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Community-Based Living Arrangement Services 

Employee Background Check Instructions 

On Dec. 19, 2018, LCB File No. R134-18 amending Chapter 433 of Nevada Administrative Code 

(NAC) became effective. LCB File No. R134-18 requires that all Community-Based Living 

Arrangement Services (CBLAs) complete a criminal history background check on each 

employee, independent contractor or adult who is not a recipient of services who will be 

present during the provision of services. Each of the above-mentioned individuals must be 

fingerprinted and have the fingerprints submitted to the Central Repository for Nevada Records 

of Criminal History within 10 days of hire and repeated every 5 years. 

STEP 1: Each CBLA provider must establish an account with the Department of Public Safety 

(DPS) so fingerprint-based criminal history background checks can be conducted on each 

employee/ independent contractor or any adult who will be present during the provision of 

services per LCB File No. R134-18. Contact DPS at 775-684-6262 and indicate you are a CBLA 

provider requesting to set up an account.  Once DPS has provided notification that your account 

has been approved (you receive your DPS account number) you MUST begin conducting the 

required background checks.  

STEP 2: Have each employee/independent contractor or any adult who will be present during 

the provision of services: 

1)  Complete the Fingerprint Background Waiver form before going to get fingerprinted.  

Keep a copy of all signed and dated forms on file.   A copy of the form can be found on 

the DPS website at: 

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/0505RCCD-003-

072017rev__Background%20Waiver__fillable.pdf 

2) Complete the Notice Pursuant to the National Child Protection Act of 1993 as Amended 

by the Volunteers for Children Act form before going to get fingerprinted.  Click here to 

obtain the form: 

http://dpbh.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dpbhnvgov/content/Reg/HealthFacilities/HF_-_Non-

Medical/Community-Based_Living_Arrangements/NCPA-VCA-ApplicantNotice.pdf 

It is recommended that you have each employee/independent contractor or any adult who will 

be present during the provision of services attest in writing that he or she has not been 

convicted of any of the disqualifying crimes listed in this document, before going to get 

fingerprinted.   

STEP 3:  Send the employee/independent contractor or any adult who is not a recipient of 

services but will be present during the provision of services to get fingerprinted.  Have the 

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/0505RCCD-003-072017rev__Background%20Waiver__fillable.pdf
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/0505RCCD-003-072017rev__Background%20Waiver__fillable.pdf
http://dpbh.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dpbhnvgov/content/Reg/HealthFacilities/HF_-_Non-Medical/Community-Based_Living_Arrangements/NCPA-VCA-ApplicantNotice.pdf
http://dpbh.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dpbhnvgov/content/Reg/HealthFacilities/HF_-_Non-Medical/Community-Based_Living_Arrangements/NCPA-VCA-ApplicantNotice.pdf
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employee complete a Fingerprint Request Form before going to get fingerprinted and bring it 

with him or her to be fingerprinted.  An example template that can be used can be found on the 

DPS website at: 

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_

Forms/0506RCCD-001-082019rev__Fingerprint%20Request%20Form%20(10%20Jan%2019).pdf  

To print a copy of the fingerprint sites to send an individual for fingerprinting go to: 

Law Enforcement Fingerprint sites: 

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_

Forms/Fingerprint%20Sites__GOVERNMENT.pdf 

Private Fingerprint Sites: 

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_

Forms/DPS%20Website%20-%20FP%20sites%2001.18.2019.pdf  

 

STEP4: DPS will send you the RAP (record of arrest and prosecution) back record for each 

individual fingerprinted.  You must review the RAP back record to make a determination of 

employment eligibility based on the disqualifying crimes noted below. Individuals convicted of 

any of the disqualifying crimes noted below should be terminated from employment or be 

directly supervised or prohibited from being present in the facility during the provision of 

services after allowing the person time to correct the information. 

If an employee, independent contractor or other adult believes that the information 
provided in the background check results is incorrect, the employee, independent contractor or 
other adult may immediately inform the provider. The provider that is so informed shall give 
the employee, independent contractor or other adult a reasonable amount of time of not less 
than 30 days to correct the information received from the background check before 
terminating the employment. 
  

Disqualifying Crimes- 

          (1) Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem; 

          (2) Assault or battery with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem; 

          (3) Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest or lewdness or indecent exposure 

that is punished as a felony, or any other sexually related felony; 

          (4) A felony involving domestic violence; 

          (5) A misdemeanor involving domestic violence, within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (6) A misdemeanor involving assault or battery, within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (7) Abuse or neglect of a child or contributory delinquency; 

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/0506RCCD-001-082019rev__Fingerprint%20Request%20Form%20(10%20Jan%2019).pdf
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/0506RCCD-001-082019rev__Fingerprint%20Request%20Form%20(10%20Jan%2019).pdf
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/Fingerprint%20Sites__GOVERNMENT.pdf
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/Fingerprint%20Sites__GOVERNMENT.pdf
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/DPS%20Website%20-%20FP%20sites%2001.18.2019.pdf
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/DPS%20Website%20-%20FP%20sites%2001.18.2019.pdf
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          (8) A violation of any federal or state law regulating the possession, distribution or use of 

any controlled substance or any dangerous drug as defined in chapter 454 of NRS, within the 

immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (9) Abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation or abandonment of an older person or 

vulnerable person, including, without limitation, a violation of any provision of NRS 200.5091 to 

200.50995, inclusive, or a law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar 

conduct; 

          (10) A violation of any law relating to the State Plan for Medicaid or a law of any other 

jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct, within the immediately preceding 7 

years;  

          (11) A violation of any provision of NRS 422.450 to 422.590, inclusive; 

          (12) A criminal offense under the laws governing Medicaid or Medicare, within the 

immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (13) Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent 

conversion or misappropriation of property, within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (14) Any felony involving the use or threatened use of force or violence against the victim 

or the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon; or  

          (15) An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in this paragraph, 

within the immediately preceding 7 years. 
 

STEP5: Complete and sign the determination form (sample form below). Include a copy of the 

completed form and proof of fingerprinting in the employee file. Inspectors will review 

employee files to verify background checks have been completed and determination of 

employment eligibility have been completed.  

 

It is imperative you follow all instructions provided by the Department of Public Safety in the 

handling and storage of criminal history.    

  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-454.html#NRS454
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-200.html#NRS200Sec5091
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-200.html#NRS200Sec50995
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-422.html#NRS422Sec450
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-422.html#NRS422Sec590


 

Page 4 of 4 
Updated 2/13/19 

Community-Based Living Arrangement 

Employee Background Check Determination 

Employee Name: _________________________________________________________ 

I acknowledge I have reviewed the RAP (record of arrest and prosecution) back record for the 

above-named employee and determined that they are eligible to be employed in a 

Community Based Living Arrangement facility. The background check failed to disclose any 

disqualifying crimes per NAC 433.339.  

Disqualifying Crimes : 

          (1) Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem; 

          (2) Assault or battery with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem; 

          (3) Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest or lewdness or indecent exposure that is 

punished as a felony, or any other sexually related felony; 

          (4) A felony involving domestic violence; 

          (5) A misdemeanor involving domestic violence, within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (6) A misdemeanor involving assault or battery, within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (7) Abuse or neglect of a child or contributory delinquency; 

          (8) A violation of any federal or state law regulating the possession, distribution or use of any 

controlled substance or any dangerous drug as defined in chapter 454 of NRS, within the immediately 

preceding 7 years; 

          (9) Abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation or abandonment of an older person or vulnerable person, 

including, without limitation, a violation of any provision of NRS 200.5091 to 200.50995, inclusive, or a 

law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct; 

          (10) A violation of any law relating to the State Plan for Medicaid or a law of any other jurisdiction 

that prohibits the same or similar conduct, within the immediately preceding 7 years;  

          (11) A violation of any provision of NRS 422.450 to 422.590, inclusive; 

          (12) A criminal offense under the laws governing Medicaid or Medicare, within the immediately 

preceding 7 years; 

          (13) Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent conversion or 

misappropriation of property, within the immediately preceding 7 years; 

          (14) Any felony involving the use or threatened use of force or violence against the victim or the 

use of a firearm or other deadly weapon; or  

          (15) An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in this paragraph, within the 

immediately preceding 7 years. 

 

Owner/Administrator Name: __________________________________________________ 

Owner/Administrator Signature: ________________________________ Date:___________ 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-454.html#NRS454
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-200.html#NRS200Sec5091
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-200.html#NRS200Sec50995
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-422.html#NRS422Sec450
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-422.html#NRS422Sec590

