STATE OF NEVADA

BRIAN SANDOVAL
Governor

RICHARD WHITLEY, MS
Director



AMY ROUKIE, MBA
Administrator, DPBH

JOHN DIMURO, D.O., MBA Chief Medical Officer

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH BUREAU OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY AND COMPLIANCE

Child Care Licensing Program
3811 W Charleston Blvd #210, Las Vegas, NV 89102
Phone: 702-486-3822 Fax: 702-486-6660
dpbh.nv.gov

List of Disqualifying Crimes

Below is the Nevada Statute that lists crimes for which a person, if convicted of any of these crimes, would be prohibited from working or residing at a child care facility. It is important that facility directors/owners review all employees Consent and Release forms before signing. By signing this form the director/owner acknowledges they are aware of the arrest. If an employee lists any of the prohibited crimes on their Consent and Release Form, they must provide a written disposition of the crime from the court, indicating that there was not a conviction **before** the person is allowed to work.

NRS 432A.170 Investigation by Bureau; information concerning criminal convictions of applicant, licensee, employee and certain residents; cost of investigation.

- 1. The Bureau may, upon receipt of an application for a license to operate a child care facility, conduct an investigation into the:
- (a) Buildings or premises of the facility and, if the application is for an outdoor youth program, the area of operation of the program;
 - (b) Qualifications and background of the applicant or the employees of the applicant;
 - (c) Method of operation for the facility; and
 - (d) Policies and purposes of the applicant.
- 2. The Bureau shall secure from appropriate law enforcement agencies information on the background and personal history of every applicant, licensee or employee of an applicant or licensee, or every resident of a child care facility or participant in an outdoor youth program who is 18 years of age or older, to determine whether the person has been convicted of:
 - (a) Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem;
 - (b) Any other felony involving the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon;
 - (c) Assault with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem;
- (d) Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest, lewdness, indecent exposure or any other sexually related crime:
 - (e) Abuse or neglect of a child or contributory delinquency;
- (f) A violation of any federal or state law regulating the possession, distribution or use of any controlled substance or any dangerous drug as defined in <u>chapter 454</u> of NRS;
- (g) Abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of older persons or vulnerable persons, including, without limitation, a violation of any provision of NRS 200.5091 to 200.50995, inclusive, or a law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct; or
- (h) Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent conversion or misappropriation of property within the immediately preceding 7 years.

Public Health: Working for a Safer and Healthier Nevada

- 3. The Bureau shall request information concerning every applicant, licensee or employee of an applicant or licensee, or every resident of a child care facility or participant in an outdoor youth program who is 18 years of age or older, from the Statewide Central Registry for the Collection of Information Concerning the Abuse or Neglect of a Child established pursuant to NRS 432.100 to determine whether there has been a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect made against any of them.
- 4. The Bureau may charge each person investigated pursuant to this section for the reasonable cost of that investigation.
- 5. The information required to be obtained pursuant to subsections 2 and 3 must be requested concerning an:
- (a) Employee of an applicant or licensee, resident of a child care facility or participant in an outdoor youth program who is 18 years of age or older not later than 3 days after the employee is hired, the residency begins or the participant begins participating in the program, and then at least once every 5 years thereafter.
- (b) Applicant at the time that an application is submitted for licensure, and then at least once every 5 years after the license is issued.

(Added to NRS by 1979, 886; A 1985, 1473; 1987, 1551; 1991, 2309; 2009, 927)

Also, please note NAC 432A.302 states:

NAC 432A.302 Appointment of director convicted of certain crimes prohibited; capabilities of staff. (NRS 432A.077)

1. A licensee of a child care facility shall not knowingly appoint a person as director of the facility or appoint or permit the appointment of a person as an employee or volunteer at the facility if the person has been convicted of child abuse or neglect or any other crime involving physical harm to a person or if a criminal action for such a crime is pending against the person.