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AN OVERVIEW OF THE NEVADA EARLY HEARING DETECTION AND
INTERVENTION PROGRAM

Hearing loss is the most frequent congenital condition occurring in 2-3 of every 1000 births. Nationally,
the average age of identification of hearing loss has been reduced from 2.5 years to approximately 6
months of age since the implementation of universal newborn hearing screening. Recent studies have
shown that infants who are identified with hearing loss before 6 months of age, and receive appropriate
intervention, demonstrate significantly better receptive and expressive language skills than children
whose hearing losses are identified later.

Early hearing detection and intervention (EHDI) was initiated in Nevada on January 1, 2002 following
legislative enactment of Nevada Revised Statutes 442.500 — 590. This law mandates that hospitals with
more than 500 births per year provide hearing screening on all newborns prior to discharge. The
legislation also stipulates that newborns not passing the screening are referred for an in-depth
diagnostic hearing evaluation. The EHDI Program was developed within the Division of Public and
Behavioral Health to ensure infants and toddlers with hearing loss are identified as early as possible and
provided with timely and appropriate follow-up services. This is in accordance with the National EHDI 1-
3-6 Plan which states:
1. Allinfants should be screened for hearing loss prior to hospital discharge or before 1 month
of age.
2. All infants not passing the hearing screening (in one or both ears) should receive a complete
diagnostic audiologic evaluation before 3 months of age.
3. Allinfants indentified with hearing loss should be enrolled in appropriate early intervention
services before 6 months of age.
4. Allinfants identified with hearing loss should be linked to a medical home.*
5. Allinfants identified with hearing loss should be provided with information regarding parent
support organizations.

The Joint Committee on Infant Hearing, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the
“Healthy People 2020” document of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services recommend
these goals to prevent or minimize developmental delays caused by hearing loss. The Joint Committee
member organizations that have adopted these goals include: the Alexander Graham Bell Association
for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, the American Academy of Audiology, the American Academy of
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association, the Council on Education of the Deaf, and the Directors of Speech and
Hearing Programs in State Health and Welfare Agencies.

The Nevada EHDI Program supports a statewide comprehensive and coordinated interdisciplinary
program of newborn hearing screening and follow-up care for those who do not pass the screening.
Through tracking and monitoring activities, the program ensures infants are screened and receive timely
and appropriate follow-up hearing testing and early intervention services as indicated in accordance
with Nevada Revised Statutes. Ongoing audiologic consultation and trainings are available to hospital
and screening staff, as well as to physicians, audiologists, community agencies and families. The
program promotes and participates in public awareness activities regarding the EHDI Program, infant
hearing loss, and communication development.

*The medical home is an approach to providing health care services in which care is accessible, family
centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate and culturally effective.
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INTRODUCTION TO THE NEVADA INFANT AUDIOLOGIC ASSESSMENT
GUIDELINES

The purpose of this document is to provide a description of recommended procedures for audiologists
performing follow-up audiological assessment of infants identified during universal newborn hearing
screening. Infants are candidates for audiologic assessment when they have not passed an initial
hearing screening in one or both ears prior to discharge from the birthing facility and an out-patient
rescreen within 4 weeks of discharge.

There are certain situations in which it may be appropriate for an audiologist to perform a hearing
screening rather than a complete assessment. An audiologist may perform the initial hearing screening
for an infant who was not screened at the birthing facility and for infants born at home or at a non-
screening facility. It is also appropriate for an audiologist to perform the out-patient rescreen if such a
rescreen has not already occurred. In this situation, the audiologist should rescreen the infant’s hearing
using the same type of physiologic measure utilized during the initial screening. An infant who was
initially screened using automated auditory brainstem response (AABR) should not be rescreened using
otoacoustic emissions (OAE) equipment. Infants who resided in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU)
should only be screened/rescreened using ABR technology due to the risk of neural hearing loss.
Rescreening should always include both ears, even if only one ear did not pass the initial hearing screen.

Newborns failing the screening/rescreening procedures in either one or both ears require an
audiological evaluation by an audiologist experienced in assessing infants. The audiologist should have
the equipment necessary to complete all appropriate evaluation procedures. The goal of the audiologic
assessment is to determine the presence or absence of hearing loss. When hearing loss is confirmed, a
description of the type, degree, and configuration is necessary to plan appropriate intervention
strategies.

Screening and diagnostic test results should be provided to the Nevada EHDI Program after each
evaluation until it is determined that the infant has normal hearing or until the type, degree, and
configuration of permanent hearing loss have been diagnosed.

Comprehensive evaluations should be completed by audiologists experienced in pediatric hearing
assessment. Audiologists, by virtue of academic degree, clinical training, and license to practice, are
uniquely qualified to provide services related to the prevention of hearing loss and the audiological
diagnosis, identification, assessment as well as the nonmedical and nonsurgical treatment of hearing
loss in infants and children. Professional responsibility requires audiologists to test, diagnose, and
provide remediation only in those areas in which their knowledge level is commensurate with national
standards of care. It is each audiologist’s responsibility to recognize their unique skill sets and abilities.
If the practitioner does not have the expertise and equipment to follow these guidelines, the infant
should be referred to a professional equipped for and qualified in infant audiologic assessment.

These guidelines are not a description of how to carry out an audiologic assessment. They were
developed to identify the essential components of an audiologic assessment in order to facilitate the
confirmation of hearing loss by three months of age. Each child presents unique characteristics that
may influence the assessment process. Although some of the recommended assessment principles and
protocol pertain specifically to newborn hearing screening follow-up, the guidelines are appropriate for
all children age birth through three years who are suspected of having hearing loss.
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THE COMPREHENSIVE INFANT AUDIOLOGIC ASSESSMENT

All infants who have not passed their newborn hearing screen and a subsequent out-patient rescreen in
one or both ears requires a comprehensive audiological evaluation by an audiologist experienced in
assessing infants. Comprehensive assessments are also warranted for infants and toddlers who passed
their newborn hearing screen but are identified with risk factors for delayed onset hearing loss or
speech and language delays, or when there are parental or professional concerns. In order to expedite
the diagnosis, the audiologist should have both the equipment and expertise necessary to complete all
evaluation procedures described below. If the practitioner is unable to follow these guidelines, the
infant should be referred to a professional equipped for and qualified in infant assessment.

Although some of the underlying principles listed below pertain specifically to follow-up of newborn
hearing screening, others provide guidance to the audiologic assessment of any young child suspected
of having hearing loss. As with all guidelines, professional judgment must be used to meet the individual
needs of each child.

UNDERLYING PRINCIPLES

e |t may be appropriate to provide a hearing rescreen prior to an audiologic assessment if the
infant did not pass his/her initial screening prior to discharge, and an out-patient rescreen has
not yet occurred. The audiologist should rescreen the infant’s hearing using the same type of
physiologic measure utilized during the initial screening. For example, an infant who was
initially screened using AABR should not be rescreened using OAE equipment. Infants who
resided in the NICU should only be rescreened using ABR technology due to the risk of neural
hearing loss. Rescreening should always include both ears, even if only one ear did not pass the
initial hearing screen.

e The focus of the diagnostic testing of infants is physiologic assessment. Behavioral audiometry
may be appropriate for infants with developmental levels of six months and over if reliable ear-
specific and frequency-specific information can be obtained.

e The goal of the diagnostic assessment is to determine the presence or absence of hearing loss,
as well as to assess auditory thresholds, status of auditory nerve and brainstem pathways, and
to determine locus of hearing impairment if abnormal results are found. A description of the
type, severity, and configuration of hearing loss is necessary to plan appropriate referrals,
management, and intervention strategies.

e Infants who did not pass an (A)ABR hearing screen or rescreen or had NICU stays of greater than
five days, should receive ABR testing as part of the comprehensive audiologic assessment.

e C(Click ABR alone is not sufficient to determine hearing thresholds. Tone burst ABR or auditory
steady state response (ASSR) techniques are required to define the degree of hearing loss
present across the frequency range used for speech. Because a click ABR stimulates the cochlea
primarily in the 2000 — 4000 Hz region, an infant may pass a click ABR by having normal activity
in any portion of that region. High frequency, upward sloping, and other odd configurations of
hearing loss can be misdiagnosed using click ABR alone.

e ABR testing for infants under the age of six months should be conducted during natural sleep
when possible. Sedation may be necessary when testing older infants and toddlers.

e Completion of the diagnostic test battery shall not be delayed beyond three months of age to
allow for resolution of middle ear effusion. Bone conduction ABR procedures should be used as
a means to confirm hearing status if a continuing middle ear condition is present.
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e A comprehensive assessment should include both ears even if only one ear did not pass the
screening or rescreening.

e Insert earphones are the transducer of choice, unless contraindicated.

e Completion of the audiologic assessment at one site and in one visit is preferable.

e If an audiologist does not have the expertise and equipment to follow these guidelines, the
infant and family should be referred to an audiologist who has this capability.

o Assessment results should be reported to State of Nevada, Early Hearing Detection and
Intervention (EHDI) Program after each evaluation until it is determined that the infant has
normal hearing or until the type, degree, and configuration of permanent hearing loss has been
diagnosed.

RECOMMENDED ASSESSMENT PROTOCOL

e Recommended Test Battery for Infants Birth to 6 Months of Age
o Child and family history

Evaluation of risk factors

Parent report of infant’s responses

Otoscopy

Tympanometry using 1000 Hz probe tone (poor reliability for probe tones below 600 Hz)

Otoacoustic emissions (OAE) to establish cochlear outer hair cell function

Click ABR for measurement of neural integrity at high levels of 70-90 dBnHL to identify

Waves |, lll, V and compare to age related latency normative data (Compare

condensation vs. rarefaction stimulus if indicators for neural hearing loss/AN are

present.)

o Tone burst ABR or steady state ABR (ASSR) for frequency specific threshold estimation
(at minimum, testing should include a low frequency such as 500 Hz and a high
frequency such as 2000 or 4000 Hz for each ear, attempt down to 20 dBnHL or until
response extinguishes)

o Bone conduction ABR when air conduction thresholds are elevated

o Clinical observation to corroborate parental report of infant’s responses

O O O 0O O O

Note: Insert earphones are recommended unless contraindicated.
If infant previously failed an ABR screening, the evaluation must include ABR testing.

e Recommended Test Battery for Infants and Toddlers 6 - 36 Months of Age
Include the following for subsequent testing of older infants and toddlers, or initial assessment
of those with new concerns or who did not have timely or appropriate follow-up:

Child and family history

Parent report of auditory, visual and communication milestones

Otoscopy

Acoustic immittance measures (tympanometry and reflexes)

Otoacoustic emissions (OAE) to establish cochlear outer hair cell function

Speech awareness and/or speech reception thresholds for each ear

Behavioral audiometry (visual reinforcement or conditioned play) across frequencies

for each ear (250 — 4000 Hz recommended)

O O O O O O O
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o If frequency specific thresholds cannot be obtained for each ear through behavioral
audiometry techniques or if ABR testing has not been performed in the past, the
following ABR tests are warranted:

=  Click ABR for measurement of neural integrity at high levels of 70-90 dBnHL to
identify Waves |, 11, V and compare to age related latency normative data
(Compare condensation vs. rarefaction stimulus if indicators for neural hearing
loss/AN are present.)

= Tone burst ABR or steady state ABR (ASSR) for frequency specific threshold
estimation (at minimum, testing should include a low frequency such as 500 Hz
and a high frequency such as 2000 or 4000 Hz for each ear, attempt down to 20
dBnHL or until response extinguishes)

Note: Insert earphones are recommended unless contraindicated.
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PARENT COUNSELING, RECOMMENDATIONS AND REFERRALS

FOR INFANTS WITH NORMAL HEARING
Review with parents:

O

O
O
O

Results of the audiologic assessment

Information about typical speech, language and listening development

Risk factors for delayed onset or progressive hearing loss (Appendix A)

Recommended timeframes for re-assessment if risk factors are present; retest at least
once by 24-30 months, or more frequently for some conditions

Refer every child with middle ear dysfunction for a medical evaluation and/or a follow-up
hearing assessment.

FOR INFANTS WITH CONFIRMED HEARING LOSS
Review with parents:

O
O

O
O
O

Results and implications of the audiologic assessment

Unbiased information/resources regarding amplification (hearing aids, cochlear
implants, FM systems) , education and communication options

Information regarding the need for a primary care provider and/or medical home
Information regarding the importance of, and resources for, early intervention
The availability and importance of parent to parent support

Refer every child with middle ear dysfunction for a medical evaluation and/or a follow-up
hearing assessment. Completion of the diagnostic test battery should not be delayed beyond 3
months of age pending resolution of middle ear effusion.

Refer every child with hearing loss to an otolaryngologist for examination and clearance for
amplification.

Refer every child with hearing loss to an early intervention program.

In consultation with the infant’s primary care physician, specialty evaluations such as genetic
testing and ophthalmology should be offered.

If appropriate, initiate the amplification process and ensure fitting by an audiologist experienced
in working with infants and toddlers.

Nevada Infant Audiologic Assessment Guidelines Page 10



PRINCIPLES OF AUDIOLOGICAL MANAGEMENT

e Infants with confirmed hearing loss should be monitored audiologically at least every six months
through age 3 and annually thereafter or until hearing is stable.

e Most infants and toddlers with hearing loss benefit from some form of personal amplification.

e If chosen by family, selection and fitting of amplification should occur within one month of
confirmation of hearing loss. Loaner hearing aids from state, non-profit, or manufacturer
sponsored programs should be utilized to ensure timely access to amplification when financial
or insurance barriers are present.

e Definitive resolution of otitis media/middle ear fluid should never delay the fitting of an
amplification device.

e Based on degree of residual hearing, those with minimal, mild and unilateral hearing loss should
be considered for trial use of amplification and/or personal FM systems.

e Trial use of amplification may be appropriate for children with neural hearing loss such as
auditory neuropathy/auditory dyssynchrony (AN/AD) when supported by reduced behavioral
audiometric thresholds.

e Hearing aid fitting and programming should be based on frequency specific thresholds for each
ear. Forinfants under 6 months of age, frequency specific ABR is necessary for accurate
estimation of the degree and configuration of hearing loss. Click ABR alone is not sufficient for
accurate hearing aid fitting.

e Hearing aid fitting should be provided by an audiologist knowledgeable in the current pediatric
amplification protocol developed by the American Academy of Audiology and experienced in
fitting the very young child.

e Verification and validation measures should be utilized.

e Hearing Instrument orientation and training should be discussed, demonstrated and sent home
in a written or video format. When possible, include all family members, caregivers, early
interventionists, and the child.

e Fitting of amplification on an infant or young child is an ongoing process. Minimally, follow-up
appointments should occur every three months during the first two years of amplification, and
at least every six months after that.

e Cochlear implantation should be given careful consideration for children who meet the
audiological requirements and receive limited benefit from trial use of appropriately fit hearing
aids.
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REPORTING TEST RESULTS TO THE MEDICAL CARE PROVIDER, THE STATE
DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH, AND PART C - EARLY
INTERVENTION

e For Infants with Normal Hearing
o Report assessment results to the primary medical care provider.
o Provide assessment results to the Nevada State, Early Hearing Detection and
Intervention (EHDI) Program. Fax or email the “Audiological Follow-Up Report for
Newborn Hearing Screening Referrals” form along with a copy of the actual audiology
report/result. (Appendix B)

e For Infants with Hearing Loss

o Report assessment results to the primary medical care provider.

o Provide assessment results to the Nevada State, Early Hearing Detection and
Intervention (EHDI) Program after each evaluation until it is determined that the infant
has normal hearing or the type, degree, and configuration of permanent hearing loss
has been diagnosed. Fax or email the “Audiological Follow-Up Report for Newborn
Hearing Screening Referrals” form along with a copy of the actual audiology
report/results. (Appendix B)

o Provide notification of hearing aid fitting or cochlear implantation to the Nevada State,
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Program by faxing or emailing the
“Audiological Follow-Up Report for Newborn Hearing Screening Referrals” form.
(Appendix B)

o Provide the assessment results and the family’s contact information to the Part C — Early
Intervention Program. The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Sec. 303.321,
requires that referrals be made within seven working days after a child has been
identified. (Appendix C)
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Appendix A

Risk Factors Associated with Permanent Congenital, Delayed-Onset,
or Progressive Hearing Loss in Childhood
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Risk Factors Associated with Permanent Congenital, Delayed-Onset,
or Progressive Hearing Loss in Childhood

e Caregiver concern regarding hearing, speech or language development

e Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss

¢ Neonatal intensive care unit admission greater than five days

e Maechanical ventilation or extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)

¢ In utero infections
o such as cytomegalovirus (CMV), herpes, rubella, syphilis and toxoplasmosis

e Hyperbilirubinemia requiring exchange transfusion

e Exposure to ototoxic medications
o such as gentamycin, tobramycin, furosemide/Lasix

e Craniofacial anomalies, especially of the ear or temporal bone
o such as ear tags, ear pits, microtia, atresia

e Physical findings, such as a white forelock, that are associated with a syndrome known
to include permanent hearing loss

e Syndromes associated with permanent, delayed-onset, or progressive hearing loss
o such as neurofibromatosis, osteopetrosis, Usher, Waardenburg, Alport, Pendred

e Neurodegenerative disorders and sensory motor neuropathies
o such as Hunters, Friedreich ataxia and Charcot-Marie-Tooth

e Postnatal infections associated with sensorineural hearing loss
o such as bacterial or viral meningitis, especially herpes virus and varicella

e Head trauma
o such as basal skull and temporal bone fractures requiring hospitalization

e Chemotherapy
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Appendix B

Nevada EHDI Audiological Follow-up Reporting Form
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STATE OF NEVADA

EIIIII AUDIOLOGICAL FOLLOW —UP REPORT
ol oty Do i FOR NEWBORN HEARING SCREENING REFERRALS

FAX 10 EHDI AT: 775-688-2984

NAME OF CHILD: BIRTHDATE: GENDER: MALE O/ FEMALE O
BIRTH HOSPITAL: MOTHER'S LAST NAME AT BABY'S BIRTH:
MOTHER'S FIRST AND LAST NAME: MOTHER'S DATE OF BIRTH:
FATHER'S FIRST AND LAST NAME: LANGUAGE (IF NOT ENGLISH):
ADDRESS: ciry: ZIP:
HOME PHONE: WORK PHONE: CELL PHONE:
EMERGENCY CONTACT: CONTACT PHONE:
BABY'S PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIAN : PHYSICIAN'S PHONE:
ENT / OTOLOGIST: ENT'S PHONE:
TESTING THAT DETERMINED HEARING LEVELS (MARK ALL THAT APPLY)
ABR: OAE TEST RESULTS: BEHAVIORAL:
O CuLcks RIGHT LEFT O VRA
O TONE BURSTS/PIPS O 0O NORMAL O BOA
0 BONE CONDUCTION O [0 ABNORMAL O PLAY
O ASSR O CONVENTIONAL
DEGREE OF HEARING LOSS BASED ON PTA TYPE OF HEARING LOSS:
RIGHT LEFT RIGHT LEFT
O O NORMAL (0-15 dBHL) O O TRANSIENT CONDUCTIVE
O O SuUGHT (16-25 dBHL) O O PERMANENT CONDUCTIVE
O O MiLD (26-40 OBHL) O [0 SENSORINEURAL
O O MODERATE (41-55 ABHL) O O Mixep
O O MOoD-SEVERE (56 - 70 ABHL) O O NEUROPATHY/DYS-SYNCHRONY
O O SevEeRE (71 - 90 dBHL) O 0 UNDETERMINED
O O PROFOUND (91 + dBHL)
O O UNDETERMINED
COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS:
O Other disabilities/concerns:
O Additional audiological testing has been scheduled on:
O Child has been referred to:
O Hearing aids were recommended for: 0 RIGHT [ LEFT
O Hearing aid fitting date: O RigHT O LeFr

IF PERMANENT HEARING LOSS SUSPECTED/CONFIRMED, WAS CHILD REFERRED TO PART C EARLY INTERVENTION SERVICES AS
REQUIRED BY IDEA FEDERAL LAW? [ YEs O NoO

DATE OF EXAM: CHILD MISSED EXxAM ON: FAX DATE:

AUDIOLOGIST'S NAME: OFFICE NAME: PHONE:

Please fax along with assessment results within 48 hours to: 775-688-2984
Nevada Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Program
Infant Follow-Up and Data Coordinator —
Phone: 775-688-0382 Page 17




Appendix C

Nevada Early Intervention Program Referral Forms

Nevada Early Intervention Services Northwest
Nevada Early Intervention Services Northeast
Nevada Early Intervention Services South
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Nevada Early Intervention Program Referral Form

Please complete this form for referring a child to Early Intervention (Part C) if you prefer to do so in writing. Also please indicate the feedback
that you want to receive from the Early Intervention Program in response to your referral. Diagnosis of a specific condition or disorder is not
necessary for a referral however, children must show a 50% delay in 1 area or a 25% delay in 2 areas of development to qualify for early
intervention services.

Parent/Child Contact Information

Child Name: Interpreter Need: [1Yes [1No
Date of Birth: / / Child Age: (Months) __ Gender: M F Race:

Home Address:

Parent/Guardian Relationship to Child:

Primary Language: Home Phone: Other Phone:

Second Contact; Relationship to Child: Phone Number:

Emergency Contact: Relationship to Family: Phone or Cell Number:

Reason(s) for Referral to Early Intervention

(Please check all that apply)

O Identified condition or diagnosis (e.g., spina bifida, PKU, etc.):
O Suspected developmental delay or concern (Please circle areas of concern):

Motor/Physical  Cognitive ~ Social/Emotional ~ Speech/Language  Behavior Vision Hearing

Newborn Hearing Screen Referral:  Passed  Failed
Other (Describe):

Referral Source Contact Information

Referring Agency:

Contact Name: Date of Referral: / /
Address:

Office Phone Office Fax: E-mail

Feedback Requested by the Referral Agency (For Professional Use Only)

Date Referral Received: / / Date of Initial Appointment with Child/Family: / /
Name of Assigned Service Coordinator:

Office Phone: Office Fax: E-mail:

After initial appointment, please send the following information:

O Status of Initial Family Contact o Family Declined Service

O Developmental Evaluation Results O Eligibility Status o Eligible  cNot Eligible

O Other (Describe):

Release of Information Consent (Optional)

l, (Print name of parent or guardian), give my permission for my pediatric health care

provider and/or Early Intervention Services, (print provider's name), to share any and all
pertinent information regarding my child, (print child’s name).
Parent/Legal Guardian Signature Date: / /

Send Referral To:

Nevada Early Intervention Services Northwest
FAX 775-688-2984

This form was adapted by Nevada from a form created through collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Tracking, Referral and Assessment
Center for Excellence, Orelena Hawks Puckett Institute, Inc. The development of this form was supported, in part, by funding from the US Department of Education,
Office of Special Education Programs, Research to Practice Division (H324G020002).
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Nevada Early Intervention Program Referral Form

Please complete this form for referring a child to Early Intervention (Part C) if you prefer to do so in writing. Also please indicate the feedback
that you want to receive from the Early Intervention Program in response to your referral. Diagnosis of a specific condition or disorder is not
necessary for a referral however, children must show a 50% delay in 1 area or a 25% delay in 2 areas of development to qualify for early
intervention services.

Parent/Child Contact Information

Child Name: Interpreter Need: [1Yes [1No
Date of Birth: / / Child Age: (Months) __ Gender: M F Race:

Home Address:

Parent/Guardian Relationship to Child:

Primary Language: Home Phone: Other Phone:

Second Contact; Relationship to Child: Phone Number:

Emergency Contact: Relationship to Family: Phone or Cell Number:

Reason(s) for Referral to Early Intervention

(Please check all that apply)

O Identified condition or diagnosis (e.g., spina bifida, PKU, etc.):
O Suspected developmental delay or concern (Please circle areas of concern):

Motor/Physical  Cognitive ~ Social/Emotional ~ Speech/Language  Behavior Vision Hearing

Newborn Hearing Screen Referral:  Passed  Failed
Other (Describe):

Referral Source Contact Information

Referring Agency:

Contact Name: Date of Referral: / /
Address:

Office Phone Office Fax: E-mail

Feedback Requested by the Referral Agency (For Professional Use Only)

Date Referral Received: / / Date of Initial Appointment with Child/Family: / /
Name of Assigned Service Coordinator:

Office Phone: Office Fax: E-mail:

After initial appointment, please send the following information:

O Status of Initial Family Contact o Family Declined Service

O Developmental Evaluation Results O Eligibility Status o Eligible  cNot Eligible

O Other (Describe):

Release of Information Consent (Optional)

l, (Print name of parent or guardian), give my permission for my pediatric health care

provider and/or Early Intervention Services, (print provider's name), to share any and all
pertinent information regarding my child, (print child’s name).
Parent/Legal Guardian Signature Date: / /

Send Referral To:

Nevada Early Intervention Services Northeast
FAX 775-753-1374

This form was adapted by Nevada from a form created through collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Tracking, Referral and Assessment
Center for Excellence, Orelena Hawks Puckett Institute, Inc. The development of this form was supported, in part, by funding from the US Department of Education,
Office of Special Education Programs, Research to Practice Division (H324G020002).
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Nevada Early Intervention Program Referral Form

Please complete this form for referring a child to Early Intervention (Part C) if you prefer to do so in writing. Also please indicate the feedback
that you want to receive from the Early Intervention Program in response to your referral. Diagnosis of a specific condition or disorder is not
necessary for a referral however, children must show a 50% delay in 1 area or a 25% delay in 2 areas of development to qualify for early
intervention services.

Parent/Child Contact Information

Child Name: Interpreter Need: [1Yes [1No
Date of Birth: / / Child Age: (Months) __ Gender: M F Race:

Home Address:

Parent/Guardian Relationship to Child:

Primary Language: Home Phone: Other Phone:

Second Contact; Relationship to Child: Phone Number:

Emergency Contact: Relationship to Family: Phone or Cell Number:

Reason(s) for Referral to Early Intervention

(Please check all that apply)

O Identified condition or diagnosis (e.g., spina bifida, PKU, etc.):
O Suspected developmental delay or concern (Please circle areas of concern):

Motor/Physical  Cognitive ~ Social/Emotional ~ Speech/Language  Behavior Vision Hearing

Newborn Hearing Screen Referral:  Passed  Failed
Other (Describe):

Referral Source Contact Information

Referring Agency:

Contact Name: Date of Referral: / /
Address:

Office Phone Office Fax: E-mail

Feedback Requested by the Referral Agency (For Professional Use Only)

Date Referral Received: / / Date of Initial Appointment with Child/Family: / /
Name of Assigned Service Coordinator:

Office Phone: Office Fax: E-mail:

After initial appointment, please send the following information:

O Status of Initial Family Contact o Family Declined Service

O Developmental Evaluation Results O Eligibility Status o Eligible  cNot Eligible

O Other (Describe):

Release of Information Consent (Optional)

l, (Print name of parent or guardian), give my permission for my pediatric health care

provider and/or Early Intervention Services, (print provider's name), to share any and all
pertinent information regarding my child, (print child’s name).
Parent/Legal Guardian Signature Date: / /

Send Referral To:

Nevada Early Intervention Services South
FAX 702-486-7686

This form was adapted by Nevada from a form created through collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Tracking, Referral and Assessment
Center for Excellence, Orelena Hawks Puckett Institute, Inc. The development of this form was supported, in part, by funding from the US Department of Education,
Office of Special Education Programs, Research to Practice Division (H324G020002).
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