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NEVADA STATE HEALTH DIVISION
NEWS RELEASE
Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance Finds Disabled and Elderly
Women Locked Away in a Bedroom of an Unlicensed Facility

Carson City — The Nevada State Health Division’s Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance
(HCQC) conducted a complaint investigation on May 7, 2012 at 6012 Shady Bay Street. Information
provided to HCQC indicated two residents were living at this residence and receiving care. The
residence at 6012 Shady Bay Street had previously been investigated and fined $10,000 for operating a
Home for Individual Residential Care without a license earlier in March of this year. The license is
required to provide care for unrelated elderly and disabled residents.

During the May 7™ investigation, it was determined two residents were receiving care and assistance with
activities of daily living from the facility, but without a license for the second time. The resident ages
were 92 and 62 years old. When the HCQC inspectors heard the voices of the two women locked away
in the bedroom, the operator became very angry, took the cellular phones from the HCQC inspectors, and
attempted to push them out of the house. The Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department were contacted
and dispatched immediately. The operator would not cooperate with the police and the officers had to
force the bedroom door open. The disabled residents were found not well cared for. Both were
incontinent. Emergency Medical Services (EMS) had to change full adult diapers due to the operator’s
neglect.

HCQC’s joint efforts with Metro led to the arrest of the operator for numerous charges including battery
against HCQC inspectors during the investigation. The two residents were removed from the property
and were taken by ambulance to the hospital for medical evaluation.

Pursuant to the 2011 amendments to Nevada Revised Statutes 449, a person who operates an unlicensed
home for individual residential care is liable for a civil penalty of $10,000 for a first offense, $20,000 for
a second offense and $50,000 for a third offense. It is also unlawful for a licensed medical or dependent
care facility, or its employees, to refer a person to a residential facility that is not licensed by the Health
Division. The civil penalty for such referrals is up to $10,000 for the first offense and for a second or
subsequent offense of not less than $10,000 or more than $20,000.

The Bureau issues press releases about the facilities it regulates in limited circumstances: where major
public health concerns are identified in licensed facilities; in significant cases of repeat violations in
licensed facilities; in cases of the suspension or revocation of a license; in cases where patient harm has
occurred; and in cases where unlicensed facilities are operating. The Bureau of Health Care Quality and
Compliance protects the safety and welfare of the public through the promotion and advocacy of quality
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health care through licensing, regulation, enforcement and education. This mission is accomplished
through the Bureau’s two sections: Licensure and Certification, which regulates facilities such as nursing
homes, assisted living facilities, group homes, hospitals, outpatient surgery centers and laboratories; and
Radiological Health, which evaluates and responds to hazards from sources of ionizing radiation such as
X-ray machines, sources of radiation to treat cancer and mammography units.

For more information about the Nevada State Health Division, go to http://health.nv.gov.
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