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Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health  
Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance  

Dietitian Licensing Unit  
727 Fairview Drive, Suite E  

Carson City, NV 89701  
  

Dietitian Background Investigation Instructions  
(please read these instructions carefully and follow all of the listed steps)  

  
If applying for a dietitian license by endorsement (you currently hold an active dietitian license 
in good standing in another state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia) 
please skip to the Dietitian License by Endorsement Background Check Procedures section at 
the end of this document.   
  
1. All applicants must complete one fingerprint card by going to a law enforcement agency or by 

a private fingerprinting service.  Manual prints may be completed by a law enforcement 
agency in any state.  Fingerprints submitted electronically are only available if you are 
physically in Nevada.  For a list of Nevada fingerprint locations visit the Nevada Department 
of Public Safety’s website at:  

http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/DPS%20Website%20%20FP%20 
sites%203%2026%202018.pdf   
  
Note: You are strongly encouraged to have your fingerprints submitted via electronic 
transmission (LiveScan), but this is only available if you are physically in Nevada.   
  
2. Complete these information blocks on both cards, and make sure they are legible: last, first, 

and middle names; signatures of applicant and official; residence (complete address); date 
of birth; place of birth; sex; race; height; weight; eyes and hair color.  

  
IMPORTANT – In addition to the above information make sure the following information is 
included on the fingerprint cards in the sections noted below (Failure to do so may result in 
additional processing charges):  
  
 7.   REASON FINGERPRINTED:  NRS 640E.150   
 14.   MISCELLANEOUS NO. (MNU):  150828  

ORI: NV0131700  
  
Please ensure the fingerprint card used is an Applicant, FD-258 card.    
Cards without these information blocks completed are considered “incomplete” and will be 
returned to the applicant. Illegible cards will not be processed.  
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3. Be sure:  

• You have your prints captured at an in-state (NV) LiveScan location (recommended); OR  
• One fingerprint card is completed and the card is not folded, torn or damaged in any way.  
• Information blocks are complete and legible; the card is signed by the appropriate 

persons (applicant and official).  

4. Submit to the Department of Public Safety:  
If you completed one fingerprint card (not via electronic transmission):   

• Payment of $36.75 made payable to the Department of Public Safety  
• Your completed fingerprint card (FD-258)  

  
You may pay by a business check, cashier’s check, or money order, payable to the Department of 
Public Safety, U.S. Funds only. NOTE: Personal Checks will NOT be accepted.  You may be 
charged a separate fee in addition to the $36.75 payment when you go get your fingerprints 
rolled.    
  

Mail the required items to the following address:  
Department of Public Safety  
Records, Communications and Compliance Division   
333 West Nye Lane, Suite 100  
Carson City, Nevada 89706  
  

5. If you complete your fingerprints via electronic transmission follow the instructions 
below:   

6. Go to a Department of Public Safety approved Livescan Fingerprinting Site which can be found at: 
http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/FeesForms/DPS%20Website%20%20FP%20si
tes %203%2026%202018.pdf.   

  
7. Look for an approved non-law enforcement site which will collect a scanning fee and the $36.75 

fingerprint processing fee. If you go to a site that does not collect the processing fee your 
fingerprints will be rejected.  

  
NOTE:  If you plan on submitting your prints electronically DO NOT use a law enforcement 
agency.   
  
8. Log back into the licensing system and upload into the system proof that your fingerprints 

have been completed, such as receipts and or/proof of electronic submission.  If you are 
unable to upload the proof into the system you can fax it to: 775-684-1073, email it to:  

individuallicensing@health.nv.gov or mail it to: Division of Public and Behavioral Health, 
Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance, Dietitian/Music Therapist Licensing Unit, 727 
Fairview Drive, Suite E, Carson City, NV 89701.   
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All dietitian licensure applications (including by endorsement) must be submitted online.  Any 
paper applications submitted to our office will be returned.  
  
Dietitian License by Endorsement Background Check Procedures  
You Received a Background Check to Obtain your Out-of-State Dietitian License  
If you currently hold an active dietitian license in good standing in another state or territory of 
the United States or the District of Columbia AND you had a fingerprint-based background 
check to obtain the license you DO NOT have to undergo a background check.  As part of the 
online dietitian licensure application you will still be required to check off on the Civil Applicant 
Waiver section AND you will be required provide a letter attesting that you received a 
fingerprint-based background check when you obtained your dietitian license.    
  

OR  
  
You were Not Fingerprint Based Background Checked when you Obtained your Out-of-State 
Dietitian License  
In this case you MUST get background checked by following the steps outlined in steps number 
1 to 8.   
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