
PROGRAM FACTS 
 
• The cost to request an application for the Medical Marijuana Program is $25. The cost to 
register or renew registration in the Medical Marijuana Program is $75.00.  
 

• Your caregiver can be anyone as long as they are over the age of 18 and your physician 
approves of that person as a caregiver. Please be aware that pursuant to NRS 453A.250 and 

NAC 453A.150: 
1. A cardholder may have only one caregiver; 
2. A caregiver can only be a caregiver to one cardholder; and 
3. A cardholder cannot be a caregiver to another cardholder.   
 

• A person under 18 must have permission from their custodial parent or their guardian who is in 
charge of their medical decisions. And that person MUST act as the minor’s primary caregiver. 
 

• Only a physician who is licensed under NRS 630 or NRS 633 can sign a “Physician’s 
Statement”. That means only a medical doctor or osteopathic doctor licensed in the State of 
Nevada. 
 

• The specific reasons a person can be denied participation in the Medical Marijuana Program 
are: 

1) Failure to provide the required information. 
 

2) Failure to establish the qualifying medical condition. 
 

3) Failure to document the consultation with an attending physician regarding the   medical use 
of marijuana in connection with the qualifying medical condition. 

 
4) Failure to comply with the regulations adopted by the Department of Health and Human 

Services and the Administrator of the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH). 
 

5) The Division of Health and Human Services determines that the information provided by the 
applicant was falsified. 

 
6) The DPBH determines that the attending physician of the applicant is not licensed to practice 

medicine in this state or is not in good standing, as reported by the Board of Medical 
Examiners. 

 
7) The DPBH determines that the applicant, or the designated primary caregiver, if applicable, 

has been convicted of knowingly or intentionally selling a controlled substance. 
 

8) The DPBH has previously prohibited the applicant from obtaining or using a registry 
identification card. 

 
9) In the case of a person under 18 years of age, the custodial parent or legal guardian with 

responsibility for health care decisions for the person has not signed the written statement 
required. 

 

• A card is good for one year only. It must be renewed annually, one year from the date your 
application was stamped. The same procedure used in the original registration process must be 
followed. 
 
• The DPBH cannot advise you on where to buy marijuana seeds or how to grow the plants, nor 
can we refer you to a doctor. 
 



• NRS 453A.200 allows the holder of a valid card to possess: (Effective April 1, 2014 through 
March 31, 2016) 
 

 Two and one half ounces of usable marijuana in any one 14 day period  
 Twelve marijuana plants, irrespective of whether the marijuana plants are mature 

or immature  
 

• “Marijuana” includes, without limitations edible and infused products as defined in NRS 
453A.101 and 112.  
 

• "Usable marijuana," as defined in NRS 453A.160, means the seeds, dried leaves and flowers 
of a plant of the genus Cannabis, and any mixture or preparation thereof that is appropriate for 
the medical use of marijuana. The term does not include the stalks and roots of the plant. 
 

• Issuance of a Nevada Medical Marijuana Registry card does not exempt the holder from 
prosecution under the state or federal laws that apply to marijuana and is not recognized by the 
federal government. NRS 453A is a state law; it does not address federal laws.  It is 
recommended you discuss the limitations and liabilities that are associated with existing federal 
laws with your personal attorney.  

 

• The registry card is issued for use in Nevada, and may not be recognized in other states.  
 

• The DPBH does not make any medical decisions about an application. Your own, personal 
physician decides if you have a “qualifying disease”. The DPBH sees that an applicant is in 
compliance with the law and if so, arranges for that person to be issued a registry card. 
 

• Changes can be made to the DPBH in writing and must include a copy of the 
cardholder/caregiver’s Nevada driver’s license or identification card. The DPBH MUST be 
notified of the following changes within 7 days of the change. 
 

Cardholders:   Change of address 
Change of phone number 
Change in medical status 
Change of status with regard to criminal convictions 
Lost or stolen MMR card 
If you have changed your designated caregiver or are no longer 
using a caregiver 

 
Caregivers:   Change of address 

Change of phone number 
Change of status with regard to criminal convictions 
Lost or stolen MMR card 
Change in the medical status of your cardholder 
If you are no longer caregiver to your cardholder 
If your cardholder dies 

 
Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Medical Marijuana Registry 
4150 Technology Way, Suite 104 

Carson City, NV 89706 
(775)-687-7594 

 
Your program registration card can be revoked if you fail to notify us of these changes 

and this could prevent you from future entry into the program. 
 
IF AT ANYTIME YOU LEAVE THE PROGRAM YOU MUST RETURN THE REGISTRY CARD 

TO THIS DIVISION WITHIN 7 DAYS. 


