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NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Intent to Adopt Regulations 

(LCB File No. R149-15) 

 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the State Board of Health will hold a public hearing to 

consider amendments to Chapter 652 of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC), Medical 

Laboratories. This public hearing is to be held in conjunction with the State Board of Health 

meeting on March 10, 2017.   

  

The State Board of Health will be conducted via videoconference beginning at 9:00 a.m. on 

Friday, March 10, 2017 at the following locations:   

  

Division of Public and 

Behavioral Health 

4150 Technology Way 

Room #303 

Carson City, NV 89706 

Southern Nevada Health 

District 

280 S. Decatur Blvd 

Las Vegas, NV 89107 

 

Division of Aging and Disability 

Services 

Early Intervention Services 

1020 Ruby Vista Drive, Suite 102 

Elko, NV 

 

The proposed changes to NAC 652 include the following: 

1) Brings the proposed regulations in compliance with Assembly Bill (AB) 243 of the 2015 

Legislative Session which directs that any regulations adopted by the Board of Health must 

not require the laboratory director in which only an HIV waived test is performed to be a 

licensed physician.  It also does not require personnel performing the test to obtain 

certification as an assistant if the person submits proof of successful completion of training 

approved by the Division.  

2) Expands the types of healthcare professionals that can serve as an exempt laboratory 

director.  

3) Deems a laboratory licensed pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and Nevada 

Administrative Code (NAC) of Chapter 652 which is also permitted as defined in NRS 

450B.100 and certified laboratory personnel who work in the laboratory, to have met the 

payment of required certification and licensure fees, as applicable.    

4) Clarifies that a permit to operate a laboratory at a temporary location expires 90 days after 

the effective date of the permit.  

5) Clarifies that exempt laboratories must adopt nationally recognized laboratory safety 

guidelines.  

6) Expands the certification that an applicant that holds a doctorate degree can use to qualify to 

be a licensed or registered laboratory director.    

7) Outlines the fee to be assessed for a laboratory that only performs waived HIV tests.   

8) Instead of requiring a $300 application fee plus $50 for each additional specialty or 

subspecialties in which tests will be performed, the proposed regulations allow a laboratory 

to add as many tests as it wants to on one application for a flat rate of $300.  
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9) Brings proficiency testing standards in line with federal regulation requirements.   

10) Provides a method for a technologist to obtain the required one year of experience in 

Nevada instead of having to go out of state to obtain the experience, if they don’t already 

have the experience.  If a technologist does not have the required experience to become 

certified as a technologist, a provisional certificate would be required in order to work.   

11) Changes the time a provisional certificate is good for from 180 days after the date of issue 

with the ability to request no more than three provisional certificates to one provisional 

certificate that cannot be renewed which would be good for 18 months.  

 

1. Anticipated effects on the business which NAC 652 regulates:  

A. Adverse effects: None.  

B. Beneficial: Potential cost savings for exempt laboratories who will have increased 

flexibility in the type of health care professional that can serve as the laboratory 

director, cost savings for agencies permitted as defined in NRS 450B.100 who are also 

licensed as a laboratory, and cost savings for laboratory personnel applicants that 

apply for a provisional certificate who would have to request more than one certificate. 

The proposed regulations would make it easier to open a laboratory that only performs 

HIV waived tests through lower licensing fees and by increasing the flexibility of who 

can serve as the laboratory director and perform the HIV waived tests.       

C. Immediate: The cost savings and flexibility noted above would be immediately 

available.  

D. Long-term: Continued cost savings.   

2. Anticipated effects on the public:  

A.  Adverse: None.  

B.  Beneficial: It will also technologists educated in Nevada to obtain the required one 

year of experience in Nevada instead of having to go out of state to obtain the experience, 

if they don’t already have the experience. It would also be a cost savings to applicants 

who have to pay for more than one provisional certificate.  

C.  Immediate: The cost savings noted above would be immediately available.  

D.  Long-term: May result in more newly educated technologists staying in Nevada to 

work.   

 

3. The estimated cost to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health for enforcement of the 

proposed regulations is to be covered by current licensing and certification fees outlined in NAC 

652.488, in addition to the proposed fee to license laboratories that only perform HIV waived 

testing in the proposed regulations.    

 

The proposed regulations do not overlap or duplicate any other Nevada state regulations.  

Federal regulations do not have any requirements for the individual that serves as the laboratory 

director for an exempt laboratory.  The proposed regulations expand the type of healthcare 

professionals that can serve as the laboratory director of an exempt laboratory, but remain more 
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stringent than federal regulations that do not require that the director be a healthcare 

professional.   

 

Members of the public may make oral comments at this meeting. Persons wishing to submit 

written testimony or documentary evidence in excess of two typed, 8-1/2” x 11” pages must 

submit the material to the Board’s Secretary, Cody Phinney, to be received no later than 

February 17, 2017 at the following address:   

 

Secretary, State Board of Health 

Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4150 Technology Way, Suite 300 

Carson City, NV 89706 

 

Written comments, testimony, or documentary evidence in excess of two typed pages will not be 

accepted at the time of the hearing.  The purpose of this requirement is to allow Board members 

adequate time to review the documents.  

  

A copy of the notice and proposed regulations are on file for inspection and/or may be copied at 

the following locations during normal business hours:  

  

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health    Nevada State Library  

727 Fairview Drive, Suite E     100 Stewart Street  

Carson City, NV 89701      Carson City, NV 89701  

 

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

4220 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 810, Building D 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 

     

A copy of the regulations and small business impact statement can be found on-line by going to: 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/MedicalLabs/Notice_of_Public_Workshops_and_Proposed_Regulations/  

 

A copy of the public hearing notice can also be found at Nevada Legislature’s web page:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/    

 

Copies may be obtained in person, by mail, or by calling the Division of Public and Behavioral 

Health at (775) 684-1030 in Carson City or (702) 486-6515 in Las Vegas.   

Copies may also be obtained from any of the public libraries listed below:  

Carson City Library                       Churchill County Library 

900 North Roop Street 553 South Main Street 

Carson City, NV 89702 Fallon, NV 89406 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/MedicalLabs/Notice_of_Public_Workshops_and_Proposed_Regulations/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Notice/A/
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Clark County District Library Douglas County Library 

1401 East Flamingo Road 1625 Library Lane 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 Minden, NV 89423 

Elko County Library Esmeralda County Library 

720 Court Street Corner of Crook and 4th Street 

Elko, NV 89801 Goldfield, NV 89013-0484 

Eureka Branch Library Henderson District Public Library 

80 South Monroe Street 280 South Green Valley Parkway 

Eureka, NV 89316-0283 Henderson, NV 89012 

Humboldt County Library   Lander County Library 

85 East 5th Street 625 South Broad Street 

Winnemucca, NV 89445-3095 Battle Mountain, NV 89820-0141 

Lincoln County Library Lyon County Library 

93 Maine Street 20 Nevin Way 

Pioche, NV 89043-0330 Yerington, NV 89447-2399 

Mineral County Library Pahrump Library District 

110 1st Street 701 East Street 

Hawthorne, NV 89415-1390 Pahrump, NV 89041-0578 

Pershing County Library Storey County Library 

1125 Central Avenue 95 South R Street 

Lovelock, NV 89419-0781 Virginia City, NV 89440-0014 

Tonopah Public Library   Washoe County Library 

167 Central Street 301 South Center Street 

Tonopah, NV 89049-0449 Reno, NV 89505-2151 

White Pine County Library 

950 Campton Street 

Ely, NV 89301-1965 

Per NRS 233B.064(2), upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an 

interested person, either prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise 

statement of the principal reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein its reason 

for overruling the consideration urged against its adoption.  

  


