

## Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health Technical Bulletin



## **Topic: Technical Bulletin for Annual Registration of Mammography Machines**

Section/Program/Contact: Karen Beckley, Manager, Radiation Control Program

## **TO: Mammography Machine Registrants**

## Date: March 8, 2017

The information contained in this bulletin is for all Nevada Registrants of Mammography Radiation Producing Machines under the Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) Chapter 457 and Nevada Administrative Codes (NAC), Chapter 457 and Chapter 459. The Radiation Control Program (RCP) has identified the need to clarify the Registration Procedure for Mammography Machines. There are two registration forms available, the one to use depends on whether or not the machine will be used to perform mammography. A mammography machine may be registered and regulated through the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) in NRS\NAC Chapter 457, or as a Non-MQSA machine in NAC Chapter 459. When registering as a Non-MQSA mammography machine, specific requirements and restrictions apply. The forms are available on our website <a href="http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/Radiation\_Control\_Programs/">http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/Radiation\_Control\_Programs/</a>

1. "Mammography Machine Application for Certificate of Authorization" form. For use when a mammography machine is regulated under the MQSA in NRS\NAC Chapter 457. This allows the mammography machine to be used to perform mammography. **This form has not changed, the documentation listed must be submitted with the form at time of application / renewal, including any supplemental prerequisites for certification of machine.** This registration /annual renewal fee is \$551.00.

2. "Non-MQSA Mammography Machine Annual Registration" form. For use when a mammography machine is not regulated by NRS\NAC Chapter 457. It is regulated in NAC Chapter 459. This allows the mammography machine to be used for any purpose other than mammography and specifically revokes the use of the machine for mammographic examinations. When using this registration form the following documentation must be submitted with the form at time of application / renewal. This registration /annual renewal fee is \$500.00.

- A Mammography Machine Operator under Chapter 459, (NAC) 459.156(2) must meet <u>one</u> of the following training requirements to be a qualified individual. Provide a copy of documentation showing:
  - 1. A current AART (M) credential, OR
  - 2. A current Nevada State Certified Mammographer certificate, OR
  - 3. Have documentation showing five (5) hands-on training procedures supervised by an individual listed above, OR an individual previously qualified through the process above. Hands-on training procedures must include the proper use and operation of the compression device.
- Safe Operation of Mammography Machine:
  - 1. Submit a copy of the policy and procedures documenting the safe operation of the mammography machine.
  - 2. Submit a copy of the review policy for safe operation of the mammography machine.
- 3. Submit a copy of the techniques chart for all exams performed and post by the operators control console.

- Medical Physicist Annual Survey:
  - 1. Submit a copy of the Medical Physicist Annual Survey according to the manufacturer's recommendations for the mammography machine only.

Additionally, at time of application / renewal, the facility must commit to:

- Operating the machine according to the manufacturer's recommendations.
- Performing compression testing per manufacturers guidelines.
- Performing the recommended Annual Physicist Survey for the machine only, and after any service or repairs that could affect safe machine operations.
- Not performing any Screening or Diagnostic Mammograms.
- Keep three (3) year's record retention of all mammography machine documentation.

The Radiation Control Program will be inspecting your records for compliance with this change during the next inspection at your facility. If you have any questions please call the RCP at (775) 687-7550.

reckley March 8, 2017 DATE

Karen K. Beckley, MPA, MS Manager, Radiation Control Program