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INFORMATION FOR FOOD ESTABLISHMENT PERMIT 
GUIDE TO  MOBILE FOOD VEHICLES  

 

 
The Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) provides the following information as a general guidance for a 
mobile food vehicle license and does not represent this to be all requirements for maintaining a license.  For complete 
information, we recommend you refer to the Nevada Revised Statues and Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 446. 
For more information on catering specific question see our website Food Establishments Program Page, Frequently 
Asked Questions (FAQs) section. A health permit is not transferable from one vehicle to another vehicle. A mobile unit 
must not be operated from a specific fixed location, other than a special event, for more than 4 hours. 
 

FEES FOR MOBILE UNITS AND SERVICING AREAS 
The Division of Public and Behavioral Health shall charge and collect fees for its services in accordance with the following 

schedule, except in areas where the laws and regulations governing the sanitation of mobile units and servicing areas are 
administered by local health authorities: 

For an annual permit for each mobile unit for food and drink, self-service mobile unit, including a self-service mobile 
unit for ice cream and candy, or a servicing area 

$166 
 

For reviewing plans of a mobile unit, a self-service mobile unit or a servicing area for a mobile unit $166 
For reviewing plans for remodeling a mobile unit, a self-service mobile unit or a servicing area for a mobile unit which 
has a permit 

$166 
 

 
Mobile Food Vehicle 
A “Mobile unit” means any vehicle operating from an approved servicing area in which food, beverages, frozen desserts 
or dairy products and mixes are prepared, processed or converted for human consumption and which is used to sell and 
dispense food and beverages to customers. The term does not include a push cart or any similar operation. [Source: NAC 
446.015]  
 
Servicing Area  
A “Servicing area” means one or more locations approved by the health authority to which a mobile unit or transportation 
vehicle returns regularly for activities, including, but not limited to, food and supply storage, warewashing, food 
preparation, vehicle and equipment cleaning and maintenance, discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks 
and ice bins, and boarding food. The term includes: (a) An independent or separate facility that has been approved by the 
health authority; (b) A mobile unit, if it has been deemed to be large enough by the health authority and meets the 
requirements of this chapter; and (c) Any other facility that has been issued a permit pursuant to the provisions of NRS 
446.875 by the health authority. [Source: NAC 446.031] 
 
Portable unit for service of food 
A “Portable unit for the service of food” means a piece of equipment operated within a building and pursuant to a contract 
with a food establishment or an approved servicing area for the preparation and service of a limited menu that has been 
approved by the health authority.[Source: NAC 446.024] 
 
Plan Submittal 
Properly prepared plans and specifications of a mobile unit and servicing area must be submitted to the health authority 
for approval before the mobile unit or servicing area is constructed or remodeled. The plans must include, without 
limitation: 

1. Menu and food preparation procedures; 
2. A plot plan; 
3. A location and elevation drawing of all food equipment, plumbing, electrical services and mechanical 

ventilation, potable water and wastewater holding units; 
4. Equipment specifications, including, without limitation, the make and model numbers of all food equipment; 
5. The type and color of material to be used on all floors, walls, ceilings, counters and similar surfaces; 
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6. The lighting intensity to be installed; 
7. The proposed service route, itinerary or sites to be served; 
8. A source of potable water; 
9. A site to be used for sewage and wastewater disposal; 
10. The availability of public restrooms; and 
11. The site of the base of operation for the mobile servicing area. 

 
Additional Required Documents 
In addition to the plan review document you must submit copies of the following documents if your facility is located in 
another health jurisdiction: 

• Copy of your current health permit  
• Copy of your last inspection report 
• Menu 
• Vehicle Information (if applicable) 
• Facility Sharing Agreement (if using a currently licensed facility that is not your own) 

 
Requirements 
Mobile units must comply with the requirements of this chapter. The health authority may impose additional 
requirements or restrictions when needed to protect against health hazards. You must conduct all food storage and food 
preparation operations in an approved, licensed food service establishment.  You may not conduct mobile food vehicle 
operations out of a private residence.   
 
Inspections 

• You will need to notify the appropriate EHS Field office at least one week in advance of the day you wish to 
open. You may not open until you have completed an application for your health permit, all fees have been paid 
in full, and the final construction inspection is completed. 

• Inspections are performed at least once per year. The health authority shall make as many additional inspections 
and reinspections as are necessary to enforce the provisions of this chapter. 
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