
 

 

1.What are the initial requirements for new employees? 

New hires must be fingerprinted by your local law enforcement 

agency within 24 hours of hire. This includes the facility notifying 

Child Care Licensing of the new hire using the current Change in 

Personnel form, submission of the fully completed, and current 

Consent and Release form signed by law enforcement and the 

Director. 

New hires must have a negative Tb Test completed before they may 

begin work. 

New hires may not be left unattended with children until you have 

received a Clearance Memo. 

Within the first 2 weeks, the new hire must be provided with an oral 

and written orientation to the facility, your policies and procedures 

and Child Care Licensing requirements. This must be documented 

with signatures and dates and kept in the employee’s file. 

Within the first 90 days, new hires must complete in person training 

in CPR/ FA that addresses the ages of all the children in your facility 

and Signs of Illness/ Bloodbourne Pathogens. Additional training 

that may be in person or online include 3 hours of Child 

Development, Guidance or Discipline, Recognizing and Reporting 

Child Abuse and Sudden Infant Death Syndrome training if the new 

hire will be working with infants 1 year of age and under. 

Application must also be made to the Nevada Registry upon 

completion of all initial requirements. 

2. What is the process for becoming licensed (for business 

license and child care license) and how much does it cost?  

Because requirements vary by jurisdiction, you should contact the 

Surveyor for your area to get information on becoming 

licensed.  Some areas have zoning restrictions, special use permits, 

business license requirements, fire or health restrictions, etc. which 

may have associated costs.   

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

3.What facilities require a director and what qualifications do I 

need to become a director?  

Institutions and Centers require an approved Director. Please look in 

the forms section of this website for applications and specific 

requirements for each type of Director.  

 

4.Where can I find information regarding training requirements? 

Currently, all facility employees, except Family and Group Care 

Homes are required to complete 24 annual training hours depending 

on when the facility license expires. Family and Group Care Home 

Providers are currently required to complete 15 hours of annual 

training. Annual training MUST include at least 2 hours of training in 

Health, Obesity and/ or Wellness. 

The Nevada Registry website at www.nevadaregistry.org provides 

listings of all approved training hours for the state. You may also 

complete Early Childhood College Courses which translate to 15 

training hours per credit taken.  

 

5.I am moving to a new facility, do I need to be re-fingerprinted? 

It depends. When moving to a new facility, if you have an unexpired 

Clearance Memo from Child Care Licensing, you must complete a 

current Consent and Release and the facility must complete a Change 

in Personnel in order to be issued an updated Clearance Memo for 

your current facility. 

 

Some fingerprints can be used across jurisdictions but you will need 

to contact your local policing agency for clarification.    

 

6.Who counts in the ratio? 

Any staff or volunteers who have a completed Background Check and 

have taken First Aid and Signs of Illness can be counted as caregivers 

for ratios, as can caregivers under the age of 18. Each volunteer and 

caregiver under the age of 18 must be supervised by a fully qualified 

caregiver over the age of 18 at all times.  

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.nevadaregistry.org/


 

 

7.What is the ratio of children to caregivers? 

Centers Operating from 6:30 am- 9:00 pm 

Age of ALL 
Children in 
Room 

# Caregivers #Children 

Under 9 mos 1 4 

9mos-18mos 1 6 

18mos-3 yrs 1 8 

Note: If a room contains children of varying age 

groups (e.g., birth- 2 years), the ratio is 

determined by taking the average age of all the 

children in the room. Additionally, if there are 

more than 6 children present, there must be at 

least 2 caregivers on duty. 

Older than 2 
years but less 
than 3 years 

1 10 

2 years and 
older 

1 1-6 

 2 7-20 

 3 21-35 

 4 36-50 

 5 51-65 

 6 66-80 

 7 81-93 

For every 13 children in excess of 93, one 

additional caregiver is needed. 

Center Operating from 9:00 pm- 6:30 am 

All Ages 1 1-15 

 2 16-31 

 3 32-46 

 4 47-61 

For every 15 children in excess of 61, one 

additional caregiver is needed. 

Family Care Homes: A private residence where 

the Licensee resides and provides care to 

between 2- 6 children. 

Age of Children Maximum # Children 

Birth- 1 year 2 

Birth – 2 years 4 
(only 2 under the age 
of 1 year) 

All Ages 6 

With approval from Child Care Licensing, a 

Family Care may provide care for up to 3 

additional children between the ages of 6 and 

16 during before and after school times. The 

providers’ own children under the age of 10 

must be counted as “additional children”. 

 

Group Care Homes: A private residence where 

a licensee resides and regularly provides care 

to 7-12 children. 

Age of 
Children 

# of 
Caregivers 

# of Children 

Birth- 1 year 
(4 maximum) 

1 
2 

1-2 
3-4 

Birth- 2 years 
(8 maximum) 

1 
2 

1-4 
5-8 

All Ages 1 
2 

1-6 
7-12 

With approval from Child Care Licensing, a 

Group Care may provide care for up to 3 

additional children between the ages of 6 and 

16 before and after school times

. 

8.Can a facility accept a child who is not immunized? 

Yes. The parent or guardian must provide you with a Medical or 

Religious Exemption which must be kept in the child’s file. 

Additionally, you may wish to have a policy wherein children who are 

not immunized against certain diseases may be excluded from your 

program in the event of an outbreak. 



 

 

 

9.I own a house, can I use it to provide child care if I don’t live 

there? 

As a Family or Group Care provider you are required to live in the 

home where services are provided. 

 

10.Are there any requirements/restrictions for meal service? 

You will need to check with your local Health Department to find out. 

Preparing fresh cooked meals from raw food typically requires a 

Kitchen Permit. Assembling simple sandwiches and snacks or 

reheating foods generally does not require a permit.  

 

11.Do I need a Child Care License? Who needs a Child Care 

License? 

A license is required by the State of Nevada for the provision of child 

care services to more than 4 children who are not related to you 

and/or for whom you receive payment. Some jurisdictions have 

different requirements, so check with your town, city or county to see 

if you need a Special Use Permit as well. An accommodation facility, 

such as a gym, may provide care to children without a license if they 

do not receive any type of compensation, ie: “facility fee” for that 

service. There still may be fire code limits on how many children they 

may care for at one time. Also, be advised, unlicensed facilities may 

not have the same standards of care as are required for licensed 

facilities. 

 

12.Who do I call to get more information? 

The Southern Nevada Child Care Licensing Office can be reached by 

calling: (702)486-3822. The Northern Nevada Child Care Licensing 

Office can be reached by calling: (775)684-4463 and the Rural Nevada 

Office can be contacted at: (775)753-1237. If you are in Washoe 

County, you may call: (775)337-4470. 

 

13.What are the rules for operating a Child Care? 

Child Care Licensing Regulations can be found online here: 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-432A.html or by searching for NAC432A or 

NRS432A. 

 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-432A.html


 

 

 

 

14.Who else needs to inspect? 

Depending on where you are located, your facility may need to be 

inspected by the Health Department. Contact your surveyor for more 

information on whether this is required. Additionally, all facilities 

must have an annual Fire/ Life Safety inspection. Your surveyor can 

provide you with more information. 

 

15.My health department says I can use something different for 

sanitizing. Is that ok? 

Child Care Licensing recognizes our professional partners. If your 

local Health Department has indicated that you may use an alternative 

to the two step procedure outlined in Child Care Regulations, we will 

accept that alternative, however, disinfecting wipes of any kind are 

NOT a substitute for sanitizing compounds. 

 

16.How much square footage is needed per child? 

A facility must have 35 square feet of space per child indoors, not 

including hallways, bathrooms or kitchens and 37.5 square feet of 

space per child outdoors. In addition, there must be 5 square feet of 

shaded area per child outdoors during the months of April to 

September. Your Child Care Surveyor can assist you with measuring. 

 

17.Where can I find a listing of Licensed Child Care Facilities in 

Nevada? 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/ChildCare/Child_Care_Licensing_-_Home/  Click on the “Provider” 

link on the right hand side of the page. 

 

18.Where can I file a complaint against a Child Care? 

Feel free to call your local Child Care Licensing office at the numbers 

noted above if you have any concerns regarding a child care facility 

in the state of Nevada. Child Care Licensing wants to ensure the safety 

and wellbeing of children in out of home care.  

 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/ChildCare/Child_Care_Licensing_-_Home/

