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NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION 

Notice of Hearing for the Amendment of Regulation of the Board of Health,  

LCB File No. R093-22 relating to Peer Recovery Support Services 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the State Board of Health will hold a public hearing to consider 

amendments to Chapter 433 of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) (LCB File No. R093-22). This public 

hearing is to be held in conjunction with the State Board of Health meeting on December 2, 2022, at 9:00 AM at 

the following virtual and physical locations.    

Virtual Meeting Locations:  

• Click here to join the meeting; or 

• Call in (audio only): 775-321-6111 (Phone Conference ID: 153 453 179#) 

Physical Meeting Locations: 

• Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) 

Red Rock Trail Rooms A and B 

280 S. Decatur Boulevard 

Las Vegas, Nevada 89107 

 

  

 

 

• Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) 

Hearing Room No. 303, 3rd Floor 

4150 Technology Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89706 

1.  The need for and the purpose of the proposed regulation or amendment. 

The proposed changes will revise Chapter 433 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) and 

are being proposed in accordance with the following authority: §§ 1-5, NRS 433.324, 433.631 and 433.639. The 

proposed regulations are needed in order to come into compliance and/or align regulations with NRS 433.631 

and NRS 433.639.  NRS 433.631 allows the Division to impose upon an adult who violates applicable sections 

of NRS 433.631, a civil penalty in an amount prescribed by regulation of the Board. 

NRS 433.639 requires the Division to adopt regulations to establish civil penalties to be imposed against any 

person or entity that fails to comply with the requirements of applicable sections of NRS 433.639 and allows the 

Division, in consultation with each agency which provides child welfare services, to establish by regulation a 

process by which it may review evidence upon request to determine whether an employee or independent 

contractor described in the statutes who has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, had a substantiated report 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_M2UwZmYwOGQtOWFhYy00ZGI1LTk2OTEtZWIyMDE0MDc2NDc1%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22e4a340e6-b89e-4e68-8eaa-1544d2703980%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22455656b7-d121-4709-ba81-3f70d51b1100%22%7d
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of child abuse or neglect or a violation of NRS 201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366 made against him or her 

to continue to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support services and have regular and 

substantial contact with minors despite the report.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The proposed changes to Chapter 433 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) include the 

following: 

Existing law prohibits a person from providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery support services 

for compensation as a regular part of his or her job duties or holding himself or herself out as authorized to 

provide or supervise the provision of such peer recovery support services unless he or she holds an appropriate 

certificate issued by the Nevada Certification Board or its successor organization. (NRS 433.631) Unless 

specifically authorized by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health of the Department of Health and 

Human Services, existing law also prohibits a person who has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, had a 

substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or certain related violations from serving as an employee or 

independent contractor who provides or supervises the provision of peer recovery support services in a position 

where the person has regular and substantial contact with minors. (NRS 433.639)  Section 2 prescribes a 

process for the investigation of a complaint alleging a violation of those requirements. It also authorizes the 

Division to disclose any information collected as part of such an investigation to the Nevada Certification Board 

or its successor organization.  

Section 3 prescribes the civil penalties that the Division may impose for such a violation. It also authorizes a 

person aggrieved by the imposition of such a civil penalty to file an appeal with the Division.  

Section 4 provides that: (1) a complaint and any documents and information considered by the Division when 

determining whether to impose a civil penalty are public records; and (2) all other documents and information 

relating to an investigation conducted pursuant to section 2 are confidential.  

Existing law authorizes the Division to establish by regulation a process by which it may review evidence upon 

request to determine whether an employee or independent contractor who has, within the immediately 

preceding 5 years, had a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or certain related violations made against 

him or her may continue to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support services and have 

regular and substantial contact with minors despite the report. (NRS 433.639) Section 5 of this regulation 

establishes such a process. 

2. A statement explaining how to obtain the approved or revised text of the proposed regulation. 

Any persons interested in obtaining a copy of the approved or revised text of the proposed regulations may e-

mail, call, or mail in a request to Leticia Metherell, RN, CPM, HPM III at the Division of Public and Behavioral 

Health at:  

  

Division of Public and Behavioral Health  

Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance  

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E  

Carson City, NV 89701  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec540
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec560
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-392.html#NRS392Sec4633
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-394.html#NRS394Sec366
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Leticia Metherell  

Phone:  775-684-1045  

Email: lmetherell@health.nv.gov 
 

 

 

3.  The estimated economic effect of the regulation on the business which it is to regulate and on the 

public. 

Anticipated effects of Chapter 433 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) on the 

businesses which it regulates:  

A. Adverse effects:  The overall adverse financial effects are anticipated to be none to minimal for most small 

businesses, with the potential for an adverse financial impact on small businesses that are found not to be in 

compliance with the sections of statutes which allows for the imposition of a civil penalty.  It will not have an 

adverse effect on small businesses and/or individuals that remain in compliance with NRS 433.631 and NRS 

433.639. For example, a person or entity, after employing a person to provide or supervise the provision of peer 

recovery support services in a position where the person has regular and substantial contact with minors or 

retaining a person as an independent contractor to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support 

services in such a position, does not complete a child abuse and neglect screening or terminate the employment 

or contract of the employee or independent contractor, in accordance with NRS 433.639, may be subject to the 

civil penalties established in the proposed regulations.  

In addition, it may also have an adverse financial impact on adults who violate NRS 433.631 for providing peer 

recovery support services for compensation as a regular part of their job duties or holds themselves authorized to 

provide such services without holding a valid certificate as a peer support specialist issued by the Nevada 

Certification Board, or supervise the provision of such services, without holding a valid certificate as a peer 

recovery support specialist supervisor issued by the Nevada Certification Board. 

Indirect adverse effects - The proposed regulations may result in an individual filing a complaint with the Division 

related to statutory violations; therefore, resulting in increased staff time and potential costs to address the 

complaint.  

B. Beneficial:     

There is no direct financial beneficial effect anticipated for small businesses. Indirect beneficial effects may allow 

individuals that would normally be disqualified from providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery 

support services and have regular and substantial contact with minors despite, the report, to continue to work and 

provide these services, if the petition submitted pursuant to section 5 of the proposed regulations to continue to 

provide these services is granted.  This may reduce costs related to staff turnover.   

C. Immediate:   

There are no immediate beneficial or adverse effects expected for individuals and small businesses that remain 

in compliance with the applicable statutory requirements.  For those found to be in non-compliance with the 

applicable statutory requirements, there may be a negative financial impact if civil penalties for non-compliance 

are imposed in accordance with the proposed regulations.  Penalties imposed pursuant to the proposed 

regulations must not exceed $10,000 in the aggregate.  The exact amount of the financial impact is unknown 

because it is unknown the number of individuals that will be found to be in non-compliance; therefore, subject 

to a monetary penalty.   

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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D. Long-term:   

The long-term negative financial effects would be dependent on whether individuals and small business remain 

in compliance with the applicable statutory requirements.  As this is unknown, the amount of the negative 

financial impact cannot be determined.  There may be a positive financial impact for individuals and small 

businesses in which the owner or employees are  found to have a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect 

or found to be in violations of certain statutes pursuant to Section 5, who work with minors, and are able to 

continue to work after a successful petition to the Division allowing the individual to provide peer recovery 

support services to minors.   

Anticipated effects on the public:  

A.  Adverse:   

There are no anticipated negative financial impacts expected on members of the public not engaged in providing 

or supervising the provision of peer recovery support services. The anticipated impacts for members of the public 

providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery support services would be the same as the adverse effects 

indicated in “1. Anticipated effects on the business which NAC 433 regulates”. There are also no anticipated 

adverse financial effects for members of the public who utilize peer recovery support services.  

B.  Beneficial:   

The anticipated beneficial effects for members of the public providing or supervising the provision of peer 

recovery support services would be the same as the beneficial effects indicated in “1. Anticipated effects on the 

business which NAC 433 regulates”.   

C.  Immediate:  

The anticipated immediate effects for members of the public providing or supervising the provision of peer 

recovery support services would be the same as the immediate effects indicated in “1. Anticipated effects on the 

business which NAC 433 regulates”. 

D.  Long-term:   The anticipated long-term effects for members of the public providing or supervising the 

provision of peer recovery support services would be the same as the long-term effects indicated in “1. 

Anticipated effects on the business which NAC 433 regulates”. 

4.  The methods used by the agency in determining the impact on a small business. 

The methods used by the agency in determining the impact of the proposed changes to Chapter 433 of the 

Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) on a small business are as follows:  

A Small Business Impact Questionnaire was sent to Peer Recovery Support Specialists certified by the Nevada 

Certification Board and others on their Listserv. On 3/25/2022, the Nevada Certification Board, notified the 

Division that the Certification Board’s listserv was at 308 subscribers and that 105 people had opened the 

above-mentioned email.  The questions on the questionnaire were: 

1) How many employees are currently employed by your business? 

2) Will a specific regulation have an adverse economic effect upon your business? 

3) Will the regulation(s) have any beneficial effect upon your business? 
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4) Do you anticipate any indirect adverse effects upon your business? 

5) Do you anticipate any indirect beneficial effects upon your business? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This data was then collected and analyzed to help determine the impact on a small business.    

A public workshop was also held on June 8, 2022, to gain further information on the proposed regulations on 

business, including small businesses.  No public comment was received in support or against the proposed 

regulations.  

A health program manager reviewed the requirements of NRS 433.631 and NRS 433.639, the proposed 

regulations, the small business impact questionnaire responses, and the lack of opposition during the public 

workshop to determine the impact on small businesses.   The proposed regulations carry out the requirement that 

the Division adopt regulations to establish civil penalties to be imposed against any person or entity that fails to 

comply with the requirements of NRS 433.639 and allows the Division to impose upon an adult who violates 

NRS 433.631 a civil penalty. The proposed regulations and the provisions of NRS 433.631 and NRS 433.639 

where then analyzed along with the feedback received from industry to complete the small business impact 

statement.  

5. The estimated cost for the Division of Public and Behavioral Health for enforcement of proposed 

changes to Chapter 433 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) are as follows:  

There is no significant cost anticipated for the enforcement of the proposed regulations by the Division.  No 

additional positions were requested as a result of the passage of NRS 433.631 and NRS 433.639 to carry out the 

provisions of the proposed regulations as it is anticipated this workload can be incorporated into the Division’s 

current regulatory and enforcement workload.  There may be costs associated with conducting a complaint 

investigation, including but not limited to, potential travel costs, but the amount to be used is unknown; therefore, 

an estimated cost could not be determined.  If no complaints are received the costs would be zero, if complaints 

were submitted, it would be based on the number of complaints received, if travel were required, and other related 

items, which is unknown.  

6.  A description of and citation to any regulations of other state or local governmental agencies which 

the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining why the duplication or 

overlapping is necessary. If the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates a federal regulation, the notice 

must include the name of the regulating federal agency. 

The proposed regulations do not overlap or duplicate any other Nevada state regulations or federal regulations. 

7.  If the regulation includes provisions which are more stringent than a federal regulation that regulates 

the same activity, a summary of such provisions. 

There are no known federal regulations that regulate the same activity.   

8.  Whether the proposed regulation establishes a new fee or increases an existing fee. 
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The proposed regulations establish a civil monetary penalty in accordance with NRS 433.631 and NRS 433.639. 

The proposed regulations allow the imposition of a civil monetary penalty to any person or entity, for each 

violation of applicable sections of NRS 433.631 and NRS 433.639, of $100 for each such violation.  In addition, 

a monetary penalty for each day of noncompliance from the date the noncompliance is identified until 

compliance is verified, may be imposed.  The aggregate civil penalty that may be imposed against a person or 

entity may not exceed $10,000.   

 

 

 

 

  

 

The total annual amount DPBH expects to collect, if any, is unknown as it is dependent on whether the criteria to 

impose a civil monetary penalty are met. If there are no violations of the applicable statutes then DPBH would 

collect nothing, if there are alleged violations, then it would be dependent on the number of violations that are 

substantiated and whether daily monetary penalties are imposed or not.   

The money would be used for the Division’s operating costs to carry out the provisions of the statutes and 

proposed regulations.  

Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of Board of Health may appear at the scheduled public 

hearing or may address their comments, data, views or arguments, in written form, to the Board’s Secretary, 

Lisa Sherych, to be received no later than November 17, 2022, at the following address:    

Secretary, State Board of Health  

Division of Public and Behavioral Health  

4150 Technology Way, Suite 300  

Carson City, NV 89706  

Written comments, testimony, or documentary evidence in excess of two typed pages will not be accepted at the 

time of the hearing.  The purpose of this requirement is to allow Board members adequate time to review the 

documents.  

Members of the public who are disabled and require special accommodations or assistance at the hearing are 

requested to notify Leticia Metherell, in writing, no later than five (5) working days before the hearing via email 

at: lmetherell@health.nv.gov or by mailing a request to:   

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Attention: Leticia Metherell 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701 

 

  

A copy of the notice and proposed regulations are on file for inspection and/or may be copied at the following 

locations during normal business hours:  

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health   Nevada State Library  

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E     100 Stewart Street  

Carson City, NV 89701      Carson City, NV 89701  

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4220 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 100, Building A 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4150 Technology Way, Suite 300 

Carson City, NV 89706 

Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) 

Red Rock Trail Rooms A and B 

280 S. Decatur Boulevard 

Las Vegas, Nevada 89107 

A copy of the regulations, public hearing notice, and small business impact statement can be found on-line by 

going to: 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/ 

A copy of the public hearing notice can also be found at Nevada Legislature’s web page:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/    

  

 

Copies may be obtained in person, by mail, or by calling the Division of Public and Behavioral Health at (775) 

684-1030 in Carson City or (702) 486-6515 in Las Vegas.   

Per NRS 233B.064(2), upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested 

person, either prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise statement of the principal 

reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein its reason for overruling the consideration urged 

against its adoption.  

  

  

 

 

 

 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/
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September 6, 2022 

MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  Jon Pennell, DVM, Chair, State Board of Health 
 
FROM: Lisa Sherych, Secretary, State Board of Health 
 
RE: Consideration and adoption of proposed regulation amendment(s) to Nevada Administrative 

Code (NAC) 433, “Administration of Mental Health and Intellectual and Developmental 
Disability Programs”, LCB File No. R093-22.  

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
PURPOSE OF AMENDMENT 
The proposed changes will revise Chapter 433 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) and 
are being proposed in accordance with the following authority: §§ 1-5, NRS 433.324, 433.631 and 433.639. The 
proposed regulations are needed in order to come into compliance and/or align regulations with NRS 433.631 
and NRS 433.639.  NRS 433.631 allows the Division to impose upon an adult who violates applicable sections 
of NRS 433.631, a civil penalty in an amount prescribed by regulation of the Board. 

 
NRS 433.639 requires the Division to adopt regulations to establish civil penalties to be imposed against any 
person or entity that fails to comply with the requirements of applicable sections of NRS 433.639 and allows the 
Division, in consultation with each agency which provides child welfare services, to establish by regulation a 
process by which it may review evidence upon request to determine whether an employee or independent 
contractor described in the statutes who has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, had a substantiated report 
of child abuse or neglect or a violation of NRS 201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366 made against him or her 
to continue to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support services and have regular and 
substantial contact with minors despite the report.  
 
SUMMARY OF CHANGES TO NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (NAC) 433 
The proposed changes to Chapter 433 of the Nevada Administrative Code (LCB File No. R093-22) include the 
following: 
 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec540
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec560
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-392.html#NRS392Sec4633
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-394.html#NRS394Sec366
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Existing law prohibits a person from providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery support services 
for compensation as a regular part of his or her job duties or holding himself or herself out as authorized to 
provide or supervise the provision of such peer recovery support services unless he or she holds an appropriate 
certificate issued by the Nevada Certification Board or its successor organization. (NRS 433.631) Unless 
specifically authorized by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, existing law also prohibits a person who has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, had a 
substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or certain related violations from serving as an employee or 
independent contractor who provides or supervises the provision of peer recovery support services in a position 
where the person has regular and substantial contact with minors. (NRS 433.639) Section 2 prescribes a process 
for the investigation of a complaint alleging a violation of those requirements. It also authorizes the Division to 
disclose any information collected as part of such an investigation to the Nevada Certification Board or its 
successor organization.  
 
Section 3 prescribes the civil penalties that the Division may impose for such a violation. It also authorizes a 
person aggrieved by the imposition of such a civil penalty to file an appeal with the Division.  
 
Section 4 provides that: (1) a complaint and any documents and information considered by the Division when 
determining whether to impose a civil penalty are public records; and (2) all other documents and information 
relating to an investigation conducted pursuant to section 2 are confidential.  
 
Existing law authorizes the Division to establish by regulation a process by which it may review evidence upon 
request to determine whether an employee or independent contractor who has, within the immediately 
preceding 5 years, had a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or certain related violations made against 
him or her may continue to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support services and have 
regular and substantial contact with minors despite the report. (NRS 433.639) Section 5 of this regulation 
establishes such a process. 
 
POSSIBLE OUTCOME IF PROPOSED AMENDMENT IS NOT APPROVED 
If the proposed amendments are not approved by the Board of Health, the Board will not be in compliance  with 
NRS 433.639 which requires the Division to adopt regulations to establish civil penalties to be imposed against 
any person or entity that fails to comply with the requirements of applicable sections of NRS 433.639 and 
would not allow the Division, in consultation with each agency which provides child welfare services, to 
establish by regulation a process by which it may review evidence upon request to determine whether an 
employee or independent contractor described in the statutes who has, within the immediately preceding 5 
years, had a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or a violation of NRS 
201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366 made against him or her to continue to provide or supervise the 
provision of peer recovery support services and have regular and substantial contact with minors despite the 
report.  
 
APPLICABILITY OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
The proposed regulations will apply statewide.   
 
PUBLIC COMMENT RECEIVED 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec540
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec540
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-201.html#NRS201Sec560
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-392.html#NRS392Sec4633
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-394.html#NRS394Sec366
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A public workshop was also held on June 8, 2022, to gain further information on the proposed regulations on 
business, including small businesses.  No public comment was received in support or against the proposed 
regulations.  
 
STAFF RECOMMENDATION 
Staff recommends the State Board of Health adopt the proposed regulation amendments to Nevada 
Administrative Code (NAC) 433, “Administration of Mental Health and Intellectual and Developmental 
Disability Programs”, LCB File No. R093-22.  

 
PRESENTER 
Leticia Metherell, RN, Health Program Manager III 

Enclosures  



 

PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE  

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

LCB File No. R093-22 

July 15, 2022 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§ 1-5, NRS 433.324, 433.631 and 433.639. 
 

A REGULATION relating to peer recovery support services; establishing the procedure for the 
investigation of a complaint alleging certain violations; authorizing the imposition of 
certain civil penalties for such violations; authorizing an appeal of such a civil penalty; 
providing for the confidentiality of certain records; establishing the procedure to 
petition for authorization to serve in certain positions despite a substantiated report of 
child abuse or neglect or certain related violations; and providing other matters properly 
relating thereto. 

 

Legislative Counsel’s Digest: 
 Existing law prohibits a person from providing or supervising the provision of peer 
recovery support services for compensation as a regular part of his or her job duties or holding 
himself or herself out as authorized to provide or supervise the provision of such peer recovery 
support services unless he or she holds an appropriate certificate issued by the Nevada 
Certification Board or its successor organization. (NRS 433.631) Unless specifically authorized 
by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health of the Department of Health and Human 
Services, existing law also prohibits a person who has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, 
had a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or certain related violations from serving as 
an employee or independent contractor who provides or supervises the provision of peer 
recovery support services in a position where the person has regular and substantial contact with 
minors. (NRS 433.639) Section 2 of this regulation prescribes a process for the investigation of a 
complaint alleging a violation of those requirements. Section 2 also authorizes the Division to 
disclose any information collected as part of such an investigation to the Nevada Certification 
Board or its successor organization. Section 3 of this regulation prescribes the civil penalties that 
the Division may impose for such a violation. Section 3 also authorizes a person aggrieved by 
the imposition of such a civil penalty to file an appeal with the Division. Section 4 of this 
regulation provides that: (1) a complaint and any documents and information considered by the 
Division when determining whether to impose a civil penalty are public records; and (2) all other 
documents and information relating to an investigation conducted pursuant to section 2 are 
confidential. 
 Existing law authorizes the Division to establish by regulation a process by which it may 
review evidence upon request to determine whether an employee or independent contractor who 

--1-- 
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R093-22 



 

has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, had a substantiated report of child abuse or 
neglect or certain related violations made against him or her may continue to provide or 
supervise the provision of peer recovery support services and have regular and substantial 
contact with minors despite the report. (NRS 433.639) Section 5 of this regulation establishes 
such a process. 
 

 Section 1.  Chapter 433 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set 

forth as sections 2 to 5, inclusive, of this regulation. 

 Sec. 2.  1.  Upon receiving a complaint alleging a violation of NRS 433.631 or 433.639, 

the Division shall investigate the complaint. The investigation may include, without limitation: 

 (a) An investigation of any person providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery 

support services, the employer of such a person or any other person or entity against whom 

allegations are made in the complaint; 

 (b) An interview of any person whom the Division determines to be relevant to the 

investigation; 

 (c) An observation on the site of any premises, as the Division determines is relevant to the 

investigation; and 

 (d) A request for any documents or information that the Division determines to be relevant 

to the investigation, including, without limitation: 

  (1) The name, residential address, business address, electronic mail address or 

telephone number of any person or entity;  

  (2) The results of or other documents relating to any investigation conducted by: 

   (I) The Nevada Certification Board or its successor organization;  

   (II) The employer of any person providing or supervising the provision of peer 

recovery support services; or  
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   (III) Any other person or entity who has conducted an investigation relevant to the 

allegations contained in the complaint; or 

  (3) Any relevant documents maintained by the Nevada Certification Board or its 

successor organization. 

 2.  The Division may provide any information collected as part of an investigation 

conducted pursuant to subsection 1 to the Nevada Certification Board or its successor 

organization. 

 Sec. 3.  1.  If the Division determines after an investigation conducted pursuant to 

section 2 of this regulation and providing notice pursuant to NAC 439.345 that any person or 

entity has violated the provisions of NRS 433.631 or 433.639, the Division may impose a civil 

penalty not to exceed $100 for each violation. 

 2.  In addition to a civil penalty imposed pursuant to subsection 1, the Division may 

impose a civil penalty in an amount to be determined by the Division for each day a violation 

continues after the Division has notified the relevant person or entity of the violation. 

Penalties imposed pursuant to this subsection must not exceed $10,000 in the aggregate. 

 3.  Any person aggrieved by the imposition of a civil penalty pursuant to this section may 

file an appeal with the Division in accordance with the procedures set forth in NAC 439.300 to 

439.395, inclusive. 

 Sec. 4.  1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2 and NRS 239.0115, any 

documents and information obtained during an investigation conducted pursuant to section 2 

of this regulation and any record of such an investigation are confidential. 



 

 2.  The complaint filed with the Division pursuant to section 2 of this regulation and all 

documents and information considered by the Division when determining whether to impose a 

civil penalty pursuant to section 3 of this regulation are public records. 

 Sec. 5.  1.  An employee or independent contractor who provides or supervises the 

provision of peer recovery support services in a position where he or she has regular and 

substantial contact with minors and has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, had a 

substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or a violation of NRS 201.540, 201.560, 

392.4633 or 394.366 made against him or her may petition the Division for authorization to 

provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support services in a position where he or 

she has regular and substantial contact with minors despite the report.  

 2.  A petition submitted pursuant to subsection 1 must be: 

 (a) In the form prescribed by the Division and include: 

  (1) The name of the petitioner; 

  (2) The social security number of the petitioner or, if the petitioner has not been 

assigned a social security number, the taxpayer identification number of the petitioner; 

  (3) The consent of the petitioner for the Division to: 

   (I) Interview the petitioner or any other person or entity whom the Division 

determines may have information relevant to the petition, including, without limitation, 

current and prior employers and family members of the petitioner; and 

   (II) Obtain any information that the Division determines necessary to evaluate the 

petition; and 

 (b) Accompanied by a copy of the substantiated report of child abuse or neglect or the 

violation of NRS 201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366, as applicable. 
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 3.  A petitioner pursuant to this section shall provide to the Division any documentation 

requested by the Division for the purpose of evaluating the petition. 

 4.  When evaluating a petition submitted pursuant to this section, the Division shall 

consider: 

 (a) The amount of time that has passed since the most recent substantiated report of child 

abuse or neglect or the violation of NRS 201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366 by the 

petitioner; 

 (b) The number of substantiated reports of child abuse or neglect or violations of NRS 

201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366 by the petitioner; 

 (c) Demonstration of rehabilitation of the petitioner; 

 (d) Relevance of the reported child abuse or neglect or the violation of NRS 201.540, 

201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366 to the employment or contracted position of the petitioner; 

 (e) Whether the employer of the petitioner or the person with whom the petitioner has 

entered into a contract for the provision or supervision of the provision of peer recovery 

support services is aware of the reported child abuse or neglect or the violation of NRS 

201.540, 201.560, 392.4633 or 394.366; 

 (f) Whether the person is required by federal or state law to register as a sex offender; and 

 (g) Any relevant extenuating circumstances. 

 5.  Not later than 90 days after the date on which the Division receives a petition submitted 

pursuant to this section, the Division shall issue and provide to the petitioner a written 

decision concerning whether the petitioner may provide or supervise the provision of peer 

recovery support services in a position where the person has regular and substantial contact 

with minors.  
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 6.  The Division may rescind a written decision issued pursuant to subsection 5 at any 

time. 

 7.  Not sooner than 2 years after the date on which the Division issues a written decision 

pursuant to subsection 5 prohibiting a person from providing or supervising the provision of 

peer recovery support services in a position where the person has regular and substantial 

contact with minors, the petitioner may submit a new petition pursuant to this section. 

 8.  A petition submitted pursuant to this section and all information included in or 

accompanying such a petition is confidential. A final written decision issued pursuant to 

subsection 5 is a public record. 
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SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT 2022 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO NAC CHAPTER 433 

The Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) has determined that the proposed amendments should not 
have a negative economic impact upon small businesses nor restrict the formation, operation or expansion of a 
small business in Nevada. 

A small business is defined in Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 233B as a "business conducted for profit 
which employs fewer than 150 full-time or part-time employees."   

This small business impact statement is made pursuant to NRS 233B.0608 (3) and complies with the 
requirements of NRS 233B.0609.  As required by NRS 233B.0608(3), this statement identifies the methods 
used by the agency in determining the impact of the proposed regulation on a small business in sections 1, 2, 
3, and 4 below and provides the reasons for the conclusions of the agency in section 8 below followed by the 
certification by the person responsible for the agency. 

Background 
The proposed regulations are being moved forward as required by Senate Bill (SB) 69 of the 81st (2021) 
Session.  

Section 8 of the bill, in general, requires an adult to be certified by the Nevada Certification Board, or its 
successor organization, as a peer recovery support specialist or peer recovery support specialist supervisor 
before providing or supervising the provision of, as applicable, peer recovery support services for 
compensation as a regular part of his or her job duties; provides for the imposition of a civil penalty against an 
adult who violates that requirement; and authorizes an adult who is not certified to provide peer recovery 
support services to adults for compensation as an intern under certain circumstances.  

Section 15 of the bill authorizes the Division to bring an action to enjoin any adult from providing or 
supervising the provision of peer recovery support services in violation of section 8. 

Section 15.6 of the bill requires an employer, a person or an entity who employs a person for the purpose of 
providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery support services in a position where the person has 
regular and substantial contact with minors or retains an independent contractor to provide those services in 
such a position to undergo a screening to determine whether the person has, within the immediately 
preceding 5 years, been the subject of a substantiated report of the abuse or neglect of a child; or a violation 
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of provisions prohibiting certain sexual conduct regarding minors, corporal punishment in public schools or 
the use of aversive interventions against pupils with disabilities in private schools.  

In general section 15.6 prohibits the employment of a person or retention of a person as an independent 
contractor for the purpose of providing peer recovery support services in a position where the person has 
regular and substantial contact with minors if the person has been found to have engaged in such conduct 
within the immediately preceding 5 years; and requires the termination of an employee or independent 
contractor who provides peer recovery support services in a position where the person has regular and 
substantial contact with minors and has been found to have engaged in such conduct within that period.  It 
also authorizes an employee or independent contractor who believes that the information provided through a 
screening is incorrect to attempt to correct the information.  

Section 15.6, subsection 7 of Senate Bill 69, requires the Division to adopt regulations to establish civil 
penalties to be imposed against any person or entity that fails to comply with the requirements of Section 
15.6. In addition, it authorizes the Division to adopt regulations establishing a process to determine whether 
an employee or independent contractor who has been found to have engaged in such conduct within the 
immediately preceding 5 years may continue to provide peer recovery support services and have regular and 
substantial contact with minors.  

1) A description of the manner in which comment was solicited from affected small businesses, a summary 
of their response and an explanation of the manner in which other interested persons may obtain a copy 
of the summary. 

Pursuant to NRS 233B.0608 (2)(a), the Division of Public and Behavioral Health has requested input from peer 
recovery support specialists. Section 36 of Senate Bill 69 eliminated the licensure and regulation of peer 
support recovery organizations by repealing the applicable sections of NRS 449; therefore, the Division did not 
have any licensed peer support recovery organizations to conduct a small business impact study.  To obtain 
feedback from the peer recovery support specialist industry the Nevada Certification Board, which certifies 
Peer Recovery Support Specialists, sent out an email to certified peer recovery support specialists, and others 
on their listserv, such as those behind on their applications or renewals, with information on how the industry 
could provide their feedback on the proposed regulations, including a link to the Division’s webpage, with links 
to the proposed regulations and small business impact questionnaire.  
 

 

 

In addition, the above information was sent to the Division’s licensed health care facilities through its medical 
and nonmedical Listservs.   

The Division also consulted with the Division of Child and Family Services, the Clark County Department of 
Family Services, and the Washoe County, Human Services Agency, in accordance with Section 15.6 of Senate 
Bill 69.  

A Small Business Impact Questionnaire was sent to Peer Recovery Support Specialists certified by the Nevada 
Certification Board and others as noted above. On 3/25/2022, the Nevada Certification Board, notified the 
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Division that the Certification Board’s listserv was at 308 subscribers and that 105 people had opened the 
above-mentioned email.  The questions on the questionnaire were: 
 

1) How many employees are currently employed by your business? 
2) Will a specific regulation have an adverse economic effect upon your business? 
3) Will the regulation(s) have any beneficial effect upon your business? 
4) Do you anticipate any indirect adverse effects upon your business? 
5) Do you anticipate any indirect beneficial effects upon your business? 

 

Summary of Response 
 

Summary Of Comments Received  
(Three responses were received out of 308 small business impact questionnaires distributed) 

  
       

 

 

Will a specific 
regulation have an 
adverse economic 
effect upon your 
business? 
Yes = 2 
No = 1 

Will the regulation (s) 
have any beneficial 
effect upon your 
business? 
Yes = 1 
No = 2 

Do you anticipate any 
indirect adverse 
effects upon your 
business? 
Yes = 1 
No = 2 

Do you 
anticipate any 
indirect 
beneficial 
effects upon 
your business? 
Yes = 1 
No = 2 

Comments 
Any charge to these 
facilities will increase 
the hardship on any 
other business they 
have expenses accounts 
with. 
 
Potentially up to 
$10,000, if found non-
compliant until 
remedied. This would be 
up to 8% of our annual 
budget as we are a very 
small operation with 2 
FT and 2 PT employees 
and area non-profit.  

Comments 
It will help our clients 
with substance abuse 
to live better lives 
making our job easier. 
 
I do not see any cost 
savings to us from 
this.  

Yes, cost will increase 
 
 
This could have an 
adverse effect if 
someone complained 
about our support 
services. However, I do 
not anticipate that 
anyone would register 
a valid complaint. 

It might be 
beneficial as it 
codifies our 
responsibilities 
and rights if a 
complaint is 
made against 
our Peer Support 
Specialists. 
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Other interested persons may obtain a copy of the summary by calling, writing or emailing: 

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 
Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance 

Attention: Leticia Metherell 
727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701 
Phone: 775-684-1030 

Email: lmetherell@health.nv.gov  
 

2) Describe the manner in which the analysis was conducted.   

A health program manager reviewed the requirements of Senate Bill 69 of the 81st (2021) legislative session, the 
proposed regulations, and the small business impact questionnaire responses to determine the impact on small 
businesses.   The proposed regulations carry out the requirement that the Division adopt regulations to establish 
civil penalties to be imposed against any person or entity that fails to comply with the requirements of Section 
15.6 and allows the Division to impose upon an adult who violates Section 8 a civil penalty.   The proposed 
regulations and the provisions of Section 8 and Section 15.6 where then analyzed along with the feedback 
received from industry to complete the small business impact statement.  

3) The estimated economic effect of the proposed regulation on the small business which it is to regulate 
including, without limitation both adverse and beneficial effects and both direct and indirect effects. 

Adverse effects - The overall adverse financial effects are anticipated to be none to minimal for most small 
businesses, with the potential for an adverse financial impact on small businesses that are found not to be in 
compliance with the sections of Senate Bill 69 which allows for the imposition of a civil penalty, as noted in 
number 2.  It will not have an adverse effect on small businesses that remain in compliance with sections of 
Senate Bill 69 in which a violation may result in a civil monetary penalty.   

For example, a person or entity, after employing a person to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery 
support services in a position where the person has regular and substantial contact with minors or retaining a 
person as an independent contractor to provide or supervise the provision of peer recovery support services in 
such a position, does not complete a child abuse and neglect screening or terminate the employment or contract 
of the employee or independent contractor, in accordance with Section 15.6 of Senate Bill 69, may be subject 
to the civil penalties established in the proposed regulations.  

In addition, it may also have an adverse financial impact on adults who violate section 8 for providing peer 
recovery support services for compensation as a regular part of their job duties or holds themselves authorized 
to provide such services without holding a valid certificate as a peer support specialist issued by the Nevada 
Certification Board, or supervise the provision of such services, without holding a valid certificate as a peer 
recovery support specialist supervisor issued by the Nevada Certification Board. 

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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Indirect adverse effects - The proposed regulations may result in an individual filing a complaint with the Division 
related to violations of Senate Bill 69; therefore, resulting in increased staff time and potential costs to address 
the complaint and providing any information required pursuant to the proposed regulations to the Division.   

Beneficial effects – There is no direct financial benefit anticipated for small businesses. 

Indirect beneficial effects – May allow individuals that would normally be disqualified from providing or 
supervising the provision of peer recovery support services and have regular and substantial contact with minors 
despite, the report, to continue to work and provide these services, if the petition submitted pursuant to section 
3 of the proposed regulations to continue to provide these services is granted.  This may reduce costs related 
to staff turnover.   

4) Provide a description of the methods that the agency considered to reduce the impact of the proposed 
regulation on small businesses and a statement regarding whether the agency actually used any of those 
methods. 

The Division worked with the Nevada Certification Board to send through their Listserv information on how to 
provide feedback on the proposed regulations.  Please refer to response number one above for details on how 
this was carried out.  The agency reviewed the statutory penalties allowed for another occupational 
profession, dietitians, which notes: 
 

 

 

 

NRS 640E.370 Penalties. 
      1.  A person who violates any provision of this chapter or any regulation adopted pursuant thereto is guilty 
of a misdemeanor. 
      2.  In addition to any criminal penalty that may be imposed pursuant to subsection 1, the Board may, after 
notice and hearing, impose a civil penalty of not more than $100 for each such violation. For the purposes of this 
subsection, each day on which a violation occurs constitutes a separate offense, except that the aggregate civil 
penalty that may be imposed against a person pursuant to this subsection may not exceed $10,000. 

The Division considered and implemented the method to reduce the impact on small businesses by not 
requiring an upfront daily monetary civil penalty and instead provided the Division discretion when applying 
daily monetary penalties, for example, if an individual that was fined for non-compliance did not address and 
correct the deficient practices and continued to be non-compliant.  In addition, the Division put a cap on the 
amount of civil penalty that may be imposed against an entity or person. 

A public workshop will be scheduled to allow for further input on the proposed regulations.  The comments 
from the public workshop will be taken into consideration for possible further revisions to the proposed 
regulations to reduce the economic impact on facilities.   

5) The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed regulation. 
There is no significant cost anticipated for the enforcement of the proposed regulations by the Division.  No 
additional positions were requested as a result of the passage of Senate Bill 69 to carry out the provisions of the 
proposed regulations as it is anticipated this workload can be incorporated into the Division’s current regulatory 
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and enforcement workload.  There may be costs associated with conducting a complaint investigation, including 
but not limited to, potential travel costs and paper, but the amount to be used is unknown; therefore, an 
estimated cost could not be determined.  If no complaints are received the costs would be zero, if complaints 
were submitted, it would be based on the number of complaints received, if travel were required, and other 
related items, which is unknown.  

 

 

 

 

6)  If the proposed regulation provides a new fee or increases an existing fee, the total annual amount DPBH 
expects to collect and the manner in which the money will be used.  
The proposed regulations establish a civil monetary penalty in accordance with Senate Bill 69. The proposed 
regulations allow the Division to impose a civil monetary penalty to any person or entity, for each violation of 
Section 8 or Section 15.6 of Senate Bill 69, of $100 for each such violation.  In addition, the Division may 
impose a monetary penalty for each day of noncompliance from the date the noncompliance is identified until 
compliance is verified.  The aggregate civil penalty that may be imposed against a person or entity may not 
exceed $10,000.   
The total annual amount DPBH expects to collect, if any, is unknown as it is dependent on whether the criteria 
to impose a civil monetary penalty are met. If there are no violations of the provisions of Senate Bill 69 then 
DPBH would collect nothing, if there are alleged violations, then it would be dependent on the number of 
violations that are substantiated and whether daily monetary penalties are imposed or not.   

The money would be used to carry out the provisions of SB 69 and the proposed regulations. 

7) An explanation of why any duplicative or more stringent provisions than federal, state or local standards 
regulating the same activity are necessary. 

There are no other known duplicate or more stringent provisions regulating to the same activity.  

8) Provide a summary of the reasons for the conclusions of the agency regarding the impact of a regulation 
on small businesses.   

Based on a review of the provisions of SB 69, a review of the proposed regulations, and input from industry, it 
was determined that the proposed regulations would have no negative economic impact on small businesses 
that are and remain in compliance with SB 69 and may have a negative economic impact on small businesses 
that are not in compliance with SB 69.  The full impact, including the severity of the economic impact on a 
small business, cannot be determined because it is unknown how many complaints the Division would receive 
related to violations of the applicable provisions of SB 69, if any, how many would be substantiated, and if the 
violation results in a single monetary penalty to daily penalties.  

Any other persons interested in obtaining a copy of the summary may e-mail, call, or mail in a request to 
Leticia Metherell at the Division of Public and Behavioral Health at: 

 
Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 
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Carson City, NV 89705 
Leticia Metherell 

Phone:  775-684-1045 
Email: lmetherell@health.nv.gov  

 

 

 

Certification by Person Responsible for the Agency 
I, Lisa Sherych, Administrator of the Division of Public and Behavioral Health certify to the best of my 
knowledge or belief, a concerted effort was made to determine the impact of the proposed regulation on 
small businesses and the information contained in this statement was prepared properly and is accurate.   

Signature___________________________ Date: __04/28/2022_______________________ 

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
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__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC WORKSHOP 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Division of Public and Behavioral Health will hold a public workshop to 

consider amendments to Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapters 433, 640D and 640E.    

The workshop will be conducted via videoconference and will have a call-in option available beginning at 2 PM 

on Wednesday, June 8, 2022, by using the information provided below to join on your computer or by calling in 

via telephone.  If you have difficulties joining in by computer, you can call in utilizing the number below.   

Microsoft Teams meeting  

Join on your computer or mobile app  

Click here to join the meeting  

Or call in (audio only)  

+1 775-321-6111 (Phone Conference ID: 104 244 541#) 

Find a local number | Reset PIN  

Learn More | Meeting options  

_______________________________________________________________________________  

These workshops will be conducted in accordance with NRS 241.020, Nevada’s Open Meeting Law. 

AGENDA 

1. Introduction of workshop process 

2. Public comment on proposed amendments to Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 433, Administration 

of Mental Health and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Programs. 

3. Public comment on proposed amendments to Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 640D, Music 

Therapists. 

4. Public comment on proposed amendments to Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 640E, Dietetics. 

5. Public Comment 

 

Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 433 - Background 

The proposed regulations are being moved forward as required by Senate Bill (SB) 69 of the 81st (2021) 

Session.   

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_MWI2OGEwYWUtYzMzMC00OTdjLTg5YjQtZjg5NmI3ZWExNGZh%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22e4a340e6-b89e-4e68-8eaa-1544d2703980%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%226de2d4c7-5f19-476a-bad7-b407d5559455%22%7d
https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/1ef7fc5c-3859-4a06-ba30-c622c05e60f9?id=104244541
https://mysettings.lync.com/pstnconferencing
https://aka.ms/JoinTeamsMeeting
https://teams.microsoft.com/meetingOptions/?organizerId=6de2d4c7-5f19-476a-bad7-b407d5559455&tenantId=e4a340e6-b89e-4e68-8eaa-1544d2703980&threadId=19_meeting_MWI2OGEwYWUtYzMzMC00OTdjLTg5YjQtZjg5NmI3ZWExNGZh@thread.v2&messageId=0&language=en-US
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Section 8 of the bill, in general, requires an adult to be certified by the Nevada Certification Board, or its 

successor organization, as a peer recovery support specialist or peer recovery support specialist supervisor 

before providing or supervising the provision of, as applicable, peer recovery support services for compensation 

as a regular part of his or her job duties; provides for the imposition of a civil penalty against an adult who 

violates that requirement; and authorizes an adult who is not certified to provide peer recovery support services 

to adults for compensation as an intern under certain circumstances.   

Section 15 of the bill authorizes the Division to bring an action to enjoin any adult from providing or 

supervising the provision of peer recovery support services in violation of section 8.  

Section 15.6 of the bill requires an employer, a person or an entity who employs a person for the purpose of 

providing or supervising the provision of peer recovery support services in a position where the person has 

regular and substantial contact with minors or retains an independent contractor to provide those services in 

such a position to undergo a screening to determine whether the person has, within the immediately preceding 5 

years, been the subject of a substantiated report of the abuse or neglect of a child; or a violation of provisions 

prohibiting certain sexual conduct regarding minors, corporal punishment in public schools or the use of 

aversive interventions against pupils with disabilities in private schools.  In general section 15.6 prohibits the 

employment of a person or retention of a person as an independent contractor for the purpose of providing peer 

recovery support services in a position where the person has regular and substantial contact with minors if the 

person has been found to have engaged in such conduct within the immediately preceding 5 years; and requires 

the termination of an employee or independent contractor who provides peer recovery support services in a 

position where the person has regular and substantial contact with minors and has been found to have engaged 

in such conduct within that period.  It also authorizes an employee or independent contractor who believes that 

the information provided through a screening is incorrect to attempt to correct the information.   

Section 15.6, subsection 7 of Senate Bill 69, requires the Division to adopt regulations to establish civil 

penalties to be imposed against any person or entity that fails to comply with the requirements of Section 15.6. 

In addition, it authorizes the Division to adopt regulations establishing a process to determine whether an 

employee or independent contractor who has been found to have engaged in such conduct within the 

immediately preceding 5 years may continue to provide peer recovery support services and have regular and 

substantial contact with minors.   

Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 640D, Music Therapists - Background 

The proposed regulations are being moved forward as a result of Assembly Bill 330 of the 81st (2021) legislative 

session which requires each regulatory body, in this case the Board of Health, to adopt regulations to effectuate 

the purposes of the following bill requirements:   

1. A person who, in secondary or postsecondary education, completes a training program for occupational, 

vocational, career, trade or technical education approved by the State Board of Education and receives a 

certificate for the completion of that program is eligible to receive equivalent credit towards the satisfaction of 

requirements for the issuance of any professional and occupational licenses and certifications relating to the 

training received.   

2. For a person to be eligible to receive equivalent credit pursuant to subsection 1, the secondary or 

postsecondary education received by the person pursuant to title 34 of NRS must be consistent with the 

requirements for the issuance of professional or occupational licenses and certifications established pursuant to 

the provisions of title 54 of NRS and the regulations adopted pursuant thereto.   

3. Any person aggrieved by a decision of a regulatory body concerning eligibility for equivalent credit pursuant 

to this section may appeal to the regulatory body for a determination whether the training satisfies the 
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requirements for professional or occupational licensure or certification, as applicable. An appeal made 

pursuant to this subsection must be conducted as provided for the appeal of the denial of a professional or 

occupational license or certificate by that regulatory body.   

 

 

 

 

 

In addition, the proposed regulations amend NAC 640D.200 relating to unlicensed music therapy complaints by 

requiring the Executive Officer to investigate such complaints, not allowing unlicensed individuals to engage in 

music therapy services until the individual becomes licensed, and other related provisions.    

The proposed regulations also amend NAC 640D.210, as it relates to a complaint against a licensee or an 

applicant for a license to practice music therapy, to allow the Executive Officer to conduct an investigation, and 

if substantiated, to forward the complaint, information collected as part of the investigation, and the 

investigative results to the Certification Board for Music Therapists.   

Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 640E, Dietetics - Background 

The proposed regulations are being moved forward as a result of Assembly Bill 73 and Assembly Bill 330 of 

the 81st (2021) legislative session. 

Assembly Bill 330 requires each regulatory body, in this case the Board of Health, to adopt regulations to 

effectuate the purposes of the following bill requirements:   

1. A person who, in secondary or postsecondary education, completes a training program for occupational, 

vocational, career, trade or technical education approved by the State Board of Education and receives a 

certificate for the completion of that program is eligible to receive equivalent credit towards the satisfaction of 

requirements for the issuance of any professional and occupational licenses and certifications relating to the 

training received.   

2. For a person to be eligible to receive equivalent credit pursuant to subsection 1, the secondary or 

postsecondary education received by the person pursuant to title 34 of NRS must be consistent with the 

requirements for the issuance of professional or occupational licenses and certifications established pursuant to 

the provisions of title 54 of NRS and the regulations adopted pursuant thereto.   

3. Any person aggrieved by a decision of a regulatory body concerning eligibility for equivalent credit pursuant 

to this section may appeal to the regulatory body for a determination whether the training satisfies the 

requirements for professional or occupational licensure or certification, as applicable. An appeal made 

pursuant to this subsection must be conducted as provided for the appeal of the denial of a professional or 

occupational license or certificate by that regulatory body.   

Assembly Bill 73 removes the requirement that the Board of Health establish a fee for the late renewal of a 

license and the issuance of a duplicate license.  The proposed regulations follow suit be removing these fees.  

Assembly Bill 73 amends the requirements for a provisional license; therefore, the amendment to NAC 

640E.100 (1) in section 4 of the proposed regulations, as it relates to the issuance of a provisional license, refers 

back to NRS 640E.180.  

 

 

In addition, the proposed regulations amend NAC 640E.200 relating to unlicensed dietitian complaints by 

requiring the Executive Officer to investigate such complaints, not allowing unlicensed individuals to engage in 

the practice of dietetics until the individual becomes licensed, and other related provisions.    

The proposed regulations also amend NAC 640E.210, as it relates to a complaint against a licensee or an 

applicant for a license to practice dietetics, to allow the Executive Officer to conduct an investigation, and if 
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substantiated, to forward the complaint, information collected as part of the investigation, and the investigative 

results to the Commission on Dietetic Registration.   

 

 

 

The proposed regulations also omit NAC 640E.120 and NAC 640E.130 which are no longer relevant with the 

passage of Assembly Bill 73.  

Members of the public may make oral comments at this meeting.  Persons wishing to submit written testimony 

or documentary evidence may submit the material to Leticia Metherell, Health Program Manager at the 

following address: 

Leticia Metherell  

Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 

Carson City, NV 89701 

Phone:  775-684-1030 

Fax: 775-684-1073 

Email: lmetherell@health.nv.gov 

Members of the public who require special accommodations or assistance at the workshops are required to 

notify Leticia Metherell, Health Program Manager, in writing to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E, Carson City, NV 89701, by calling 775-684-1045 or via email at: 

lmetherell@health.nv.gov  at least five (5) working days prior to the date of the public workshop. 

You may contact Leticia Metherell by calling 775-684-1045 or via email at lmetherell@health.nv.gov for 

further information on the proposed regulations or how to obtain copies of the supporting documents.  

A copy of the notice and the proposed regulations are on file for inspection and/or may be copied at the 

following locations during normal business hours: 

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E 4220 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 100, Bldg A 

Carson City, NV  Las Vegas, NV  

Nevada State Library and Archives 

100 Stewart Street 

Carson City, NV 

A copy of the regulations and small business impact statement can be found on the Division of Public and 

Behavioral Health’s web page: 

https://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/  

 

 

A copy of the public workshop notice can also be found at Nevada Legislature’s web page:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/    

A copy of this notice has been posted at the following locations: 

1. Division of Public and Behavioral Health, 4150 Technology Way, First Floor Lobby, Carson City 

2. Nevada State Library and Archives, 100 Stewart Street, Carson City 

mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
mailto:lmetherell@health.nv.gov
https://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/HealthFacilities/State_of_Nevada_Health_Facility_Regulation_Public_Workshops/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/
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3. Legislative Building, 401 S. Carson Street, Carson City 

4. Grant Sawyer Building, 555 E. Washington Avenue, Las Vegas 

 

 

 

 

Copies may be obtained in person, by mail, or by calling the Division of Public and Behavioral Health at (775) 

684-1030 in Carson City or (702) 486-6515 in Las Vegas.   

Per NRS 233B.064(2), upon adoption of any regulations, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested 

person, either prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise statement of the principal 

reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein its reason for overruling the consideration urged 

against its adoption. 
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