Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health

Dietitian/Music Therapy Licensing Unit 727 Fairview Drive, Suite E Carson City, NV 89701

Music Therapy Background Investigation Instructions

(please read these instructions carefully and follow all of the listed steps)

1. All applicants must complete one fingerprint card by going to a law enforcement agency or by a private fingerprinting service. Manual prints may be completed by a law enforcement agency in any state. Fingerprints submitted electronically are only available if you are physically in Nevada. For a list of Nevada fingerprint locations visit the Nevada Department of Public Safety's website at: <u>http://rccd.nv.gov/FeesForms/Fingerprints/</u>

Note: You are strongly encouraged to have your fingerprints submitted via electronic transmission (LiveScan), but this is only available if you are physically in Nevada.

2. Complete these information blocks on both cards, and make sure they are legible: **last**, **first**, and **middle names**; **signatures of applicant and official**; **residence** (complete address); **date of birth**; **place of birth**; **sex**; **race**; **height**; **weight**; **eyes** and **hair**.

IMPORTANT – In addition to the above information <u>make sure the following information</u> <u>is included on the fingerprint cards in the sections noted below</u> (Failure to do so may result in additional processing charges):

- 6. REASON FINGERPRINTED: NRS 640D.110
- 5. MISCELLANEOUS NO. (MNU): 150828
- 7. ORI: NV0131700

Please ensure the fingerprint card used is an Applicant, FD-258 card:

Cards without these information blocks completed are considered "incomplete" and will be returned to the applicant. Illegible cards will not be processed.

3. **Be sure:** • You have your prints captured at an in-state (NV) LiveScan location (recommended); **OR** □ One fingerprint card is completed and the card is not folded, torn or

damaged in any way. \Box Information blocks are complete and legible; the card is signed by the appropriate persons (applicant and official).

- Submit to the Department of Public Safety:
 If you completed one fingerprint card (not via electronic transmission):
 - Payment of \$36.75 made payable to the Department of Public Safety
 - Your completed fingerprint card (FD-258)

You may pay by a business check, cashier's check, or money order, payable to the Department of Public Safety, U.S. Funds only. **NOTE**: *Personal Checks will NOT be*

accepted. You may be charged a separate fee in addition to the \$36.75 payment when you get your fingerprints rolled.

Mail the required items to the following address: Division of Public and Behavioral Health Dietitian/Music Therapist Licensing Unit 727 Fairview Drive, Ste. E Carson City, Nevada 89701

5. <u>If you complete your fingerprints via electronic transmission follow the instructions</u> <u>below:</u>

- 6. Go to a Department of Public Safety approved Livescan Fingerprinting Site which can be found at: <u>http://rccd.nv.gov/FeesForms/Fingerprints/</u>
- 7. Look for an approved non-law enforcement site which will collect a scanning fee and the \$36.75 fingerprint processing fee. If you go to a site that does not collect the processing fee your fingerprints will be rejected.

Note: If you plan on submitting your prints electronically **DO NOT** use a law enforcement agency.

8. Please follow the instructions below depending on how you submit your application.

9. FOR ONLINE APPLICATIONS ONLY

Log back into the licensing system and upload into the system proof that your fingerprints have been completed, such as receipts and/or proof of electronic submission. If you are unable to upload the proof into the system you can fax it to: 775-684-1073, email it to: individuallicensing@health.nv.gov_or mail it to: Division of Public and Behavioral, Dietitian/Music Therapist Licensing Unit, 727 Fairview Drive, Suite E, Carson City, NV 89701

10. FOR MANUAL APPLICATIONS ONLY-by prior approval only

(applications that are mailed into our office)

Submit to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health <u>with your licensure application</u>, regardless of how you were fingerprinted (manually or electronic):

- The Civil Applicant Waiver form
- Proof that your fingerprints have been completed, such as receipts and/or proof of electronic submission
- Follow instructions on the licensure application form

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance Music Therapist Licensing 727 Fairview Drive, Suite E Carson City, NV 89701

Music Therapy Background Investigation Instructions

(please read these instructions carefully and follow all the listed steps)

Please check one box:

I am applying for a regular (non-endorsement) music therapist license (follow steps 1 to 5).

I am applying for a music therapist license by endorsement and was not background checked (fingerprint based) for my current out-of-state music therapist license (follow steps 1 to 5).

□ I am applying for a music therapist license by endorsement and I was background checked (fingerprint based) to obtain my current out-of-state music therapist license. Please complete the demographic information below (on this page) then skip to the *Music Therapist License by Endorsement Background Check Procedures* on page 3 and upload this completed document into your online music therapist application).

To apply for a music therapist license by endorsement you must currently hold an active music therapy license in good standing in another state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia.

Please complete the following information. (*Please print in a legible manner*)

First Name:	
Middle Name:	
Last Name:	
Date of Birth:	
Address:	
City:	
Telephone Number:	

1. All applicants must complete one MANUAL fingerprint card by going to a law enforcement agency or to a private fingerprinting service.

- Description List of approved private fingerprinting agencies: <u>http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/DPS%20Website%20%20</u> <u>FP%20sites%203%2026%202018.pdf</u>
- List of Law Enforcement Fingerprint Sites: <u>http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/Fingerprint_Information_and_Forms/Fingerprint%20Sites_GOVERNMENT.pdf</u>

2. Complete these information blocks on both cards, and make sure they are legible: **last**, **first**, and **middle names**; **signatures of applicant and official**; **residence** (complete address); **date of birth**; **place of birth**; **sex**; **race**; **height**; **weight**; **eyes**; and **hair color**.

IMPORTANT – In addition to the above information make sure you include the following information on the fingerprint cards in the sections noted below:

- 7. REASON FINGERPRINTED: NRS 640D.110
- 14. MISCELLANEOUS NO. (MNU): **150828** ORI: **NV0131700**

Please ensure the fingerprint card used is an Applicant, FD-258 card.

Cards without these information blocks completed are considered "incomplete" and will be returned to the applicant. Illegible cards will not be processed.

3. **Be sure** one fingerprint card is completed and the card is not folded, torn or damaged in any way AND the information blocks are complete and legible and the card is signed by the appropriate persons (applicant and official).

4. **Make a fingerprint processing fee payment out to the Department of Public Safety** for **\$36.75** via a business check, cashier's check, or money order, U.S. Funds only. **NOTE**: *Personal Checks will NOT be accepted.* You may be charged a separate fee in addition to the **\$36.75** payment when you go get your fingerprints rolled.

5. **MAIL THIS** completed form, the completed fingerprint card <u>AND</u> and the fingerprint processing fee payment to:

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance Music Therapist Licensing 727 Fairview Drive, Suite E Carson City, NV 89701

Music Therapist License by Endorsement Background Check Procedures

<u>You Received a Background Check to Obtain your Out-of-State Music Therapy License</u> If you currently hold an active music therapy license in good standing in another state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia <u>AND</u> you had a fingerprint-based background check to obtain the license you **DO NOT** have to undergo a background check. As part of the online music therapist licensure application you will still be required to electronically sign the Civil Applicant Waiver section AND you will be required to upload a copy of this completed document with the box checked on page 3 indicating you received a background check to obtain your out-of-state music therapist license.

OR

You were Not Fingerprint Based Background Checked when you Obtained your Out-of-State <u>Music Therapist License</u>

In this case you MUST get background checked by following the steps outlined in numbers 1 to 5.

I hereby authorize the Division of Public and Behavioral Health to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report.

I attest, under penalty of perjury, that the information contained in this document and any accompanying material is true and complete.

Signature: _____

Date: _____