of guilty or guilty but mentally ill or a 

plea of nolo contendere shall be deemed a conviction of an offense. 

 3.  The Division may exempt an applicant from the requirements of paragraph (f) of 

subsection 1 if the applicant attests that the methods set forth in that paragraph are not 



 

--27-- 
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R037-22 

feasible and acknowledges that United States mail is the only manner by which the applicant 

is able to receive documents. 

 4.  Not later than 60 days after receiving an application pursuant to this section, the 

Division shall approve or deny the application. An approval must be renewed not later than 2 

years after the date on which the approval was issued and every 2 years thereafter in the 

manner prescribed by section 28 of this regulation. 

 5.  If any of the information submitted to the Division pursuant to this section changes, an 

applicant or approved program facilitator shall notify the Division of the change in writing 

within 30 days after the change by electronic mail or using another method approved by the 

Division. 

 Sec. 28.  1.  A program facilitator may renew the approval to serve as a program 

facilitator issued pursuant to section 27 of this regulation by applying to the Division in the 

form prescribed by the Division. The application must be signed by the applicant and must 

include, without limitation: 

 (a) An attestation that the applicant has completed at least 30 hours of continuing 

education approved by the Division pursuant to section 30 of this regulation or for which the 

Division has authorized credit pursuant to that section within the period following the 

issuance or the most recent renewal of the approval, as applicable; 

 (b) An attestation that the applicant has not committed any act that constitutes grounds for 

disciplinary action pursuant to section 31 of this regulation or a list of any such acts 

committed by the applicant; and 

 (c) Any other information requested by the Division. 



 

 2.  If the Division does not receive a renewal application on or before the date required by 

section 27 of this regulation, the approval to serve as program facilitator expires on that date. 

 3.  If the Division determines that a renewal application is incomplete, the Division must 

notify the applicant of the additional information necessary to complete the application. If the 

Division does not receive the additional information within 90 days after such notice is 

provided, the approval to serve as program facilitator expires on that date. 

 4.  A program facilitator shall retain each certificate of completion for continuing 

education demonstrating satisfaction of paragraph (a) of subsection 1 for at least 6 years 

immediately following the issuance of the certificate. The Division may audit a program 

facilitator at any time to determine compliance with the continuing education requirements. 

 5.  If the Division determines that an applicant for renewal of approval to serve as a 

program facilitator has not complied with the continuing education requirements set forth in 

paragraph (a) of subsection 1, the Division must notify the applicant of that determination. 

The applicant must provide to the Division proof of completion of such continuing education 

within 45 days after receipt of the notice. If the applicant fails to submit such proof within that 

time, the approval expires on that date. 

 6.  The Division shall renew the approval to serve as program facilitator upon determining 

that the applicant has submitted: 

 (a) A completed application and the attestation required by paragraph (a) of subsection 1; 

and 

 (b) The attestation required by paragraph (b) of subsection 1 or the Division has 

determined that any act committed by the applicant that constitutes grounds for disciplinary 

action pursuant to section 31 of this regulation was not substantially related to the duties of 
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the applicant as a program facilitator or that the applicant has made sufficient restitution for 

any such act. 

 7.  If approval to serve as a program facilitator expires, the person may reapply for 

approval at any time in the manner set forth in section 27 of this regulation.  

 Sec. 29.  Formal training or continuing education for program facilitators may concern 

the following subjects: 

 1.  The cycle of violent or abusive behavior; 

 2.  Cultural values, beliefs and myths relating to inequality among genders; 

 3.  Gender-based violence and the negative impacts of gender-based violence; 

 4.  Pornography and its negative impacts; 

 5.  Sexual objectification; 

 6.  Personal and cultural attitudes toward the opposite gender; 

 7.  Skills for improving personal relationships; 

 8.  Healthy relationships, including, without limitation, mutuality in relationships; 

 9.  The manner in which to establish a model for personal relationships that: 

 (a) Is based on nonviolence and equality; and 

 (b) Incorporates the concepts of accountability for a person’s own behavior, negotiation, 

fairness and equality concerning economic issues; 

 10.  Toxic and healthy masculinity; 

 11.  Identifying signs of a relapse in negative behavior and methods of preventing relapse; 

 12.  Confidentiality; 

 13.  Ethics; 

 14.  Gender roles, socialization and the function of violence; 
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 15.  Cultural competency and diversity; 

 16.  The operation of a program; 

 17.  Facilitation of group therapy; 

 18.  Facilitation of individual therapy; 

 19.  Motivational interviewing; 

 20.  Procedures for intake and assessment of participants; 

 21.  Use of questions for self-evaluation; 

 22.  Intimacy skills; 

 23.  Male and female gender socialization; 

 24.  The continuum of sexual violence; 

 25.  Pimping and trafficking; 

 26.  Any combination of subjects listed in subsections 1 to 25, inclusive; and 

 27.  Any other subject deemed appropriate by the Division. 

 Sec. 30.  1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, to obtain the approval of the 

Division to offer a course of formal training or continuing education for program facilitators, 

a person must apply to the Division in the form prescribed by the Division. The application 

must include, without limitation: 

 (a) The name and address of the instructor of the course; 

 (b) The resume of the instructor; 

 (c) The syllabus for the course; 

 (d) A description of the information to be provided to persons enrolled in the course; 

 (e) Whether the course will be provided in person, through distance media or both; 
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 (f) A copy of a written evaluation of the content and presentation of the course to be 

completed by persons enrolled in the course; 

 (g) A statement describing the purpose of the course and the requirements for attendance; 

and 

 (h) Any other information requested by the Division. 

 2.  Information submitted pursuant to paragraph (d) of subsection 1 shall be deemed 

proprietary information and the Division shall not release that information without the 

consent of the applicant. 

 3.  The Division must approve an application submitted pursuant to subsection 1 if it 

determines that: 

 (a) The application is complete; 

 (b) The instructor of the course is properly qualified, as demonstrated by his or her 

educational, professional and teaching experience; and 

 (c) The instructional materials for the course and the written evaluation to be completed by 

persons enrolled in the course are appropriate. 

 4.  The Division may approve a course of formal training or continuing education for 

program facilitators without the submission of an application pursuant to this section if the 

course: 

 (a) Relates to a subject described in section 29 of this regulation; and 

 (b) Is provided by a nationally recognized person or governmental entity, as determined by 

the Division, a governmental entity or a college or university accredited in any state, the 

District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands or any territory or insular 

possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States. 
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 5.  The Division shall: 

 (a) Notify an applicant for approval of a course of formal training or continuing education 

for program facilitators pursuant to subsection 1 of its decision concerning the application not 

later than 60 days after receiving the application; and 

 (b) Maintain a list of courses approved pursuant to this section that conform to current 

evidence-based standards. The Division may remove a course from that list if it determines 

that the course no longer conforms to current evidence-based standards. The approval of a 

course, including, without limitation, a course that is removed from the list of approved 

courses, does not expire.  

 6.  Not later than 15 days after making a determination concerning an application 

submitted pursuant to subsection 1, the Division shall notify the applicant of the decision. If 

the Division: 

 (a) Approves a course, the notice must set forth the number of hours of formal training or 

continuing education for which the course is approved. 

 (b) Denies approval of a course, the notice must set forth the reasons for the denial. 

 7.  A program facilitator or applicant for approval as a program facilitator who wishes to 

receive credit for a course of formal training or continuing education that has not been 

approved by the Division pursuant to this section must submit to the Division an application 

for such credit. The application must be in the form prescribed by the Division and must 

include, without limitation, the information prescribed by subsection 1 for an application for 

approval of the course or a request that the Division evaluate the course pursuant to 

subsection 4. Not later than 60 days after receiving an application pursuant to this subsection, 

the Division shall notify the program facilitator of its decision concerning the application. 
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 Sec. 31.  1.  The Division may deny, refuse to renew, revoke or suspend approval to serve 

as a program facilitator, place a program facilitator on probation with specified conditions for 

a specified period or issue a written warning upon determining that a program facilitator: 

 (a) Has engaged in fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure approval to serve 

as a program facilitator; 

 (b) Has been convicted of any offense which, in the determination of the Division, 

demonstrates unfitness to serve as a program facilitator or otherwise relates to the 

qualifications, functions or duties of the program facilitator; 

 (c) Uses alcohol, a controlled substance or a dangerous drug, as defined in chapter 454 of 

NRS, to an extent or in a manner that may be dangerous or injurious to any other person or 

may impair the ability of the program facilitator to serve in that capacity; 

 (d) Has engaged in unprofessional conduct, which includes, without limitation: 

  (1) Allowing a different person to use the approval to serve as a program facilitator or 

using the approval of another person to serve as a program facilitator; or 

  (2) Physical, verbal or psychological abuse of any participant in a program; 

 (e) Has willfully or repeatedly violated any provision of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this 

regulation; 

 (f) Has aided or abetted any person to violate any provision of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of 

this regulation; 

 (g) Has been disciplined in another state in connection with serving as a program 

facilitator or has committed an act in another state which would constitute grounds for 

disciplinary action pursuant to this section; 
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 (h) Has engaged in conduct that is likely to deceive, defraud or endanger a participant in a 

program or the general public; 

 (i) Has engaged in an unethical practice in the treatment of persons who solicit 

prostitution, including, without limitation, any practice prohibited by subsection 4 of section 

26 of this regulation; or 

 (j) Has failed to comply with the requirements of subsection 5 of section 27 of this 

regulation. 

 2.  For the purposes of this section, a plea or verdict of guilty or guilty but mentally ill or a 

plea of nolo contendere shall be deemed a conviction of an offense. The Division may take 

disciplinary action pending the appeal of a conviction.  

 3.  A program facilitator whose approval to serve as a program facilitator has been 

revoked or suspended pursuant to this section or whose application to renew approval has 

been denied shall not work for a program pending the result of an appeal filed pursuant to 

section 34 of this regulation. 

 Sec. 32.  1.  The Division may conduct any investigation necessary to carry out the 

provisions of section 31 of this regulation, including, without limitation, an investigation to 

determine whether a program facilitator has committed an act that constitutes a ground for 

disciplinary action as set forth in that section. 

 2.  A program facilitator who is investigated pursuant to this section shall participate in 

any interview and provide any documentation or information requested by the Division as part 

of the investigation.  

 3.  The Division may assess against and collect from a program facilitator against whom 

disciplinary action is imposed pursuant to section 31 of this regulation any cost incurred by 
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the Division relating to the imposition of the disciplinary action, which may include, without 

limitation, the cost of investigators and stenographers, attorney’s fees and costs of a hearing 

conducted pursuant to section 34 of this regulation. 

 Sec. 33.  1.  The Division may refuse to issue or renew a certificate for a program, 

revoke or suspend a certificate, or place a program on probation with specified conditions for 

a specified period or issue a written warning if: 

 (a) The person or governmental entity that operates the program has failed to comply with 

any provision of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation; 

 (b) The person or governmental entity that operates the program obtained a certificate or 

any other license by fraudulent misrepresentation; 

 (c) A program facilitator or other staff member of the program commits gross malpractice 

related to the program; 

 (d) A program facilitator or other staff member of the program, while at a facility of the 

program or while performing any work for the program, has been intoxicated or used or 

possessed a controlled substance without a prescription; 

 (e) A program facilitator or other staff member of the program has engaged in violent 

behavior or been convicted of a crime which demonstrates unfitness to be a program 

facilitator or other staff member of the program; 

 (f) The person or governmental entity that operates the program or a program facilitator or 

other staff member of the program has engaged in any unethical practice in the treatment of 

persons who solicit prostitution; 

 (g) The person or governmental entity that operates the program fails to notify the Division 

of a change in the program as required by section 12 of this regulation; 
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 (h) The person or governmental entity that operates the program or a program facilitator 

or other staff member of the program fails to comply with a stipulation, agreement, order, 

advisory opinion or declaratory order issued by the Division; 

 (i) The program provides treatment to an offender after its certificate has expired; or 

 (j) The person or governmental entity that operates the program or a program facilitator or 

other staff member of the program has engaged in any other unjust practice, method or 

treatment which the Division determines warrants such an action. 

 2.  For the purposes of this section, a plea or verdict of guilty or guilty but mentally ill or a 

plea of nolo contendere shall be deemed a conviction of an offense. The Division may take 

disciplinary action pending the appeal of a conviction.  

 3.  The Division may assess against and collect from a program against whom disciplinary 

action is imposed any costs incurred by the Division relating to the imposition of the 

disciplinary action, including, without limitation, the cost for investigators and stenographers, 

attorney’s fees and the cost of a hearing conducted pursuant to section 34 of this regulation. 

 Sec. 34.  1.  An aggrieved person may appeal a decision of the Division concerning: 

 (a) Any disciplinary action taken against a program facilitator pursuant to section 31 of 

this regulation or a program pursuant to section 33 of this regulation; or 

 (b) The denial of approval of a course of formal training or continuing education for 

program facilitators pursuant to section 30 of this regulation. 

 2.  An appeal pursuant to this section must be conducted in accordance with NAC 439.300 

to 439.395, inclusive. 

 Sec. 35.  1.  If the Division intends to suspend approval of a person to serve as a 

program facilitator pursuant to section 31 of this regulation or the certificate of a program 
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pursuant to section 33 of this regulation, the Division must notify the program facilitator or 

program, as applicable, of: 

 (a) The actions that must be taken to prevent the suspension; and 

 (b) The date by which those actions must be completed. 

 2.  A written warning issued pursuant to section 31 or 33 of this regulation must include, 

without limitation: 

 (a) The specific reason for the warning; 

 (b) A citation to the statute or regulation that the Division determined has been violated; 

and 

 (c) A statement of any action that the Division has determined to be a violation. 

 Sec. 36.  Any notice that is required to be provided to a person pursuant to sections 2 to 

40, inclusive, of this regulation, chapter 233B of NRS or NAC 439.300 to 439.395, inclusive, 

shall be deemed sufficient if the notice is sent to the last address or the electronic mail address 

provided to the Division by the person to whom the notice is required to be delivered. 

 Sec. 37.  1.  The Division may conduct an on-site inspection of a program at any time to 

determine whether the person or governmental entity that operates the program is in 

compliance with the provisions of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation. 

 2.  Upon completion of an inspection, the Division shall: 

 (a) Compile a report of the inspection, which must include, without limitation, a 

description of each violation discovered during the inspection or a statement that no violation 

was discovered during the inspection; and 

 (b) Make the report available to the program that is the subject of the report. 
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 Sec. 38.  1.  Any person may submit a complaint to the Division alleging that a program 

or program facilitator has violated any provision of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this 

regulation. 

 2.  The Division shall not consider a complaint concerning the cost of services provided by 

a program. 

 3.  Upon the receipt of a complaint pursuant to subsection 1, the Division shall provide 

written notice of receipt of the complaint to the person who filed the complaint.  

 4.  Not later than 45 days after receiving a valid complaint concerning a program or 

program facilitator pursuant to subsection 1, the Division shall initiate an investigation of the 

program or program facilitator, as applicable. The Division may also investigate a program or 

program facilitator if it determines that a program or program facilitator, as applicable, has 

likely committed an action described in subsection 1, regardless of whether a complaint is 

submitted. 

 5.  An investigation conducted pursuant to subsection 4 may include, without limitation: 

 (a) Requesting additional information or documentation from the complainant or the 

program or program facilitator who is the subject of the investigation or from any other 

person involved in the investigation; and 

 (b) Visiting any site at which the program operates or the program facilitator serves, as 

applicable, to interview staff and clients, review records and make observations. 

 6.  An investigation conducted pursuant to this section may include any matter that 

appears to constitute a violation of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this regulation, regardless of 

whether the matter is included in the complaint. 

 7.  Not later than 10 business days after completing an investigation, the Division shall: 
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 (a) Compile a report of the investigation, which must include, without limitation, a 

description of each violation discovered during the inspection or a statement that no violation 

was discovered during the investigation; and 

 (b) Make the report available to the program or program facilitator, as applicable, that is 

the subject of the report. 

 8.  The dismissal of a complaint must not be construed as preventing or limiting any 

subsequent investigation or other action by the Division. 

 Sec. 39.  1.  If an employee of the Division travels to investigate a program facilitator for 

a program that is not located in this State pursuant to section 32 of this regulation, inspect 

such a program pursuant to section 37 of this regulation or investigate such a program 

pursuant to section 38 of this regulation, the person or governmental entity that operates the 

program must reimburse the Division for the per diem and travel expenses provided for state 

officers and employees generally for the period of the investigation or inspection, as 

applicable. 

 2.  If a report compiled as the result of an inspection conducted pursuant to section 37 of 

this regulation or the investigation of a complaint pursuant to section 38 of this regulation 

indicates that a program has violated any provision of sections 2 to 40, inclusive, of this 

regulation, the program shall, not later than 10 days after the report is made available to the 

program, submit to the Division a plan of correction for each violation. The plan of correction 

must include specific actions that will be taken to correct the violation, the date by which such 

actions will be taken and the name and title of the employee or independent contractor of the 

program who is responsible for ensuring that the plan is carried out. Failure to submit a plan 
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of correction in a timely manner constitutes a separate violation for which the Division may 

impose additional disciplinary action. 

 3.  If the Division determines that a plan of correction is: 

 (a) Acceptable, the Division must notify the program of its determination; or 

 (b) Not acceptable, the Division may require the program to: 

  (1) Submit a revised plan of correction; or 

  (2) Comply with a plan of correction prescribed by the Division. 

 4.  A plan of correction submitted to the Division pursuant to this section is confidential 

until the Division approves the plan.  

 Sec. 40.  1.  Except as otherwise provided in this section and section 39 of this 

regulation, all proceedings and investigations resulting from the submission of a complaint 

pursuant to section 38 of this regulation are confidential. 

 2.  The Division may, upon the request of any person, release a report of an inspection 

conducted pursuant to section 37 of this regulation or the investigation of a complaint 

pursuant to section 38 of this regulation after the earlier of: 

 (a) Fourteen days immediately following the date on which the report is made available to 

the program or program facilitator, as applicable, that is the subject of the report; or  

 (b) The date on which a plan of correction is approved pursuant to section 39 of this 

regulation. 

 3.  If the Division releases a report pursuant to subsection 2, the Division must redact: 

 (a) The name and any personally identifying information of a person; and 

 (b) Any other information declared by law to be confidential. 
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SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT  
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (NAC) 439 

The Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) has determined that the proposed 
amendment will not have a direct financial impact on existing business because this is a new 
treatment program type with no currently certified businesses.  This may provide a new business 
opportunity for anyone interested in opening a program of treatment for persons who solicit 
prostitution but there will be a fiscal impact for those applying in the form of applications fees.  
The fees are every two years and it is not expected that the fee amount would prevent the formation, 
operation or expansion of a small business in Nevada.  
 

 

 

 

 

A small business is defined in Nevada Revised Statutes NRS 233B as a "business conducted for 
profit which employs fewer than 150 full-time or part-time employees."   

This small business impact statement is made pursuant to NRS 233B.0608 (3) and complies with 
the requirements of NRS 233B.0609.  As required by NRS 233B.0608(3), this statement 
identifies the methods used by the agency in determining the impact of the proposed regulation 
on a small business in sections 1, 2, 3, and 4 below and provides the reasons for the conclusions 
of the agency in section 8 below followed by the certification by the person responsible for the 
agency. 

Background 

NRS 4.373 (3) allows the justice of the peace to suspend the sentence for not more than 2 years 
upon the condition that the person actively participates in a program for the treatment of persons 
who solicit prostitution which is certified by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health.   NRS 
439.200 gives the State Board of Health authority to adopt, amend and enforce reasonable 
regulations consistent with law to protect and promote the public health generally.  NRS 439.150 
authorizes the State Board of Health to set reasonable fees for the licensing, registering, 
certifying, inspecting or granting permits for any facility, establishment or service regulated by 
the Division.  These proposed regulations establish the certification and regulation requirements 
for programs of treatment for persons who solicit prostitution.    

The proposed regulations establish the certification and regulatory requirements for a program 
for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution including: 

• Certification and renewal requirements 
• Criteria for attendance of counseling sessions via distance media 
• Required curriculum and instructional material requirements  
• Program structure  
• Certification and associated fees.  Renewal fees are based on a two-year renewal cycle. 
• Requires programs to offer a payment sliding scale 
• Requirements for the completion and termination of a course 
• Program record retention schedule 
• Confidentiality requirements 
• Offender agreement requirements 
• Provisions relating to formal training and continuing education 
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• Program facilitator requirements  
• Program director requirements 
• Disciplinary action and appeal rights 
• Inspection and complaint investigation requirements  

 
There were changes made to the proposed regulations in order to further reduce the financial 
burden on programs for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution.  For further details on 
these changes please refer to number 4.  In addition, other changes include: 
1) Removing the authority for the Division to waive certain requirements. 
2) Allowing for use of a tax identification number if an applicant does not have a social security 
number.   
 
1) A description of the manner in which comment was solicited from affected small 

businesses, a summary of their response and an explanation of the manner in which other 
interested persons may obtain a copy of the summary. 

Pursuant to NRS 233B.0608 (2)(a), the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) has 
requested input from small businesses that may be affected by the proposed regulations.  As this 
is a new treatment program type there are currently no businesses certified as a program for the 
treatment of persons who solicit prostitution who would be directly impacted by these proposed 
regulations; therefore, the proposed regulations were sent to certified domestic violence 
treatment program providers as this may be a business type that would be interested in opening 
such a business.  In addition, the request for input from small businesses was provided to 
additional individuals in which contact information was provided to the Division who may have 
an interest in this type of business.  
 
Notice was sent to all certified domestic violence treatment program providers, certified at the 
time of the notice distribution, and individuals for which contact information was provided that 
may have an interest in programs for the treatment of persons who solicit prostitution by January 
24, 2020, requesting that all interested individuals complete the small business impact 
questionnaire.  An email notice with a link to the small business impact questionnaire and 
proposed regulations was provided to those with an email address. The proposed regulations 
were also posted on DPBH’s website. The questions on the questionnaire were: 

1) How many employees are currently employed by your business? 
2) Will a specific regulation have an adverse economic effect upon your business? 
3) Will the regulation(s) have any beneficial effect upon your business? 
4) Do you anticipate any indirect adverse effects upon your business? 
5) Do you anticipate any indirect beneficial effects upon your business? 

 
Summary of Response 

  

Summary of Comments Received  
(1 response was received out of 32 small business impact questionnaires distributed) 
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Will a specific 
regulation have 
an adverse 
economic effect 
upon your 
business? 
Yes- 1 

Comments: None 

Will the regulation 
(s) have any 
beneficial effect 
upon your 
business? 

Y es - 1 

Comments: None 

Do you 
anticipate any 
indirect adverse 
effects upon 
your business? 

Yes - 1 

Comments: 
None 

Do you anticipate any indirect
beneficial effects upon your 
business? 

Yes - 1 

  Comments: None 

 
Any other persons interested in obtaining a copy of the summary may e-mail, call, or mail in a 
request to Leticia Metherell, RN, CPM, HPM III at the Division of Public and Behavioral Health 
at: 

 
Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance 
727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701 
Leticia Metherell 

Phone:  775-684-1045 
Email: lmetherell@health.nv.gov 

 
2) Describe the manner in which the analysis was conducted.   
An analysis of industry input collected was conducted by a health program manager.  The analysis 
involved analyzing feedback obtained from the small business impact questionnaire and review of 
statutes to determine how the Division could implement a comprehensive program of treatment for 
persons who solicit prostitution while at the same time not being overly burdensome.  Please see number 
4 for the methods the agency considered to reduce the impact of the proposed regulations on small 
businesses. This information was then used to complete this small business impact statement 
including the conclusion on the impact of the proposed regulation on a small business found in 
number 8.   
3) The estimated economic effect of the proposed regulation on the small business which it 

is to regulate including, without limitation both adverse and beneficial effects and both 
direct and indirect effects. 

Direct Beneficial Effects:  This new certification type will open a new business opportunity to 
those interested in operating a program of treatment for persons who solicit prostitution.   
 
Indirect Beneficial Effects: A new business opportunity may lead to new or additional income for 
an individual operating this new business type.     
 
Direct Adverse Effects: The associated certification fees may cause a negative financial impact.  

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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Indirect Adverse Effects: No indirect adverse effects are anticipated.  

4) Provide a description of the methods that the agency considered to reduce the impact of 
the proposed regulation on small businesses and a statement regarding whether the 
agency actually used any of those methods. 

The Division of Public and Behavioral Health has identified and used methods to reduce the 
impact of the proposed regulations on small businesses including distribution of the small 
business impact questionnaire to certified programs for the treatment of domestic violence, an 
industry that may be interested in also providing a program of treatment for persons who solicit 
prostitution.  Only one response was received from the small business impact questionnaire which 
indicated there would be both beneficial and adverse effects on their business but did not provide any 
comments elaborating on the reasons for the impact.  The Division did attempt to reduce the financial 
impact on small businesses by providing options on how individuals can attend counseling sessions, 
including via distance media, which may help programs in rural areas obtain clients if this is offered.     

The proposed regulations were modified after feedback was received to reduce the burden on small 
businesses including clarifying that those exempt from the requirement to obtain a state business 
license are not required to do so, removing the requirement that a program shall ensure that at least 
5 percent of offenders accepted by the program are persons who do not have the ability to pay the 
fee for the program, and providing programs flexibility in the mechanism to ensure participants 
attending counseling sessions through distance media are the participants who are supposed to be 
attending the counseling session. 
A public workshop will also be held allowing for further input by stakeholders regarding the 
proposed regulations and their impact. These comments will be taken into consideration for 
possible further revisions to the regulations to reduce the economic impact on programs.   

5) The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed regulation. 
The estimated cost to the agency for the enforcement of the proposed regulations is the amount of 
fees collected pursuant to number 6.  This will depend on the number and type of applications 
received, for example, if one initial application is received the $897 would cover two years of 
licensing and regulating this facility, with an additional $449 every two years to maintain these 
services, for a total cost of $1,346 to regulate and license one program over a four-year period.   
6)  If the proposed regulation provides a new fee or increases an existing fee, the total 
annual amount DPBH expects to collect and the manner in which the money will be used.  
The total annual amount DPBH expects to collect is unknown because it is based on the number 
and type of applications received.  For example, if no applications were received, DPBH would 
collect nothing.  If one initial application was received, DPBH would collect $897 but if 10 
initial applications were received, it would receive $8,970.  It would also depend on the length of 
time each program remains certified, because the longer a program remains certified, the more 
fees DPBH would collect. DPBH will used the money to license and regulate these programs.  

7) An explanation of why any duplicative or more stringent provisions than federal, state 
or local standards regulating the same activity are necessary. 
There are no other state or federal regulations addressing the same activity.   
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8) Provide a summary of the reasons for the conclusions of the agency regarding the impact 
of a regulation on small businesses.   
 

 

 

The reasons for the Division’s conclusion on the impact of the proposed regulations on small 
businesses is based on feedback received from the industry and its analysis as outlined in number 
two.   The proposed regulations do establish fees to be collected; therefore, there will be a 
financial impact on small business who apply for and operate a program for the treatment of 
persons who solicit prostitution.  
Certification by Person Responsible for the Agency 

I, Lisa Sherych, Administrator of the Division of Public and Behavioral Health certify to the best 
of my knowledge or belief, a concerted effort was made to determine the impact of the proposed 
regulation on small businesses and the information contained in this statement was prepared 
properly and is accurate.   

Signature____________________________ Date: ___05/25/2022_____________________ 
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC WORKSHOP 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Division of Public and Behavioral Health will hold a public workshop to consider 

amendments to Nevada Administrative Code (NAC), Chapter 439.  

The workshop will be conducted virtually and by phone beginning at 9 a.m. on July 20, 2022, via the following: 

• Click here to join the meeting virtually via Microsoft Teams 

• Call 775-321-6111, phone conference ID: 318 895 008# (audio only, no video) 

The workshop will be conducted in accordance with NRS 241.020, Nevada’s Open Meeting Law. 

AGENDA 

1. Introduction of workshop process 

2. Public comment on proposed amendments to Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 439. 

3. Public Comment 

The proposed changes will revise Chapter 439 of the Nevada Administrative Code and are being proposed in accordance 

with Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 4.373, 5.055, 439.150 and 439.200. 

The proposed regulations provide provisions for the following: 

Establishes the certification and regulatory requirements for a program for the treatment of persons who solicit 

prostitution including:  

• Certification and renewal requirements 

• Criteria for attendance of counseling sessions via distance media  

• Required curriculum and instructional material requirements  

• Program structure  

• Certification and associated fees. Renewal fees are based on a two-year renewal cycle.  

• Requires programs to offer a payment sliding scale  

• Requirements for the completion and termination of a course  

• Program record retention schedule  

• Confidentiality requirements  

• Offender agreement requirements  

• Provisions relating to formal training and continuing education  

• Program facilitator requirements  

• Program director requirements  

• Disciplinary action and appeal rights  

• Inspection and complaint investigation requirements 

 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3af5b92df8a57b41fb9f672f4359b63cd3%40thread.tacv2/1653608073494?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22e4a340e6-b89e-4e68-8eaa-1544d2703980%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%226de2d4c7-5f19-476a-bad7-b407d5559455%22%7d
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Members of the public may make oral comments at this meeting.  Persons wishing to submit written testimony or 

documentary evidence may submit the material to Leticia Metherell, Health Program Manager, via fax, email or by mail 

at the following address: 

Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701 

775-684-1073 (fax) 

lmetherell@health.nv.gov (e-mail) 

Members of the public who require special accommodations or assistance at the workshop are required to notify Leticia 

Metherell in writing to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, via fax, email or by mail using the information 

provided above, or by calling 775-684-1045 at least five (5) working days prior to the date of the public workshop. 

You may contact Leticia Metherell by calling 775-684-1045 for further information on the proposed regulations or how to 

obtain copies of the supporting documents.  

A copy of the notice and the proposed regulations are on file for inspection and/or may be copied at the following 

locations during normal business hours: 

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 4220 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 100, Bldg. A 

Carson City, NV  Las Vegas, NV  

Nevada State Library and Archives 

100 Stewart Street 

Carson City, NV 

A copy of the regulations and small-business impact statement can be found on the Division of Public and Behavioral 

Health’s web page: 

https://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/  

 

 

A copy of the public workshop notice can also be found at Nevada Legislature’s web page:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/    

A copy of this notice has been posted at the following locations: 

1. Division of Public and Behavioral Health, 4150 Technology Way, First Floor Lobby, Carson City 

2. Nevada State Library and Archives, 100 Stewart Street, Carson City 

3. Legislative Building, 401 S. Carson Street, Carson City 

4. Southern Nevada Health District, 280 S Decatur Blvd, Las Vegas 

5. Washoe County District Health Department, 9th St. and Wells Ave., Reno 

Copies may be obtained in person, by mail, or by calling the Division of Public and Behavioral Health at (775) 684-1030 

in Carson City or (702) 486-6515 in Las Vegas.   

Per NRS 233B.064(2), upon adoption of any regulations, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested person, either 

prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise statement of the principal reasons for and against its 

adoption, and incorporate therein its reason for overruling the consideration urged against its adoption. 

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
https://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/
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